I’m listening

March 27, 2006 at 2:08 pm (Uncategorized)

When I was a boy, I wanted a pair of those X-ray glasses. For obvious reasons. I never got them though, and so I had to get my thrills the old fashioned way: by swiping the stash of magazines under my brother's mattress. Nightvision.jpg

I did get the "throw your voice" kit, but almost choked on the little gadget you needed to stick on your mouth. Damn thing never worked right, anyway.

I had a Mr. Microphone. It was nothing like the commerical, though. You really couldn't go around terrorizing radio listeners because it only worked on AM 1990, or some shit like that. So I stayed at home, having rock concerts in the privacy of my room. Sad. Very sad.

supersonicear2.jpgNow kids can get toys that really work. Mask your voice, bug your parents bedroom, night vision… Those eavesdropping devices, I'm told, are very effective. I'm thinking of getting one. Because I know you people are talking about me and I know it ain't nice.

102 Comments

  1. Thaifood Teena said,

    I got the EZ Bake Meth Lab. I ended up blowing up my parents mobile home. It was terrible. That wasn’t my favorite gift though. I like the SeaMonkeys. I used to watch them mess around and that was how I learned about the Birds and the Monkeys, uh, Bees. Probably explains why I am in jail now.

  2. LaFlamme said,

    Thaifood! You’re saying your old love Derek was hung like a bee?

  3. Thaifood Teena said,

    yes, he had quite the stinger, that Bo Dube. Gawd, how I miss him….

  4. LaFlamme said,

    Ha! Gross.

  5. A.O. said,

    Mark, We’ve all heard about your Mr. Microphone. Ha, ha.

  6. Thaifood Teena said,

    what are you insinuating he did with that Mr. Microphone?

  7. A.O. said,

    I’m just wondering if he ever got anyone to speak into his “Mr. Microphone”.

  8. Linda said,

    Hi folks, you don’t know me but Mark says everyone is welcome so can I hang out too? It feels wilder and stranger here than in the other place but somehow safer at the same time. I promise to bring my own decoder ring.

  9. K2 said,

    Talk about ‘feedback,’ A.O. Somehow. Right? Oh, forget it.

    As for nudie mags, my old man got Playboy back inthe day. And he always wondered why the pages were stuck together.

    I just don’t have the necessary imagination for Playboy anymore. Just way too much creative effort. I just don’t want that sort of commitment, you know? It’d be like trying to make a fire by rubbing sticks, when a pack of matches are right there, like one’s own high-speed Internet connection. . . . Or so I’m told.

    Seriously, I won’t go blind, will I . . . A.O.? Is that you? Bobbie? Where’d you go? Everything’s dark . . . Hell – o – o – o – o – o. Ech – o – o – o – o – o.

  10. Robert said,

    Ahh, bring back the days of pop rocks, and snappers that popped like a mini firecracker when you threw them, god I miss the Auburn Novelty shop….trick cards, fake doggie doo, pepper flacored gum….

  11. A.O. said,

    Linda, Of course you’re welcome.

    K2, I’m right here! Hey…watch out were you put those hands!

  12. Mainetarr said,

    Pop rocks and soda–a lethal combination, or so my parents told me. Remember those little cap guns that made stinky smoke after you fired them? We used to just take the caps and bang them on rocks, or light them on fire and listen to them go pop, pop, pop. Surprised we never burnt the woods down. Anybody ever put a firecracker in a frogs mouth? My memory is bad, but I think my neighbor did that once, then proceeded to puke all over himself after the explosion.

    Welcome Linda.

  13. Bulldog said,

    Yea, the novelty shop had all my “toys”. Now, I have to order them on-line. Takes forever to get them too. I have to be sure that when my special hot massaging/ice cream topping play juice is half gone, I put my new order in for a case. It seems to disappear quickly…..

  14. Bulldog said,

    Ha MT. I’ve had the pleasure of putting firecrackers in frogs and yellow perch. That was the best 4th of July ever…. ah, the memories.

  15. Bulldog said,

    K2, if you got your head out of my boobs, you’d be able to see better….. bastard.

