Mmm mmm good

April 19, 2006 at 2:34 pm (Uncategorized)

I've eaten shark. I've tried alligator, kangaroo and something blubbery that might have been whale fat. It's all good. Anything that can be washed down with beer isn't too tough to swallow if you've been double dog dared. Can't say I've tried placenta, though. I mean, how would you even prepare it? Chop it up and toss it in a salad? Maybe drape the slimey matter over a mound of meatballs? cruise.jpg

Tom Cruise has really turned into a special person since his days overthrowing an evil law firm, sucking necks and flying airplanes. Now he's eating birthing broth and picking on Brooke Sheilds. Ah, lifestyles of the rich and shameless.

Bon apetit!

Tom Cruise says he plans to eat the placenta of his new-born child. The Hollywood star, whose fiancee Katie Holmes has just given birth, told a US magazine that he expects it to be 'very nutritious'. 17010.jpg

"I'm gonna eat the placenta. I thought that would be good," he added.

But what is the placenta for and why is the Hollywood actor considering eating it?

The term 'placenta' originates from the Latin word for 'flat cake'. It is also referred to as the afterbirth.

The placenta is an organ within the uterus which acts as an exchange system between the mother and the baby.

In 1998, chef Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall cooked a placenta on his Channel 4 programme and served it at a dinner party. placenta1.jpg

He devised the recipe with mother Rosie Clear for a party to celebrate the birth of her daughter Indi-Mo Krebbs. The placenta was fried with shallots and garlic,  flambéed, puréed and served as a pate on focaccia bread.

54 Comments

  1. A.O. said,

    This guy has turned out to be one of the biggest freaks I’ve ever seen. Who does he think he is? God? What an idiot. Wonder if he’s going to use his babies first poop as chip dip.

  2. Tom C. said,

    I think its perfectly OK, Tom Cruise is genius beyond our comprehension.
    Everyone should eat placenta, its very nutritious…

  3. brenda said,

    Placenta has gotta be extremely nutritious, full of protein. But we’d be cannibals to eat it.

    I always wondered what kind of placenta they were putting into shampoos? Human? animal? I mean if they were using eggs, they’d say eggs!

    (?)

  4. brenda said,

    How was the interview? Was it for an article, or a new job?

  5. Linda said,

    No kidding, freak alert. There’s been way too much cannibalism in the news already this week. That nice Australian girl was well shut of him, she’s gotten more plausible since they split while he’s gotten ever more freakish. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, I guess, but I’d hate to encourage him.

  6. K2 said,

    Boy, would that be ackward in the delivery room: “You gonna eat that?”

    If only the aliens would come back and take Tom away — far away.

  7. K2 said,

    Almost as awkward as my spelling.

  8. Mainetarr said,

    that’s nasty. Tom Cruise, that couch jumping freak, needs to be institutionalized. Bastard. Who the hell is he to tell Brooke Shields about post partum depression? What next, he going to start doing craniotomies? Fuggin idiot. He needs his ass kicked. I wonder if he had to hold a pillow over Katie’s face so she wouldn’t make any noise? Freak.

  9. Gil said,

    You mean it’s not perfectly normal to eat the placenta? It’s not perfectly normal to jump up & down on Oprah’s couch, It’s perfectly normal to profess your love for a girl 20 years your junior as long as it stops everyone from finding out you’re gay. I mean, that is all normal right?
    Don’t tell me, Zenu trapped the thetans souls in ice and then they got released on Earth because they were stored in a volcano and that they then infected man and that’s why we have to pay thousands of dollars to high-level Scientologists to get them out, I suppose all that’s not normal either?
    I need some more coffee…

  10. K2 said,

    However, we could, in theory, be aliens, in the sense that we don’t exactly know how life got started on earth. There is the possibility we ultimately decended from cosmic microbes that were embedded in a meteorite that hit the then-lifeless earth some 3.5 billion years ago, give or take a few hundred million years.

    And who the hell dumps Nicole Kidman? Now that’s c-r-a-z-y. I’d drink a gallon of her piss just to eat the peanuts in her shit.

