Queer eye for the straight aquatic bird

April 17, 2006 at 8:13 pm (Uncategorized)

You know? I always suspected. That funny little bird never dated, he was neat freak and there were plants all over his house. Not that there's anything wrong with that, mind you. But the little guy had a cat too, and… well, come on. We all know that single males who keep cats clearly enjoy alternate lifestyles. Plus, he's so tall and thin and what a snappy dresser! Not that there's anything wrong with that.

057gaypenguin.gif

Gay old time over a little fairy bird
By ADRIAN TAME
15apr06

PHILLIP Island's iconic fairy penguins have been renamed "little penguins" in Queensland to avoid offending the gay community.

In an act of political correctness gone overboard, Sea World theme park operators on the Gold Coast changed the name of their star attraction to avoid being "offensive".

Rebecca Smith, spokeswoman for Sea World, confirmed: "We didn't want to upset the gay community.

"We didn't have any complaints about the name of the penguins, but someone thought it could be seen as offensive so we decided to change it to little penguin instead.

"The name is more politically correct. We're not treating it as a big issue."

33 Comments

  1. A.O. said,

    I like the author’s name. Tame. Sounds like a penguin lover to me.

  2. LaFlamme said,

    Is this a case of political hypersensitivity gone too far, or what? I mean, what about the tooth fairy? What about fairy tales?

  3. brenda said,

    yeah, too far.
    but fairy tales are about little fairies, with wings, kinda bug-like, ya know?
    Shakespeare’s Midsummer’s Dream, Titania dancing in the room of newliweds for marital bliss & Queen Mab who brings good dreams…..
    and of course watch out for mischevious Puck, accidentally turning you into a donkey……

    • Sonny said,

      Et la réalité, c’est la droite au pouvoir depuis 17 ans qui nous y a mise. A l&sr©uo;Ãqpoque de Mitterrand, en 1995, la France était en bien meilleure situation à tous les niveaux.Au pays des aveugles, les borgnes sont rois.

  4. Linda said,

    The oddest part of that story is that it’s from Q’land, Australia. Not the place I’d think of as a hotbed of political correctness. The “spokeswoman” (just that tells you) says that “someone” thought the name might offend — that could be literally true, one person’s brainwave. They don’t have much due process: someone gets an idea, and bingo. Wacky story.

  5. A.O. said,

    Well, I’m fairly de -sensitized to the whole fairy business. What about if someone asks, “How are you doing today”? and you reply, “Fairly well”..is that politically incorrect? Or, “How’s business?”…”Fairly well”…poor faries, they get a bum rap. And, now, so are penguins. Or, as my son called them when he was younger, “peeng-wins”. Ha.

  6. LaFlamme said,

    Not to mention: Ferngully. And before you commence calling me a sally, let me stress that I watched it only because I was dating an intern from the paper who happened to be an environmentalist. It impressed her that I watched it and, well… All’s well that ends well.

  7. brenda said,

    then there’s the “fairy odd parents” cartoons on nickelodeon. I think they mess up my kid’s head. When he watches that too much, he starts saying “I wish I had _____” like he thinks it’ll appear because he wished it! HA, if your thirsty, get a drink! I’m not a fairy odd-parent nor a servant!

  8. Mainetarr said,

    I thought it was a fairy good article. Cute little fairy peeng-wins. Nothing wrong with that name. Now, if they were flaming faggot penguins, we may have a problem….

  9. Mainetarr said,

    Sorry, was that insensitive? If I have offended any mo’s we have in the blog, blame it on Will and Grace. I watch way too much of that show.

  10. brenda said,

    yeah. Penguins are the original monogamous “marriage equals one male + one female for life” poster birds. They mate for life and both feed & care for the young.

  11. Linda said,

    Brenda, sounds like you saw the “March of the Penguins” movie. My granddaughter was fascinated, she kept waking me up to fill me in on the so-called “plot.”