  16. Mainetarr said,

    K2, you going to Fastbreaks this coming Tuesday? If so, what time do you usually get there?

  17. Mainetarr said,

    BULLDOG!!!!! You found us!! Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy Now the party can start!!!

  18. A.O. said,

    Bulldog, You ARE feeling better. Boob talk. Yup, Bulldog’s back.

  19. Mainetarr said,

    Better watch out, anything goes in here.

  20. A.O. said,

    Yeah. Even Tit Talk. Hey, we could start a blog and name it “Tit Talk”. Never mind Street Talk. We’ll have…”Tit Talk”.

  21. A.O. said,

    Of course, we’d be talking about birds.

  22. Bulldog said,

    I’m liking this new dive… I mean, place. Hey, I’m coming into town tomorrow. Is there a Lost Sole meeting at Fastbreaks?????????????

  23. LaFlamme said,

    Tit Talk, a coffee show with the soft spoken and insightful Bulldog.

  24. Bulldog said,

    Softspoken. ha. THAT’s a word that’s never been used to describe me. I can’t imagine why though.

    Hey AO, you are going to hand over that Bitch crown without a fight, aren’t you?

  25. A.O. said,

    NO!! I kind of like being a bitch. It’s all new to me!

  26. Bulldog said,

    Are you saying that I’ll have to fight you for it? That’s not good. I don’t do well in cat fights (actually, my opponent doesn’t do well)

  27. A.O. said,

    If a fight for the title is what you want then, that’s what you’ll get. 😉 Remember, I was declared the Queen Bitch back in December by, Weesie. Or, if the truth be known, Dan.

  28. A.O. said,

    Hey…look at the cute little smiley face that popped up! Didn’t get that over at the stinkin Sun Urinal. This is a much classier place! ;0

  29. Bulldog said,

    Well, dear, back in December, you declared defeat and stepped down (quite quickly, I might add). And, need I remind you that I HAVE THE CROWN :o)

    Don’t get me started …. we’ll settle this tomorrow, at Fastbreaks. 5:00pm. Be there or ……

  30. Bulldog said,

    Is there a symbol for the finger? maybe Mark should set up those irritating symbols for us to choose for added oomph ;P

  31. A.O. said,

    Ohh…Bulldog…I’m a shaking in my slippers! 🙂 And, I only took over because you were ill. Just a friend doing another friend a favor.

  32. A.O. said,

    I don’t know. We’ll have to experiment. 1

  33. "The Weasel" said,

    I’m Back……………………………..

  34. Bulldog said,

    Weasie!!! Baby!! I missed you! Or, is it really you?????

  35. Bulldog said,

    AO, then kindly step down. I won’t hurt you, I promise. But, just get off my fucken throne, okay? good. I’m glad that’s over. Can I buy you a drink…….tomorrow?

  36. "The Weasel" said,

    Yup. You still holding a grudge from the Son Urinal posts? LOL

  37. Bulldog said,

    No, not at all Piss Boy- you know, you are such an asshole! I swear you know which buttons to push to get me going. Are you an ex of mine?? ha, just kidding. I know who you are and I know where you live…..

  38. "The Weasel" said,

    An I know youe ex’s brother. Good source of info, but I have to beat the shit out of him to get him to say anything bad about you.

  39. Bulldog said,

    Yea, good ol’ Jeff. I should have married him back then instead!!

  40. "The Weasel" said,

    Has this shit been posted yet?

    Eric myopic coward.

    From the SJ webmaster:
    I imagine this will situation will spill over into all the blogs. And I am more than prepared to pull all of the blogs.

    I most certainly was not looking for a reason to pull Street Talk. It is our most popular area on the web site, which generates a third of our page views, that’s huge for us. I certainly enjoy Mark’s style of writing. Blogs seem like a perfect fit for him, I had been asking our editors to let him blog for a year and was thrilled when I finally got the green light. Heck, his blog is the only one we ever advertised online or in the newspaper!

