The Real Flamer

March 29, 2006 at 1:14 pm (Uncategorized)

Former CUC student competes on Canadian Idol

 MarkLaFlamme.jpgMark LaFlamme, a former student and music major at CUC auditioned in a competition to become the next undiscovered singing sensation—in Canada. LaFlamme auditioned in the West Edmonton Mall in Edmonton, Canada, for Canadian Idol, a similar talent search to the original American Idol.

“My initial reason for trying out for Canadian Idol was to get a closer look at the audition process in order to better prepare myself for a career as a performer/vocal instructor/music minister,” said LaFlamme.

“I don’t like passing up the opportunity to have fun and meet new people who share a common love of music,” he adds.

After two rounds of preliminary auditions on February 19, LaFlamme was eliminated in round three by celebrity judges Farley Flex, Sass Jordan, Jake Gold, and Zack Werner, a group of well-known Canadian music industry professionals. He describes the two days of auditioning in one word: “exhausting.”

“The stress of waiting around for your audition and the nervous excitement of all the participants makes for a very long day,” said LaFlamme.

“Despite my elimination, I’m still thankful I had the opportunity to explore this intriguing aspect of pop culture, and despite the challenges it was a character building experience,” he adds.

LaFlamme is currently attending Canadian University College where he will graduate next month with a Bachelor of Arts in Music/Vocal Performance. In the future he plans on teaching music privately or in a school setting. He continues to perform at various musical festivals in Canada.

“The most memorable part of my journey would be the times I was able to share my faith by connecting with others on a personal, and hopefully spiritual, level,” said LaFlamme.

94 Comments

  1. Robert said,

    Perhaps Mark should go back to Canada’s other famous pastime…curling..

  2. LaFlamme said,

    Only if they make it a co-ed nude contact sport.

  3. Bulldog said,

    for once, I’m speechless. Absolutely speechless.

    Not only have you been lying to us about your true profession/love/talent (?) but you lied to them about your age! Isn’t there an age limit for Idol? Mark, you devil you.

    I expect you to break out into a rendition of one of Celine Dion’s songs next time we meet (might as well do a song by one of your fellow Canadians eh?)

  4. LaFlamme said,

    I don’t know any Celine Dion songs. And if I did, I wouldn’t admit it.

  5. Robert said,

    3rd round before being eliminated, and I heard Mark couldn’t carry a tune f it was strapped to his back…Perhaps he was crooning for Martha, AO & Mainetarr…must be trying to get big points with the gals eh?

  6. K2 said,

    Wow, who would of thought that both Mark LaFlamme’s are butt ugly? Still, they’re both very nice people, and that’s what’s important. Mostly.

    Nice neck on the Canadian ML. I think he’s got a few extra vertebrae in there or somepin. At least his forehead is, well, manageable. I wonder if his pinky sticks out when he sips Allen’s? . . .

    I wanna see the real Mark belt out the Doors’ Roadhouse Blues on American Idol, and then kick Simon in the teeth with a steel-toed boot. Maybe even expose yourself a la Morrison and see if Paula Abdul’s botox-saturated face contorts at all. She can’t even keep her drool in her mouth.

  7. LaFlamme said,

    I’ll do Roadhouse Blues any time, anywhere. But I need a stage to fall off in a drunken lack of grace.

  8. Bulldog said,

    and you blame “chicks like me” for getting you in trouble huh……..

  9. LaFlamme said,

    Oh, look! She’s offended by the term “chicks.” And after that horrible thing you called me at the last kegger.

  10. Bulldog said,

    what?! I don’t remember calling you anything that you actually aren’t….. Flamer

  11. LaFlamme said,

    Well, it was uncalled for when you labeled me “the piston.”

  12. Bobbie said,

    Or should she have labeled you a leaky valve instead?

  13. Louise said,

    I did not know you could sing, how hot is that? Answer, very hot

  14. Bobbie said,

    Louise, nice to see you stop by!

  15. Bobbie said,

    Enjoying yourself? Hope so.

  16. Sex Kitten said,

    You’re welcome darling. You wouldn’t even know your true self if I hadn’t come along.

    The Canadian ML should find another profession where he won’t be in the spotlight.

