Place blog here

May 3, 2006 at 4:16 am (Uncategorized)

Man, I'm wiped. Finally got that wireless connection going and now the birds are chirping. Stupid birds. They have no regard for anyone else's schedule. It reminds me of that time Earth almost ate the moon.

earthmoon.jpg
Since I have no will to come up with anything fresh, I'm going to throw in a couple strange photos and hope you people will get distracted. If not, I invite you to yack about whatever you feel like yacking about. Maybe we could make it Whiner's Wednesday or something.

burnedhands.jpg
Got career problems? Bitch about your boss here. Need martial advice? Who better to ask than men and women you've never met. Sexual difficulties? Why not post them here, on the Internet, and reap the benefits of a free exchange of ideas and a shitload of heckling. Still haunted by that awful thing you did six years ago when you were drunk on sterno? Consider this your confessional.

Let the healing begin.

fisherman.jpg

66 Comments

  1. jarheaddoc said,

    OH, Mark, it’s so good you have that damn connection up and running, but was it really worth the cost to yourself?

  2. AO said,

    Good for you! You got it working! Now you can tell us all about your sexual difficulties. We need someone to heckle today.

  3. K2 said,

    Why don’t chicks dig The Three Stooges?

  4. AO said,

    I LOVE the Stooges. I haven’t watched them in years but, I love them.

  5. K2 said,

    Phew. Good to hear it ain’t ALL chicks.

  6. AO said,

    One year, for my husband’s birthday, I bought him the Stooge’s “Golf With Your Friends” poster. Framed it and everything. Do you know he’s never hung it anywhere? Ungrateful SOB!

  7. K2 said,

    I’d be more than happy to take that gem off your callous husband’s hands. Or is it your husband’s callous hands? Just give me the damn print. (No pressure.)

  8. AO said,

    I have no idea where he’s stashed it. And, to think, I thought it would look so nice hanging over my fireplace.

  9. Mainetarr said,

    I am one of “those” women K2. Me no like the Stooges.

  10. Bobbie said,

    I enjoy the Stooges. As long as you don’t think about the behind the scenes stuff, they’re always good for a laugh when you need one.

  11. K2 said,

    MT, you?!? My image of you is shattered, shattered I tell you.

    Bobbie, what behind the scenes stuff? We’re not talking about Fatty Arbuckle, are we?

    My wife no like Stooges either. Silly woman.

  12. Richie said,

  13. Treehugger said,

    Mark, what happened to you in your childhood to have such a deep seated loathing for our canine friends?

  14. "The Weasel" said,

    I believe that’s Señor Dan

  15. Gil said,

    So this chick looks at me and says, “I want you to take that celery and beat my ass with it.”
    “Whaaaa?” I said
    She repeated it and I replied, ” No way, that’s just crazy!”
    So, I’m beating her ass with the celery, and I mean I’m doing a hell of a job. The people at the salad bar are applauding, ranch dressing is flying everywhere. A good time was had by all.
    Until the next day when she had me arrested for stalking her.

  16. Treehugger said,

    Hey Mark, did you think of this one?????

    http://www.wmtw.com/family/9152312/detail.html

  17. LaFlamme said,

    Oh, here we go. You kill a few dogs in a fictional setting and PETA is on your ass. They had to go, I tell you. They were in the way.

  18. LaFlamme said,

    I know exactly two women who appreciate the Stooges.

  19. Bobbie said,

    Sorry, was having computer issues earlier.

    No, we’re not talking Fatty Arbuckle, K2. From what I’ve read, Moe was a slave driver in more ways than one. I’ve also heard that he was a comic genius, but had head issues, to put it mildly.

  20. K2 said,

    My neighbor apparently put a cat in a washing machine when he was a rambunctious teenager. Said when he finally let the cat out, it immediately ran away and was never seen again.

    Gil, how do live on your celery?

  21. LaFlamme said,

    Jokes from the crisper drawer. Priceless.

  22. AO said,

    The crispier the better.