    I pulled it because AO and others started posting his address in their posts in retaliation to banning Weasel. Had anybody sent me a post from Dan that violated our privacy policy, which everyone agrees to when they sign up, I would have banned him too.(Yea, and we aren’t babies, we take care of our own)

    Yes, one person can spoil it for everybody. In which case it is Weasel and not Dan. (What the FUCK!)I don’t think anybody realizes the liability it places on the Sun Journal company when somebody starts publishing a persons name online.

    Also, do you have any idea how many hours of programming it took me to create this blog? This isn’t some canned software we downloaded for free. I spent weeks writing the thousands of lines of code to control all of this. Do you really think I want my work to go to waste? The answer is no in case you are wondering.

    I’m a one man department doing the work of four. What it all comes down to is what I have time to deal with. Babysitting a blog isn’t something I have time for.

    I know others are sorry to see it go, but nobody is more sorry than me

  41. Bulldog said,

    Yea, we saw it Weasel. I guess you’re Eric’s scapegoat. I feel Eric has no spine when it came to this situation. I don’t care how hard he has worked on keeping the blogs in line. Hey, my opinion is: it’s part of the job- period. He’s not gonna find any sympathy coming from me. About the only place he’ll find it is in the dictionary- between shit and syphillis.

  42. LaFlamme said,

    Awwww. Weasel and Bulldog. Get a room, for chrissakes.

  43. K2 said,

    Mmmphphph mrphphph *gasping for air* Bulldog? Are those yours?

    Nuthin’ like a nice pair of guns. I salute them, Bulldog.

    Mainetarr, yes, I’ll be at Fastbreaks tomorrow night, around 7:45-ish. I think Mark (Miller) and Archie start playing at 8. I’ll almost certainly stay till they finish (11). I’ll be at or near the bar, for safety’s sake, of course. And for those of you who are interested, I’ll buy a round for any and all Street Talk participants. Just have a valid driver’s license and birth certificate ready. And if shots are called for, so be it. Again, it’s all about safety.

    A.O., so nice of you to offer to drive us all home. You’re the best.

  44. A.O. said,

    Ha. K2, i thought you were the DD.

    And, again, I never posted Dan’s address. What a bastard. And, a fat one at that! Weasel, glad you finally showed your lovely, chap encased butt around these parts. It’s about time!

  45. A.O. said,

    Bulldog, I’m handing the crown back to you. I’ve found that I really don’t need it. SMOOCH!!

    See ya tomorrow K2. : )

  46. K2 said,

    A.O., if I’m not there when you arrive, wait a few minutes. I may be out in the parking lot checking my car’s blinker fluid. *wink*

  47. Mainetarr said,

    Yeah, Weasel, bout time you showed up. I was starting to gather a search party. And let me say, for the record, I am not to flucking happy. I was the asshole who posted Douchebag Dan’s home address along with his phone number, but did I get any credit from Eric da Prick?? Oh no, he picks on AO instead. Bastard. I ought to post Eric da Pricks address. Ha!

    7:45? Jaysus, that’s pretty close to bedtime, K2. You in Bulldog? What about Jammies? You gonna drag that poor shy thing along with you? I hope she talks this time. She’s a drag she’s so quiet….. (sniff sniff-you smell bullshit in here?)

  48. "The Weasel" said,

    A.O. ……. For You

  49. A.O. said,

    I’ve heard that blinker fluid needs constant checking on. Damn blinkers!

  50. A.O. said,

    Ohhhh…thanks Weasel!

  51. Mainetarr said,

    One more thing for the record….this blog freaking rocks!! THis is much better than the Sun Urinals blog. 🙂

  52. Mainetarr said,

    Holy Shit Weasel, that must be a russet potato in the front of those bad boys.

  53. A.O. said,

    I have to agree with you Ms. Mainetarr! Hey, we don’t have to say “flucking” anymore. We can say…dare I say it?…Fucking.

  54. Mainetarr said,

    Old habits are hard to break, Ms O.

  55. A.O. said,

    Well, break them old habits. This is no longer the land ruled by the Fat and Ugly One. It’s a new, free land! Come on MT…swear! I know you can do it! I’ve heard you cuss more times than I can remember. Hey, some day’s you’re worse than a drunken sailor.