  17. Bulldog said,

    Well, I’m sorry but piston was better than short stalk barrel

  18. Mainetarr said,

    O Canada!
    Our home and native land!
    True patriot love in all thy sons command.

    With glowing hearts we see thee rise,
    The True North strong and free!

    From far and wide,
    O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

    God keep our land glorious and free!
    O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

    O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

  19. Robert said,

    Mainetarr, I’m truly impressed, now how bout tyyping it in french, just like they sing at the hockey games?

  20. Beezer said,

  21. Mainetarr-the French Half said,

    O Canada! Terre de nos aïeux,
    Ton front est ceint de fleurons glorieux!

    Car ton bras sait porter l’épée,
    Il sait porter la croix!

    Ton histoire est une épopée
    Des plus brillants exploits.

    Et ta valeur, de foi trempée,
    Protégera nos foyers et nos droits.

    Protégera nos foyers et nos droits.

  22. Mainetarr said,

    Thank you thank you (((bowing)))

    Mainetarr has left the building….

  23. LaFlamme said,

    Anyone ever hear of Jeremy Hotz?

  24. A.O. said,

    Mark sing? Ha. Now that’s funny. I heard an interview with him on the radio last night. He had all he could do to talk! At one point, he had my son and I in stiches! But, my son did say that he sounded like Dan Akaroyd(sp?) with a Maine accent.

  25. LaFlamme said,

    Most people are making fun of me today because I publicly announced I never sleep with my foot dangling over the edge of the bed. Hell, I thought everyone felt the same way. That’s just lunacy.

  26. A.O. said,

    My son found that quite interesting. He also got a good laugh out of it. Mark, I’m going to hire you to entertain my kids. Money well spent.

  27. K2 said,

    All appendages must remain on the bedding surface, period. Only dead people and roofie victims should have lifeless limbs dangling in empty space.

    I wonder how all the other Mark LaFlammes sleep? Wait a second. No, I don’t want to wonder about that at all. Not one bit.

  28. Blumpkin said,

  29. A.O. said,

    Now Blumpkin, That’s just plain gross! I can’t believe there’s another person out there with that name. The horror!! The horror!!!

    The only thing or, things living under my bed are dustbunnies. And, that’s why I have a dust ruffle on my bed. Dustbunnies are afraid to move beyond them. Dust ruffles are like daylight to vampires. Keeps them at bay. Now…back to the disembodied voices coming from my baby moniter….

  30. Mainetarr said,

    Jeremy Hotz is a comedian, isn’t he?

  31. LaFlamme said,

    Ha! Blumpkin. Dan’s a top selling novelist? Excellent. The bastard.

  32. LaFlamme said,

    Yup. Hotz is freakin’ hysterical, a Canadian who unabashedly ridicules his home country.

  33. A.O. said,

    Where do you get that he’s a novelist? Looks like he’s just a stunt man to me. How the hell he gets his fat ass to move is beyond me. I’ve heard that it hasn’t moved from his hole of an apartment for over a decade.

  34. Mainetarr said,

    Canadian version of Jon Stewart?

  35. LaFlamme said,

    Nah, different style of humor.
    Hey, got the Powerball ticket. Egypt here we come.

  36. Mainetarr said,

    I have it, just waiting around for the drawing. I had two numbers last time. Unfortunately it took 5 tickets to get two numbers. LOL But hey, I can have my bags packed in an hour Calvin.

  37. Mainetarr said,

    Hey Mark, why does that Jeremy Hotz always have his hand in his mouth? You notice that? He is WICKED funny. I just went to his website and watched some clips.

  38. LaFlamme said,

    Yeah, that’s like his trademark. He lifts his hand to his mouth in a gesture of embarassment and his voice gets really high. Pee your pants funny.

  39. "The Weasel" said,

  40. LaFlamme said,

    Okay, people are REALLY heckling me about the radio spot.
    http://www.mpbn.net/radio/stories.html

  41. LaFlamme said,

    Ha! Scramble!

  42. "The Weasel" said,

  43. LaFlamme said,

    Well, damn. I need some corrective surgery. Get rid of this big Blossom nose, for starters.