  23. Mainetarr said,

    Moussaoui got life in prison. I’d like to take a piece of celery to his ass. Bastard.

  24. AO said,

    I think he’ll get it shoved UP his ass. Bastard, is right!

  25. jarheaddoc said,

    Moussaoui was a sactifical cahracter in that whole thing. The ones who are responsible are still loose

  26. jarheaddoc said,

    At the risk of raging an entire firestorm of debate, does anyone out there think that this guy got anything close to a fair trial?

  27. Linda said,

    Hmmm. Vegetable jokes. I just don’t know …

    I told Mark the dog thing was very nearly a deal breaker when I started reading The Pink Room. He said I wasn’t the first to complain; obviously I wasn’t the last, either.

    Well carry on, folks. (and I know how you all CAN carry on!) I’ll check in later — another night in the broadband free zone for me.

  28. Mainetarr said,

    jarheaddoc, I am glad he got life in prison. At least the POS won’t die a martyr. He got a better trial that he would have got if I were on the bench. The prison is in Colorado. He will be in solitary 23 hours per day. Looks like Allah didn’t “come for him” like he predicted.

    On a brighter note, if anyone out there in the twin cities needs heating oil, there is a place called Discount Oil that currently is selling oil for $2.17/gallon. They are the cheapest around, by a long shot. And gas was $2.73 at Walmart today. Just a little FYI. 🙂

  29. Mainetarr said,

  30. jarheaddoc said,

    I know that Moussaoui got a lot fairer trial in America than an American would have gotten overseas. The chinese have a habit of having one day trials: you’re tried, convicted, and executed, if that’s the sentence, in something like one day. I disagree with what you say about his martyrdom, though: anyone the United States convicts, even if he doesn’t get the death penalty, is a martyr in the eyes of these guys, as he stood up to the infidels and lived, and everyone will make him a living saint. I think the United States government would have been much better off to jsut make the guy disappear, not say a damn thing about having him, and let it go at that. The whole trial was a show to the American public that something was being done about terrorism

  31. LaFlamme said,

    See? From the three stooges to the terrorist network. That’s free association blogging.

  32. AO said,

    Stooge’s rock. Terrorist suck.

    MT, Just got back from Magahrita’s. (sp?) Missed you!

  33. Linda said,

    Yes, something for everyone!!

    Not a Stooges fan myself, but I do like the Marx Brothers.

    (You can see which end of the spectrum I feel like writing about, eh?)

  34. AO said,

    I also love the Marx Brothers. My son had to look up some quotes for school the other day and, while he was doing that, he came upon some Groucho quotes. We were killing ourselves laughing over them. And, hate to “date” myself but, I remembered most of them.

  35. AO said,

    On a side note, It’s “Cinco de Mayo” right now. And, they’re celebratiing it at MaGahritia’s (again, sp?). So, in the spirit of Cinco de Mayo, I got “lei’ed” at the bar by a total stranger. PHEW!! What a night!

  36. Linda said,

    Wow!! Wish I was there!! Get an early start on the festival. Gotta get me some Mexican beer.

  37. Gil said,

    What’s that Linda, you say you need a Mexican with a beard?

  38. Gil said,

  39. Gil said,

  40. K2 said,

    Gil, I hope you read Cal Thomas’ piece today in the SJ. If that right-wing screw-headed nut is hammering the Republicans, well, look out in November.

    AO, Cinco de Mayo is Friday. But it always makes sense to start early.

    Moussoui got what he deserved. Death would’ve been too easy for him, and he was not a major plotter in 9/11. Still, I hope he enjoys that 23 hours of solitary every day. Hey, Zack, tell Ted Kazynski and Terri Nichols we said hi. Not!

  41. AO said,

    Friday, Wednesday, who the hell cares? Guess I started early. 🙂

  42. K2 said,

    Cinco de Mayo — Fifth of May. No habla Espanol?