  56. georgette said,

    A woman gets on a bus with her baby. The bus driver says: “That’s the ugliest baby that I’ve ever seen. Ugh!? The woman goes to the rear of the bus and sits down, fuming. She says to a man next to her: “The driver just insulted me!? The man says: “You go right up there and tell him off – go ahead, I’ll hold your monkey for you.?

  57. Mainetarr said,

    ME??? Swear like a drunken sailor? Well………maybe a little if I am pissed off. Ah, fuck it.

  58. A.O. said,

    HA! 😉

  59. A.O. said,

    Oh, never mind. I’m the one whose worse than a drunken sailor. Sorry, I forgot. Must have had too much to drink.

  60. A.O. said,

    Two elderly Irish drinking buddies are sitting at the pub
    pondering on the future.

    One says to the other, “You know Mr. O’Shea, we’ve had great
    sport together for many years. It just came to mind that
    should it be I who should happen to go first, it would mean
    a great deal to me if you would say a few kind words at me
    grave.”

    The other friend responds, “That I’ll do, Mr.O’Donnel, that
    I’ll do. But should it be I who should happen to go first,
    for old times sake I’d be forever grateful if you would pour
    a bottle of fine Irish whiskey over me grave.”

    The friend responds, “That I’ll do. That I’ll do. But would
    you mind it so much if it should happen to pass through me
    kidneys first?”

  61. LaFlamme said,

    Hey, alright. It’s stand up night here at the Screaming Room/Lost Sole/Street Talk/Other.

  62. Mainetarr said,

    WEASEL

    Walking into the bar, Harvey said to the bartender, “Pour me a stiff one, Eddie. I just had another fight with the little woman.”

    “Oh yeah,” said Eddie. “And how did this one end?”

    “When it was over,” Harvey replied, “She came to me on her hands and knees.”

    “Really? Now that’s a switch! What did she say?”

    “She said, ‘Come out from under that bed, you gutless weasel!'”

  63. K2 said,

    Yeah, I know that’s rather late for us AARP members, Mainetarr. However, for you gals, I could go as early as 7. Before then, I’m a slave in the kitchen. A house bitch is as a house bitch does.

    Should I plan on 7 instead?

  64. Mainetarr said,

    7 would be good. I turn into a pumpkin after 9pm.

  65. A.O. said,

    THE WIT AND THE WISDOM OF HOMER J. SIMPSON

    “Now son, you don’t want to drink beer. That’s for Daddys, and
    kids with fake IDs.”

    “Maybe, just once, someone will call me ‘sir’ without adding,
    ‘you’re making a scene.'”

    “Marge, don’t discourage the boy! Weaseling out of things is
    important to learn. It’s what separates us from the animals!
    Except the weasel.” ; )

    “If you really want something in life you have to work for it.
    Now quiet, they’re about to announce the lottery numbers.”

    “Son, when you participate in sporting events, it’s not whether
    you win or lose: it’s how drunk you get.”

    “Step aside everyone! Sensitive love letters are my specialty.
    ‘Dear Baby, Welcome to Dumpsville. Population: you.'”

    “To alcohol! The cause of – and solution to – all of life’s
    problems!”

  66. A.O. said,

    So do I. Well, not really but, I’m a house bitch AND a store bitch. So, seven is really good for me. But…sheesh…what WILL I wear?

  67. LaFlamme said,

    Well, obviously this one is very appropriate:
    “Marge, don’t discourage the boy! Weaseling out of things is
    important to learn. It’s what separates us from the animals!
    Except the weasel.? ; )

  68. A.O. said,

    I thought so.

  69. Mainetarr said,

    Hey AO, why not wear your Fly Girl pajamas??

  70. A.O. said,

    Now there’s a thought!