  11. Arby said,

    Gross, K2. Just as I was about to sit down and eat supper …

  12. K2 said,

    Oh, I have worse. Much worse.

  13. Linda said,

    Shallots and garlic are good but … no fava beans?

  14. LaFlamme said,

    Speaking of gross: I originally had an actual placenta photo posted up there. Then I wussed out. See? I DO so consider your tender sensibilities.

  15. K2 said,

    So much for the cervix around here.

    Mulva?

    Dolores!

  16. Linda said,

    If you really cared, you’d have edited out that lame pic of TC.
    Where’s Randy W these days, didn’t he used to post now and then? Or is that only when your subjects don’t make him sick to his stomach?

  17. Mainetarr said,

    All this talk is making my uterus hurt. What about you, Mark?

  18. LaFlamme said,

    Whitehouse was around earlier, but he had to get to his crotchet class. When you see him, comment on his new hairdo, as well. He’s really bitchy if no one notices his new hairdo.

  19. A.O. said,

    You should have posted the placenta photo. All of us REAL women could have taken it. Cripes, MT’s seen brain surgery and, I’ve gone through two births AND watched my husbands vasectomy. Placenta? Big friggen deal. Post it.

  20. brenda said,

    yeah, we brace for worse any time we click on any link suggested by chunder or weasel!

  21. LaFlamme said,

    Well, huh. Shows what I know. I’ll post the rancid thing. Stand by.

  22. A.O. said,

    Is it alright if I sit? I’ve had a really LOOONG day.

  23. LaFlamme said,

    Looks sort of like a cabbage roll.

  24. Linda said,

    Post and be damned, but would you stop it with the food references please?

  25. A.O. said,

    OH MY GAWD!!! IS THAT WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE??? Ha. just kidding. Big deal. It looks like a very healthy placenta. Just like mine did. Um..TMI? Hey, my kid’s weighed 9/7 and, 9/10 so, of course I had healthy placentas.

    Okay, got another…Slow Down Cowboy…how much slower do they want me to go?

  26. LaFlamme said,

    I wonder what MY placenta looks like.

  27. Linda said,

    Are you afraid it will look edible?

  28. LaFlamme said,

    Baril would eat it. He’ll eat anything, like Mikey from the commercial.

  29. A.O. said,

    Tell him to stay away from Pop Rocks and Pepsi at the same time. I heard it killed Mikey.

    And…give him a kiss on the cheek for me. Tell him I’m glad he’s okay. Okay?

  30. LaFlamme said,

    Okay, I’d rather eat that placenta with a bucket of maggots than kiss Baril’s cheek. No offense to the guy. Just… gross.

  31. A.O. said,

    Ha! I’ll kiss his cheek, then. I’m just glad he’s okay.

    If you’re still around Mark-ah, send me an email. Just a test. I’m having big problems with my server.

  32. brenda said,

    what happened to baril, that you’re glad he’s ok?

  33. A.O. said,

    Chest pains, last night.

  34. brenda said,

    chest pains? bummer! Who is baril? glad he’s ok now….

  35. A.O. said,

    He works at the Sun Urinal with Mark. He had a hospital stay over the winter. I don’t want to get this wrong but, I think he has a hole in his heart.

    Randyman, If I’ve gotten anything wrong, you can blame my husband. I’ve been taking care of HIS sick ass for two days now. I’m tired.

  36. brenda said,

    well this was fun tonite. Now I think I’ll check what’s on tv. Later!

  37. Randyman said,

    Hey A.O
    I have few minutes here and just wanted to explain a little more in detail of what happened to me,,I threw a blood clot it came from my right calf,,
    now yes it is true I have a whole in my heart,,
    but did you know that 1out of 4 people have this and dont know it?
    and they never will,,because my blood clot thing is hereditary and their aint nothing I can do about that
    but as long as I take good care of my self I will be fine

    so the blood clot went through my heart ,,making a terrible mess along the way
    and yesterday I didnt have chest pain,,just like a poking sinsation
    hard to explain but im not taking any chances until im fully recovered
    so I had it checked out

    the chances of another clot even forming is slim to none
    because I am on blood thinner
    BUT what is left ,,and it will take maybe a year to get passed is the anxiety of
    something happening
    and also as you can imaging it is imperative that I dont get cut
    but I really dont have any restriction,s as far the doctors are concerned
    so everything is cool

    but the doc did say eat more pizza
    and stop hanging around with Mark
    but he is right next to me

  38. LaFlamme said,

    There goes Baril. A man of few words.
    I think you misunderstood your doctor, which is forgiveable, given your problems. What he said was: “Give Mark money.”