  12. brenda said,

    offensive? why? Oh, were allowed to say “flaming faggot penguins” here, right?

    that reminds me, you think any drag queens will come out to compete for our disco queen crown?

  13. brenda said,

    no. I didn’t see “march of the Penguins” yet, I read alot. But I would like to see it.

  14. Mainetarr said,

    Bring on the Queens. When one of them can actually get up on stage and sing with a disco band like I have, I will then, and only then consider sharing my crown. As long as I am alive, disco will never die.

  15. LaFlamme said,

    That’s the thing. Some folks are so leery of offending gays, they’ll rename a beloved bird. At the same time, shows like Will & Grace heckle gay people more than anybody. Very strange how it all works. And you’re right, MT. If they were called “pillow biter penguins,” it might be a different matter (and damn funny.)

  16. Mainetarr said,

    pillow biters….hahahaha. And if they caught two male penguins in bed together with a dirt devil, you think the media would report on that? Hell no……(that was from Will and Grace, too)

  17. Mainetarr said,

  18. LaFlamme said,

    Ahhh! Penguins really ARE gay??

  19. Mainetarr said,

  20. Mainetarr said,

    I wouldn’t shit you, you are my favorite turd, Calvin.

  21. Linda said,

    Sure, Silo and Roy were real poster birds. Last summer I found a children’s book about them in the Wilton library, something about two daddies.

    I knew I’d seen those fairy penguins before. I just googled them to refresh my memory — turns out they already had another name, Little Blue penguins. Those dumbass Queenslanders couldn’t have googled them too?

  22. brenda said,

    Little Blue? Isn’t that kinda gay anyway? Like the “Blue Angel Bar” in any city is usually a gay bar isn’t it?

  23. what? said,

    Smellybloggersayswhat?

  24. Smellybloggersayswhat? said,

    what?

  25. LaFlamme said,

    What?

  26. LaFlamme said,

    Sure. Name a penguin, or any other creature Little Blue and what? He’s supposed to grow up with a clear idea about his sexuality? Poor bird. He never stood a chance for heteroness.

  27. LaFlamme said,

    As of 3:23 a.m., I am unable to upload anything new to the blog. And it’s really too bad. THIS is surely the one that would have won the blog Pulitzer.
    Until this matter is sorted out, you’ll have to abuse the penguins, gays and Will & Grace some more. Free shooters to anyone who can create a joke involving all three.

  28. Bobbie said,

    When I tried to get here earlier, it gave me the notice that it had taken too much time to sign it and that I had automatically been signed out.

  29. K2 said,

    Silly penguins, dicks are for chicks.

  30. brenda said,

    ha!

  31. Mainetarr said,

    I just edited and checked close to a 150 older posts of mine, changing some URL’s around and putting them all in the correct category. While I was doing so, I came accross this old joke :

    A penguin is driving through Melbourne on a hot summer day when he notices his oil light is on. He gets out of the car and sure enough, it’s leaking oil all over the road. The penguin drives around the corner to a service station and asks the mechanic to take a look at it. The mechanic says he has a few others to look at first, but if he comes back in an hour he can tell the penguin what is wrong with his car.

    The penguin agrees and goes for a walk. He finds an Ice cream shop and thinks a big bowl of vanilla ice cream will really hit the spot since he’s a penguin and its Melbourne in the summer, after all. He sits down at the Counter and starts on his ice cream. Of course the poor bastard has no hands so it is rather messy. By the time he is done he has ice cream all over his flippers and his mouth – a total mess.

    He waddles back to the service station and says to the mechanic, “Did you find out what is wrong with my car?”

    The mechanic replies, “It looks like you’ve blown a seal.”

    “No no”, says the penguin. “it’s just icecream!”

  32. Saving the world one ADB complaint at a time - Bernard Gaynor said,

    […] I refused to accept that enlightened totalitarian laws regulating tolerance, diversity and the prohibition of the term ‘fairy penguins’ when referring to ‘fairy penguins’ would lead humanity to a brighter […]

Leave a Reply

