Stacked: more confessions from the obit girl

September 22, 2006 at 1:25 am (Uncategorized)

By Mandy Malone

robert_stack.jpgIt has been a little over a month now since my television viewing habits were irrevocably altered. On Aug. 14, “Unsolved Mysteries,” the documentary style true crime program narrated by the late Robert Stack, officially came to the end of its long run on Lifetime Television.

I became a fan of the show way back when it first aired on NBC. I stumbled upon the show quite by accident and it quickly stuck with me. It’s hard pinpoint exactly what initially interested me in the show but as I grew older I tended to regard the show as a faithful old friend. No matter what was going on in my life, whether I was graduating from high school, finishing college, or starting a new job, it was always there.

My favorite segments were those that dealt with crime, particularly the unsolved murders and disappearances. It was always interesting to watch cases then, if the cases were resolved, see if the resolution matched the theory of the crime posited in the segment.

This is not to say the show didn’t have its problems. The quality started to erode a bit in the mid-90s when the show was overhauled and everything from the opening credits to the theme music was given a makeover. The original episodes filmed for Lifetime weren’t quite as good as the earlier episodes, but they were still a respectable attempt to keep the show going.

I always knew that someday Lifetime would stop airing the show, but I was a bit surprised that the ending came as abruptly as it did. Now all I’m left with are memories and scores of videotapes to commemorate the existence of the show. Oh well, at least Food TV is still showing re-runs of the original Japanese version of “Iron Chef,” even if it is at 4 a.m. on Tuesdays.

42 Comments

  1. Daughtio said,

    I noticed it wasn’t on Lifetime anymore, and boy am I pissed!! I love that show.

    They also messed with my Golden Girl schedule…what next?!

  2. Gil said,

    You never saw anything wrong with the title of this show? Am I the only one?
    Unsolved Mysteries
    OF COURSE THEY’RE UNSOLVED!!! THAT’S THE VERY DEFINITION OF A MYSTERY!!!
    If it were solved……..IT WOULDN’T BE A MYSTERY!!!!
    Dumbasses. (Not you, the asshats that come up with names for shows)

    Oh well, at least now there will be more time to show movies of evil white men beating shy demure women and receiving their comeuppance.
    Meredith Baxter Birney is beaten with a rod in a Lifetime movie special “The Rod”

  3. Gil said,

    And Robert Stack’s best role was in “Airplane”

  4. Richie said,

    Nahh, his best role was in the “Untouchables”. Good, old-fashioned violence laden TV that I grew up on back in the last century.

  5. K2 said,

    Goes to show he could do comedy and serious thuggery.

  6. K2 said,

    Encased you missed it, the Enzyte guys (Smiling Bob) are looking at 30 years for fraud. I knew something was just wrong about those ads.

  7. K2 said,

    Encased? Wow. Check please! . . .

  8. jarheaddoc said,

    Wasn’t the whole purpose of those silly fucking ads to get it uncased?

  9. jarheaddoc said,

    The son of a friend calls Lifetime ‘the angry woman’s channel.”

  10. Mainetarr said,

    Encased, huh? Ok, K2, been in the sauce a little early this morning? Ah well, it’s 5 o’clock somewhere!!

  11. montel said,

    Maybe the guy thought he was Gil, you know, post 5

  12. Mainetarr said,

    Gil is pretty funny and i wouldn’t want to be on his bad side.

  13. LaFlamme said,

    What? The Enzyte plan is a fraud? Blast! Back to beating it against the pavement in hopes of instant swelling.

  14. LaFlamme said,

    I’ve GOT to get a list of Lifetime titles. They crack me up. Vallerie Bertinelli is out in yet another one this week. Hey, I only know this because I watched Frasier the other night. Yeah. Fraiser. Not, by God, “Not Without My Daughter.”

  15. K2 said,

    Yeah, Smiling Bob’s going to get a stiff sentence in a penal colony.

    I prefer the Oxygen channel. Men, who needs ‘em? . . .

  16. LaFlamme said,

    What the hell is the Oxygen channel?
    Gosh, why do you suppose I was compelled to title this blog “Stacked?”

  17. LaFlamme said,

    And what about that shirtless Robert Stack? What a stud.

  18. jarheaddoc said,

    Maybe he’s trying to imitate rock Hudson trying to disspell rmors of his queerness

  19. Mainetarr said,

    Rock Hudson

    Ashes to ashes
    Dust to dust
    If he had stuck with women
    He’d be here with us.