  39. A.O. said,

    Randyman, I’m glad you’re okay. Stay away from sharp things, eat more pizza, and…GAWD…stay away from MARK!! GAWD..he’s worse than any sharp knives.

    Seriously, for you and your family, I’m very happy that things have turned out okay. Just, please, be careful! And, I think I still owe you a pizza! Just let me know what size and, what kind. And, for your lovely wife, I think she’s earned a 12 pack! I miss her.

  40. Randyman said,

    im just glad the whole stinking thing is behind me,,

    no mark gives me money,,I owe you 5 bucks I was out of meds
    beer that is,, best meds out there

  41. Linda said,

    Hey Randy nice to meet you. My husband has that hereditary clotting thing too, what a pain, he’s been on blood thinners for 12 years but still (and I don’t mean to scare you) gets clots now and then. He’s just back on his feet after the most recent one 10 days ago.
    But he has no unexpected holes in him, even though I had to fetch and carry, drive him around, and do all the dog walking since the weekend before last; so he really was at risk of being impaled with something sharp. Another lucky escape.
    Have a nice night!

  42. A.O. said,

    Linda…Glad to hear your husband’s doing better! Mine’s upstairs puking as I type. SIGH!!

    Randy, got your “fix”..ha. Um..Mark gives you money? Hell, I’ve been hitting him up for money for years. He told me he’d pay me for particpating in his blog. SH**…still haven’t seen a cent.

    Bulldog…where are you? Treehugger? Weasel?

    GO SOX!!

  43. Randyman said,

    yeah thanks ,,,I will tell her you said that,,you are good people,,and yes Tina has been through a lot..

    she is very tired of the whole thing
    she is now reading marks book and loves it!

  44. Randyman said,

    sox are doing great! good start

  45. Randyman said,

    ok I have to go,, machine is out of film

    talk to you later

  46. A.O. said,

    YOU…take care of yourself. Tell Tina I said hello.

  47. ghastly irony said,

    well, watching CSI shows is more gruesome than that placenta….. microwaving flesh to see the lasered out tattoo, opening up the flesh to see the shape of the knife wounds, practicing stabbing a dead pig to match the knife’s mark, and more

  48. Linda said,

    This is a message for Randy. Last night I wrote that my husband has that clotting thing and still gets blood clots sometimes. I hope that didn’t freak you out. I should have mentioned that he is very healthy and active, he runs four miles every other day with the dog, and life is fine. Every few years something goes a bit nuts but he knows what to look for, and he goes to the doctor and they give him some treatment (extra blood thinners twice a day). Not great, but not a big deal. He gets to lie on the couch for a week under doctor’s orders, and be waited on etc. it’s very boring for him but then it’s over. So just watch out for what the doctor tells you to watch out for, and things will be fine.
    I really meant to say all that, not just that he still gets blood clots now and then. All right?

  49. LaFlamme said,

    Hey, that’s great Linda. Randy actually was a little unnerved about the recurring clot thing. I’ll e-mail him your latest comments and tell him to get his sorry ass in here once he’s caught up. You rock.

  50. Linda said,

    Thanks. I told my husband about what i’d told Randy last night & he said get back in there and reassure him, its scary enough without him hearing that. Now i can get back in his good graces.

  51. LaFlamme said,

    Your husband is a wise man. He and Randy oughta compare war stories someday.

  52. Treehugger said,

    Geez…..I can remember catching a few clots in my time. But a whole placenta?
    Now that is wierd.

  53. Linda said,

    Treehugger, now that you mention it, this topic did stay oddly “on topic” didn’t it? Right around and back where we started.

  54. LaFlamme said,

    Afterbirth: the gift that keeps on giving.

Leave a Reply