  44. A.O. said,

    Weasel, Thank Gawd someone finally figured out what A.O. meant! You are just too smart for your own good.

  45. Mainetarr said,

    DAMN, everyone is famous and I didn’t even know it….

  46. LaFlamme said,

    “Not many people know this, but I’m quite famous” — Sam Malone.

  47. A.O. said,

    One of my very favorite Cheers quotes:

    WOODY: What are you up to Mr. Peterson?
    NORM: My ideal weight…if I were 11 feet tall.

  48. LaFlamme said,

    Or:

    SAM: “What’s up, Norm?”
    NORM: “My nipples. It’s cold out there.”

  49. A.O. said,

    Gotta love this one:

    REBECCA: The NERVE of that man saying I have an emotional problem. I’d like to meet him in a dark alley with a cleaver!

  50. LaFlamme said,

    I’m going on memory for this one:

    WOODY, after a break up with Kelly: “I’m not bitter, Sam. I’m just filled with a gnawing sense of hate so intense I can taste the bile in the back of my throat. Either that or I’m coming down with something. Anyone have a Tic Tac?”

  51. A.O. said,

    Remember the song he wrote for Kelly? It went something like this: Kelly, Kelly, Kelly, Kelly, Kelly, Kelly, Kelly, Kelly, Kelly, Kelly, Kelly, Kelly….

  52. A.O. said,

    CARLA: If you can’t say anything nice, say it about Diane. Or, say it about Dan.

  53. LaFlamme said,

    Why? Because you’re Kelly, Kelly, Kelly, Kelly, Kelly….

  54. A.O. said,

    No, no, no, no, no, no, no,…

  55. Bobbie said,

    Only Mark could be more annoying than Woody when he sings that song

  56. Mainetarr said,

    Keep your eyes on the road, your hands upon the wheel
    Keep your eyes on the road, your hands upon the wheel
    Yeah, we’re goin’ to the Roadhouse
    Gonna have a real
    Good time

    Yeah, in back of the Roadhouse they got some bungalows
    Yeah, in back of the Roadhouse they got some bungalows
    Death for the people
    Who like to go down slow

    Gotta roll, roll, roll
    Gotta fill my soul, alright
    gotta roll, roll, roll
    Gotta fill my soul

    Passion lady, Passion lady
    Give up your vows, give up your vows
    Save our city, save our city
    Right now

    Well, I woke up this morning, got myself a beer
    Yeah, I woke up this morning, and got myself a beer
    The future’s uncertain, and death is always near

    Let it roll, baby, roll
    Let it roll, baby, roll
    Let it roll, baby, roll
    Let it roll, all night long

  57. Mainetarr said,

    Take it away Mark LaLizardKing

  58. A.O. said,

    K2, This one’s for you!!

    Woody: Jack Frost nipping at your toes, Mr. Peterson?
    Norm: Yeah, now let’s get Joe Beer nipping at my liver.

  59. LaFlamme said,

    Ahhhhh, yes. That’s the song, alright.

  60. A.O. said,

    Sometimes you want to go (anyplace other than Main St. in New Auburn)
    Where everybody knows your name, (everybod except for Dan)
    And they’re always glad you came; (always glad to see everyone, except for Dan)
    You want to be where you can see, (anybody but Dan)
    Our troubles are all the same; (except for Dan’s late State check)
    You want to be where everybody knows your name. (except for Dan)

  61. Mainetarr said,

    Hey Dan, you POS, I know you are watching….You are still a LOSER, but now you are loser who can only read Our View but cannot post. Sucks to be you, POS!

  62. Linda said,

    So I see that Mark’s here — does that mean there’s no CRIME happening in the city tonight? Some of us are not there in the hub you know, so we rely on you all to keep us in the picture. Always glad to reprise an old TV show, don’t get me wrong, but by all means keep an eye outside the bunker on our behalf, you know?

  63. Mainetarr said,

    Anyone wanna go picket on Main Street? Treehugger, where are you?

  64. Mainetarr said,

    Linda, where are you located?

  65. K2 said,

    Ah, Cheers quotes. Gotta love a show that never took itself seriously. But I can’t remember any good lines, since I haven’t seen the show in years. Where can I find it on the tube? I honestly miss it.