  20. Gil said,

    Rock didn’t have many friends
    But he had Nabors up the ass
    Ba dum dum

  21. Gil said,

    Dan/Montel/and whoever else you have in there, nice to see you posting again.

  22. Gil said,

    Off to Foxwoods for the weekend. I feel the need for poker.

  23. LaFlamme said,

    *trying desperately to come up with that Foxwoods theme song*

  24. K2 said,

    Know why they buried Rock Hudson with his ass out of the ground?

    So his friends could drop by for a cold one.

    You don’t get Oxygen channel, LaFlamme?!? How I weep for you. Call your satellite provider — today.

    Oh, gotta run, Steel Magnolias is on again. . . .

  25. K2 said,

    I feel the need to poker?!? Who is she?

  26. Gil said,

    Take a chance, make it happen
    Pop a cork, fingers snapping
    Spin the wheel, ’round and ’round we go!
    Life is good, life is sweet
    Grab yourself a front row seat
    Let’s meet, and have a ball
    Let’s live (let’s live) for the wonder of it all!

    Paradise, lucky seven
    Grab yourself a piece of heaven
    You and me, we can have it all
    Living large, get on board
    This is it, it’s your reward
    Let’s meet, where the trees are standing tall
    Let’s live (let’s live)
    For the wonder of it all!
    Meet me at Foxwood (Foxwoods!)

  27. Gil said,

    Or for those not gifted by the poker Gods

    Cash your check, take that money.
    Sell the house, come on honey.
    Watch your cash, down the drain it goes!
    Life is short, life is hard,
    Come on use your wampum card!
    You can leave the kids in the car!
    Let’s lose!
    Yeah, let’s lose!
    I’ll meet youuuuu, at the bar.
    Meet me at Fox-woods.

  28. AO said,

    After a summer of Red Sox, that song tends to wear on my nerves.

    K2, anything but Steel Magnolias. I hate movies that make me cry.

  29. jarheaddoc said,

    But can you sing the theme to the Flintstones?

  30. jarheaddoc said,

    No Google. Acapella.

  31. AO said,

    Flintstones, meet the Flintstones. They’re a modern new age family. From the town of Bedrock They’re a place right out of his-to-ry. Let’s ride, with the family down the street. Through the courtesy of Fred’s two feet. When you’re with the Flintstone’s, have a Yabba-Dabba-Do time a Yabba-Do time, you’ll have a gay ol’ time!

    That’s strictly from memory.

  32. LaFlamme said,

    Homer. Homer Simpson, he’s the greatest man in his-tor-ee… Homer. Homer Simpson. He’s about to hit a chestnut treeeee. Doh!

  33. AO said,

    How many Duff’s did he drink before he hit that tree?

    _——_
    / \ DO RE MI DRINK, by Homer J. Simpson.
    | |
    | | *ahem* La la la la…. *ahem*
    | \
    | __ __)
    | / \/ \ DO…… the stuff… that buys me beer…
    /\/\ (o )o ) RAY….. the guy that sells me beer…
    /c \__/ –. ME…… the guy… who drinks the beer,
    ( ) FAR….. a long way to get beer…
    \_ _——-‘ SO…… I’ll have another beer…
    | / \ LA…… I’ll have another beer…
    | | ‘\_______) TEA….. no thanks, I’m drinking beer…
    | \_____) That will bring us back to…
    |_____ | (Looks into an empty glass)
    |_____/\/\
    / \ D’OH!

  34. LaFlamme said,

    Okay, AO’s hammered. Anybody else?

  35. Bobbie said,

    This will explain Homer’s weirdness of late-you have to remember that he was raped by a panda in an episode.

  36. AO said,

    Nah, I’m not. Just a hard day at work. It WAS supposed to be a computer generated picture of Homer. Sorry!!

  37. jarheaddoc said,

    Well, garbage in, garbage out, AO.

  38. Daughtio said,

    Do you still have that Homer thingy I gave you one Christmas? (I can’t seem to remember exactly what it is, lol)

  39. Linda said,

    Hi, wazzup? I’m in Aroostook county and just fixed the aunties’ computer. I told them to back off, I needed to check it out and make sure it works. Looks like it works — bye, they are starved for their email and waiting to stampede.

  40. Linda said,

    BTW the aunties (my husbands’) are 88, 91 and 93.

  41. AO said,

    Well, GOD bless them! Auntie’s, rock on!

  42. Bobbie said,

    A perfect example of never being too old to learn something new.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