    BTW, here’s a link to Stephen’s Colbert’s ruthlessly hilarious White House Correspondant’s speech. A must read:

    http://dailykos.com/storyonly/2006/4/30/1441/59811

  43. Gil said,

    K2, Cal Thomas is a genius and a wonderfully gifted writer. He is saying in this article what a growing number of R’s like Hannity, Limbaugh, Boortz, etc. have been saying for a while now. And I agree. If the Republicans don’t stop acting like Dems, then they are finished. And rightly so.

  44. K2 said,

    He’s a genius? Ummm . . . no.

  45. Gil said,

    Read today’s Cal Thomas piece and tell me that he doesn’t make sense.
    http://www.townhall.com/opinion/columns/calthomas/2006/05/04/196167.html

  46. Bobbie said,

    So, Super Max gets a new prisoner, huh? The only places in Colorado that would have been a better choice for placement would have been the 2 prisons right down the road from me. It would have been interesting to see how long he would have lasted there.

  47. K2 said,

    Thomas makes sense about 1/5th the time. And his religiosity scares the hell out of me.

  48. Mainetarr said,

  49. K2 said,

    Chuck?!? I read him regularly, but only agree with him less than half the time. The other times, I think he’s a right-wing psycho. However, as the New Yorker put it a few weeks ago, Chuck represents true conservative values, unlike the entire Bush administration, who are messianic Evangelicals. It was a piece about Francis Fukuyama (sp?), who used to support Bush, but now doesn’t at all. (Incidentally, Fukuyama is head of Scooter Libby’s defense fund.)

    Chuck’s certainly a smart guy, and I wouldn’t doubt is his IQ labels him as a ‘genius,’ but still, to me, he ain’t.

    Bela Fleck and Edgar Meyer, now there’re two geniuses. At least musically.

  50. Gil said,

    Reigiosity? Is that a word? Then I guess I’m Buddhalicious!

  51. Gil said,

    K2, saw this and thought of you, excellent Marley Artwork
    http://www.lapopart.com/productdetail.asp?Ident=52

  52. K2 said,

    That’s cool, Gil. Good old Bob. Best songwriter of all time. (I put Dylan second.) I mean, who doesn’t like Bob Marley? His songs are universally adored. The man was simply the best of the best. If only he and Hendrix hadn’t gone so soon. *whimper, sob*

    Got to have Kaya now. . . .

  53. K2 said,

    Oh, ‘religiosity’ is a word all right. I think I saw it first in a George Will piece.

  54. Martha said,

    HMMMMM…funny I wouldn’t have a clue who Bob Marley is.

  55. Bobbie said,

    Hate to disagree with you, K2, but I really don’t like Bob Marley’s sound.

  56. K2 said,

    Again, Martha, you are a fun, fun woman.

    Bobbie, my point was more that he’s loved by all sorts of peoples around the globe, unlike most other genre music. But, hey, if you don’t get ‘irie’ (higher) from the positive vibrations, so be it. More spliff for me. Rastafari!

  57. Gil said,

    Bobbie, you are an evil, vile woman.
    I recommend that you start out easy with Babylon by Bus, try “Lively Up Yourself”, “Jamming”, and “Kinky Reggae”.

  58. Linda said,

    Marley? I vote yes. He was a prince.

  59. Mainetarr said,

    I love Bob Marley, man. He’s da bomb.

  60. AO said,

    Da Bomb. Gotta agree. Love Bob Marley!

  61. Gil said,

    The musician, not the comedian ladies.

  62. AO said,

    Gil, I’m probably older than you are and, I’ve been listening to the Rastaman for as long as I can remember.

  63. Gil said,

    Just a joke, mwahh

  64. impinabq said,

    I find it interesting that Rush Limbaugh got trounced for prescription drug abuse and Patrick Kennedy was a tragic tail.

  65. LaFlamme said,

    Didn’t Kennedy claim he was on Ambian? Mmmmm. Ambian.

  66. impinabq said,

    I didn’t hear what he was on except that it was a prescription drug. Ambien is a pretty inocuous drug, if that was it he must have swallowed the bottle.

Leave a Reply