  71. Bobbie said,

    Subject: Only Mainers appreciate
    >
    >
    > You Know You’re From Maine When…
    >
    > >
    >
    > > You’ve had arguments over the comparative
    > quality of Fried
    >
    > > Dough.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You call four inches of snow “a dusting.”
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You don’t understand why there aren’t fried clam
    > shacks elsewhere in
    >
    > >the
    >
    > >county.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You know what an Irving is and the location of 15
    > of them.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You knew all the flavors at Perry’s Nut House.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >Your car is covered in yellow-green dust in May.
    > (tree pollen)
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You can drive the Augusta traffic circle without
    > slowing down.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You’ve hung out at a gravel pit.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You think a mosquito could be a species of bird.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You once skipped school and went to Bar Harbor, Old
    > Orchard Beach,
    >
    > >Popham,
    >
    > >or Reid State Park.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >Even your school cafeteria made good chowda.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You’ve almost fallen asleep driving between Houlton
    > and Presque Isle.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You know how to pronounce Calais.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You’ve made a meal out of a Jordan’s red dye
    > hot-dog, a bag of Humpty
    >
    > >Dumpty potato chips and a can of soda.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You’ve gone to a Grange bean supper.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >In high school, you (or a friend) packed Deering
    > Ice Cream cones.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >At least once in your life, a seagull pooped on
    > your head.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >At least once in your life you’ve said, “It smells
    > like the mill in
    >
    > >here.”
    >
    > >
    >
    > >There’s a fruit and vegetable stand within 10
    > minutes of your house.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You crave Italian sandwiches at least weekly.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >Your house converts to a B&B every July and August
    > for people from away
    >
    > >that you happen to know.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >All year long you’re tracking sand in the
    > house-from the beach in the
    >
    > >summer and the roads and sidewalks in the winter.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You have to have the sand cleaned out of your brake
    > system every
    >
    > >spring.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You do the majority of your shopping out of Uncle
    > Henry’s.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You’ve ditched the car on the side of the road
    > somewhere because you
    >
    > >thought you saw some good fiddleheads!
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You know a lobster pot is a trap, not a kettle.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You know not to plant tender crops until the last
    > full moon in May.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You go to the dump and bring back more than you
    > brought.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You’ve watched “Murder she Wrote” and snickered at
    > the stupid fake
    >
    > >accents.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You know how to find the rope swing at the quarry.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You take the New Hampshire toll personally.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You always wave when you see a Maine license plate
    > in another state.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >When you’re supposed to dress up, you wear flannel
    > with a tie.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >There’s too much “stuff” in your 2 “cah” garage to
    > get either of your
    >
    > >cars
    >
    > >into it.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You know what a frappe is.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >L.L. Bean’s not just a store, it’s a way of life.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >”The City” means exclusively Portland.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >”Salt damage” is a viable insurance claim.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >All of the traffic lights blink yellow at 10
    > o’clock at night.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >It’s not a storm – it’s a Nor’eastah.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >”Open 24/7″ might as well be Greek.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >More stores have “Bienvenue” flags than “Welcome”
    > flags.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You eat ice cream with flavors like ‘Moose Tracks”
    > and “Maine Black
    >
    > >Bear”.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You know that a chocolate doughnut is not a white
    > doughnut with
    >
    > >chocolate
    >
    > >frosting.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You wouldn’t eat beans in tomato sauce or Manhattan
    > clam chowder if you
    >
    > >were starving!
    >
    > >
    >
    > >As a child, you played outside in a snow storm
    > without hat, mittens,
    >
    > >scarf
    >
    > >and with your jacket open because it was just a
    > little cool.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >The area around your back door is referred to as
    > “the dooryard”.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You eat potato chips with flavors such as “clam
    > dip”, “ketchup” and
    >
    > >”dill
    >
    > >pickle”.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You call the basement “downcellah.”
    >
    > >
    >
    > >There is only one shopping plaza in town. .
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You use “wicked” as a multipurpose part of speech
    >
    > >
    >
    > >Your pickup has more mud on it then the ground
    > around it for a 15 foot
    >
    > >radius.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >More than 1/2 the meat in your freezer is moose or
    > deer.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >You enjoy a hot chocolate more than a margarita.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >If your “luxury vehicle” is a twelve-year-old
    > rustbucket on wheels.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >If your dog eats better than you do, and more often
    > too.
    >
    > >
    >
    > >If you never say what you paid for an item but how
    > much you “give” for
    >
    > >it.
    >

  72. A.O. said,

    Hey! I worked at Deering Ice Cream in high school! Um…is that dating me or what?