    Weasel, my work with children is my life. Somebody’s gotta teach these kids how to roll joints. With glueless papers, even.

    For the record, ‘Kucera’ means ‘curly hair’ in Slovak, and is the 6th most popular surname in Slovakia and the Czech Republic. For those of you watching at home, it’s pronounced ‘koo-chair-a.’ But since I just legally changed my name to Hugh G. Rexion, never mind.

    And A.O., how I forgot to ask you what ‘A.O.’ meant last night, I’ll never know.

  66. Mainetarr said,

  67. A.O. said,

    K2, I never would have told you what A.O. means.
    . You can ask till the cows come home and…..I’ll never tell.

  68. Mainetarr said,

    http://www.nsga.ns.ca/nsgaawards2004.htm

    K2, this is what I was talking about. Is this you??

  69. Linda said,

    Mainetarr, I’m in Wilton. It’s very quiet here tonight, as far as I know. We have our moments of excitement but they’re few and far between.

  70. LaFlamme said,

    I’ve only been to Wilton once, for a murder. Couldn’t tell you where it was. Couple guys beat an older man to death.
    Yes, Linda. It’s quiet down here.

  71. Linda said,

    Well, good. You deserve a relaxing night after your radio rigors the other day.

  72. LaFlamme said,

    More like radio rigor mortis. *laugh track*

  73. A.O. said,

    I’m still laughing over one part of that interview.

  74. LaFlamme said,

    Okay, which part.

  75. A.O. said,

    I’d have to listen to it again. You seemed to stumble over your words. I can’t even describe it. HA! It was a very good interview.

  76. K2 said,

    MT, I’ve unfortunately never been in Nova Scotia, and I most certainly don’t watch soaps. But, man, that Billy — two-timing Julie like that. Men are scum.

    Mark, I didn’t see a link for your radio bit on the site you gave. Please advise.

    Wow. Up past 10 pm two nights in a row. I’m a fucking rebel, dude.

  77. Bulldog said,

    K2, go to the archives at MPBN radio and type in mark laflamme and you’ll get it (it ran on 3/28/06) – that’s how I found it. Quite funny – at least he wasn’t talking 200MPH but there were a few speed bumps!

  78. Robert said,

    Geez, Mark at least has someone recent with the same name, me I’m stuck with the guy who palyed the dad on the Brady Bunch, played a doctor on Marcus Welby (yes for those over 50) and died of pnuemonia (wink, wink – AIDS).

    You win again Mark!

  79. K2 said,

    Yeah, I heard that Mr. Brady literally paid men so he could blow THEM. Stange times are these.

    Bulldog, thanks. I’ll check that out later today.

  80. Robert said,

    Hey, just a thought but you think it might be a good idea if when you post a web site you mention if its a safe site…as in one you can open from work without losing your job….

  81. LaFlamme said,

    Really? I didn’t think I posted many that are truly over the top. How about if I put a warning up when it IS something that might get you in trouble?

  82. Robert said,

    Hey I’d appreciate it….Mainetarr has sent me some good ones but my boss always seems to walk in just as its loading….

  83. LaFlamme said,

    Oh, you mean when someone simply lists a web address. Gotcha. I thought you meant I should warn you before posting a racy blog. Hey, I’ve only been up a couple hours.

  84. "The Weasel" said,

    test

  85. Bobbie said,

    That’s not our fault, Mark.

  86. Jason said,

    Hey Mark, One question, Are you gay? If so call me

  87. Jason said,

    I will rock your world babie

  88. Thaifood Teena said,

    Stay away from him Jason, he’s mine.

  89. LaFlamme said,

    Jason, hold on. Let me check… Nope. Not gay. That was fun, though.

  90. Jason said,

    Awwwwwww I was serious

  91. Jason said,

    So, Thaifood Teena, I’m yours, thats ok I swing both ways a/s/l

  92. A.O. said,

    Jason, You sound like one wild man. You’ll fit in nicely here. 😉

  93. Mainetarr said,

    65/weekends/Jail…you?

  94. Thaifood Teena said,

    no no no, it’s 30/with the guards/jail get it right Mainetarr……..

Leave a Reply