  73. LaFlamme said,

    Hey, whose still unaccounted for around these parts? Slet Vartesh, Chunder, Nadine…

  74. Mainetarr said,

    Holy Shit, I read these out loud to Chris. Sometimes I didn’t laugh, while he was hysterical. I said “What’s so funny?” and he said you need to go to bed, you are reading them like a lobsterman from downeast, your accent is so bad right now I can hardly understand you.”

    He laughed the hardest because I didn’t know beans came in tomato sauce, I ALWAYS ditch the cah for fiddleheads, when I read beinvenue-I read it in French (Chris almost peed himself), I HAVE falled asleep between Houlton and Presque Isle on more than one occassion, I see nothing wrong with red hotdogs, clam chips and a pepsi for lunch and I skipped school and went to all of the locations above. (Old Orchard at least 5 times)

  75. Bobbie said,

    I thought that you guys would like these tonight. DJ was wondering why I was laughing as I read these. They are compliments of my aunt (a Mainer herself) who nows lives in Loch Bouie.

  76. Linda said,

    For a long time I lived far away, in a land with no redskin hot dogs, Humpty Dumpty chips, or Moxie. Whenever I came back to visit my relatives, they would roast those redskins day after day, just for me. I’d leave the country swearing to never eat another redskin in my life, but after a year or two I’d be pining.
    Now I’m back in Maine, all the redskins I want — only I don’t want them, go figure.

  77. "The Weasel" said,

    Eric, Louis and Herb headed to The Fat Bastard’s apartment

  78. LaFlamme said,

    H Ha! Gross.

  79. Mainetarr said,

    That’s just plain nasty Weasel.

  80. Mainetarr said,

    😀

  81. Mainetarr said,

    sorry, I was experimenting with the smiley faces.
    🙂 😉

  82. Gil said,

    Did they get rid of all the blogs? They are not on the front page screen anymore. Our View is in the editorial section, but it is at least 3 days old. Wonder if the asshat of 374 Main St had anything to do with that?

  83. Bobbie said,

    Gil wins the prize tonight. Tell him what’s he won, Mark.

  84. Gil said,

    File this under “AH-HAH-HAH-HAH, GodDamn, that’s funny”
    http://www.upi.com/NewsTrack/view.php?StoryID=20060327-123033-1230r

  85. Bobbie said,

    A relative perhaps. Mark?

    Dear Sun Spots: I have been a fan of Kim Block of Channel 13 for many years, watching her get married and have children. I have always wondered what her husband does for work. Is he perhaps involved in newspaper or the TV media, too? Thank you for your information. – Jan LaFlamme, Waterville

  86. Bobbie said,

    Why did I get a security notice when I posted the last item?

  87. LaFlamme said,

    What? What kind of security notice?

  88. LaFlamme said,

    There shouldn’t be any sort of security stuff coming from this end, Bobbie. Maybe the settings on your browser? It might be alerting you to unsecure pages or some shiznit. If your security settings are high, it’ll do that. Let me know, anyway. Don’t want anything freaky going on.

  89. Martha said,

    Man I haven’t had fiddleheads in years… and redskins… can’t get them here, but my sister is bringing me an italian when she comed in a couple weeks.. Yummy!!!! can’t wait.

    Maybe year after next I can take vacation during fiddlehead season.. that would be cool.

  90. Fred said,

    Bobby,I sure hope you aren`t trying to say thst red hot dogs and Humpty Dumpty chjps aren`t really a meal.With Moxie of course.don`t tell my kids! Anyone who would serve beans with tomato sauce ought to be exiled at once to New Hampshire,Fiddle Heads will be coming right up.All wicked good grub.!You can`t get a car in my garage so we put the truck in the barn in the winter,Otherwise we leave it in the dooryard.Haven`t had more then a dustin` of snow all winter.The critters around the place eat better then the people do.Guess I must be living in Maine.Got just one traffic light in the whole town.Don`t know what time it turns yellow.No one around here is out that late at night(unless they`re hunting or smelting) of course Maine…the way life should be!

  91. Bulldog said,

    The only thing missing in that Mainer blog was creton. Mailhot’s Best, of course! Too funny! I was cracking up wicked reading that! Once a Mainah, always a Mainah.

    When I go to pick up my family from the airport, I have to have the following: 3 Italian Sandwiches, 4 red hot dogs, some Humpty Dumpty chips (preferably dill or ketchup flavored), a package of creton, 3 Moxies and a 6-pack of whatever Shipyard brew I can find! They usually have everything devoured by the time we get home and then we cook up the lobstah and clams! It’s tradition.

  92. Martha said,

    Bulldog, you may be a Mainah, but I’m a Mainiac and proud of it… make that wicked proud.

  93. Bobbie said,

    I think that it had something to do with the fact that I copied and pasted that remark from Sunspots (I opened a different window to get to the sj page). after i closed down the window and went back in, didn’t have that problem anymore.

    Glad to see you back, Bulldog.

  94. Bobbie said,

    Leave it to me to say that, then post and have it pop up again. It’s weird because that didn’t happen until I went to the SJ site and copied that item from Sunspots. I’ll check the settings for the web and see what I can do there.

  95. Bobbie said,

    New England could be in for a big one. Meteorologists say conditions — including warmer temperatures in the Atlantic Basin and cooler temperatures in the Pacific Ocean — are ripe for the Northeast coast to be hit by a whopper of a hurricane this season.

    Ken Reeves, a senior meteorologist at the AccuWeather Center in State College, Pa., said that when the Pacific is cooler, it “essentially drives the storm track further to the east in the Atlantic Ocean basin.”

    He predicts the East Coast north of the Mid-Atlantic states could see a Category 3 hurricane, a storm that could resemble the devastating systems that hit New England between the 1930s and 1950s.

    “There are some eerie similarities to the pattern of the 1938 hurricane,” he said.

    A 1938 storm known as the “The Long Island Express” remains the region’s worst hurricane. Its 121 mph winds gusted to 183 mph and caused massive flooding, power outages and wind damage throughout the region, leaving 600 people dead.

    During recent decades, New Englanders mostly have experienced only the remnants of storms that hit other parts of the country, such as Hurricane Gloria in 1985 and Hurricane Bob in 1991, which brought heavy rains, localized flooding and power outages.

    If a big storm did hit, the New Hampshire coast might be spared the worst of the damage because it is sheltered compared to areas like Cape Cod, Portland, Maine, and Long Island, N.Y., Reeves said.

    Lourdes Aviles, a Plymouth State University assistant meteorology professor, said Reeves’ forecast sounds right. That New England hasn’t had a strong hurricane in 50 years could signal the region’s luck is running out, she said.

    John Jensenius, a meteorologist with the National Weather Service in Gray, Maine, said his group has been concerned for years that a strong hurricane could strike New England’s coast.

    Hurricane activity tends to be cyclical, he said. Every 50 years, a pattern develops that increases the potential for a major storm. But that doesn’t mean a storm is imminent.

    “The chances of one happening this year is no greater than it was last year,” Jensenius said.

    ___

    Information from: Foster’s Daily Democrat, http://www.fosters.com

    ___

  96. Martha said,

    Bobbie, I work with Ken Reeves..

  97. Fred said,

    I`m just getting ready to put my cross`es for burning out in my door yard.Does this mean I ought to keep `em in the barn this year?HWWNBN will be disappointed!

  98. Bobbie said,

    That’s interesting. I had just picked an article off the interent to post to see if my security warning would go off again. I have your e-mail address from an e-mail that Mainetarr sent me. Is it ok if I use it?

  99. Martha said,

    Bobbie.. of course. Just put Mark’s blog or something like that in the subject line so I’ll know its something I want to read.

  100. Bobbie said,

    Thanks. I’ll probably do that later. Right now, I’m trying to get a bug out of my system.

  101. DJ said,

    Just seeing if my mother’s computer isn’t acting wonky anymore. Don’t mind me. >_>;

  102. Bobbie said,

    I have better things to do with my time today, so I’m giving up on my problem for now.

Leave a Reply

