Dog Daze

June 3, 2006 at 1:36 am (Uncategorized)

rabidDog.jpgWoe be unto the man who gets between a boy and his dog. Literature is filthy with tear jerking movies about the special bond between children and their canine friends. Sure, once in a while a boy has to haul his mutt to the back yard and put a bullet in his head. And of course, a pooch occasionally goes mad and rips little Jimmy's face off in a flurry of fangs and fur. It is all a part of that beautiful friendship.

I can easily run through the list of dogs I have owned and loved. Sparky, Snoopy, Daisy, Cujo, Hobbes. I would like to point out that I was only responsible for the naming of the latter two. I would never name a dog Daisy or Snoopy. Neighborhood dogs tend to make fun of members of their species with such trite names. Daisy and Snoopy each succumbed to the abuses suffered at the hands of their peers. Snoopy went the way of the bottle, drinking himself to death on top of his doghouse while listening to sappy country songs. Last I heard, Daisy was addicted to Oxy and Alpo and was turning tricks out on Santa Monica Boulevard.

Most dogs live lives that are too short but bring immeasurable joy to the lives of those who keep it. I dedicate this space to all the dogs we've loved before and to those who are just joining us. In particular, I welcome Milo, the mastiff puppy, a great dog who will soon be large enough to swallow me in one bite. Here's to you, Milo. Love you,man. Please don't eat me.

Milo 005.jpg

123 Comments

  1. Bulldog said,

    I’ve always wanted to name my dog “Stain”- you know, so that when people call him they say “Cum Stain”

    (I know, that’s old- but it’s still funny)

  2. K2 said,

    Semen humor at 7 am. Bless you, Bulldog.

    My border collie, Nellie, came with her name. I just thought it was too good to change.

    Mark, I can see the cream cheese on your nose. I can only imagine where you slathered that jar of Skippy.

    Quick story: my best buddy in NY was playing with his dog, Izzy, back in the ’80s, holding a ball in front of Izzy’s face, taunting her bite it, and then quickly removing it as she lunged at the ball. Well, sure enough, eventually Izzy lunged too far, accidentally chomped his nuts, and plunged one of her canine teeth right through my buddy’s sac. Yes, a puncture wound to the scrotum and a trip to the ER. Lesson learned. I hope.

    Well, most likely not. A few years ago, before Mike’s Tavern got ripped down to build the Food City plaza in Lisbon Falls, my same friend and I were in there drinking and playing pool. Anyhow, my buddy accidentally bumped an unsteady table, which caused a beer bottle to fall on the ground and break. The woman who ran the bar was bipolar — she could be friendly one minute, and a ruthless bitch the next — and from behind the bar she yells, “I want him out of here.” I plead my case that it was honestly an accident, but she says too bad. So, as we’re leaving, my buddy decides to give her and the bar something to remember: right at the door, he drops his shorts and starts swinging his goose eggs ’round and ’round like a whirly bird. There were a few screams and chuckles as his sizable sac — like two rocks in a stretched polyester tubesock — spun like a merry-go-round. Classic genital humor.

    Regardless, I’m glad they ripped that shit hole to the fucking ground.

  3. Linda said,

    Wish I could roll back time about 30 minutes — I’d rethink having breakfast!!!

  4. AO said,

    I wish I could have been at Mike’s Tavern with K2 and his friend. That would have been something to see!

  5. Linda said,

    The last place I worked, everyone used to talk about dogs and horses in the lunch room every day. Wish I’d known K2’s story back then. It would have got as many laughs as the nurse who was always reporting to us about inseminating her horses with mail-order semen. There are apparently lots of ways for that process to go wrong!

  6. Milo said,

    Thanks for the welcome, Calvin. I promise not to eat you when I grow up, but I can’t guarantee I won’t hump you a time or two like my big brother Bailey did.

  7. K2 said,

    My buddy has a mutant set of nuts and a sac the size of a yacht sail. He’s been known to hang one of his goose eggs out of the top of his shorts and just leave it there till somebody sees it and recoils in horror. And he’ll say, ‘Gotcha.’

    He even ‘fish hooked’ our buddy Ray once. He was bombed in the back of Ray’s car, when he decided to jam his index finger a knuckle deep in his stink star, then take the fouled digit and promptly hook Ray’s unsuspecting mouth with it, like a marlin fisherman. Ray, a very large man, immediately pulled over and thrashed my buddy senseless. Thus, no more ‘fish hooks’ since. True story.

  8. AO said,

    K2, That’s just gross.

  9. K2 said,

    I never claimed to have classy friends. But yes, fish hooks are a bit over the top. But I bet a dog would love it.

  10. Martha said,

    I have 2 cocker spaniels. April and Amos.
    April was a gift for my b-day several years ago and since my b-day is in April, that became her name. She is, on the whole, a pretty good dog.
    Amos was rescue. If I hadn’t taken him, he’d have been taken to the pound. Amos is a case. I think he was from a puppy mill which certainly didn’t breed for intelligence. I frequently call him a blonde in a black and white coat. Besides that, before I got him he was called Gizmo. Who would give a dog a name like gizmo and expect him to behave like he had brain in his head? After I got him, I had him neutered and changed his name. Although he still has numerous issues, he’s not a half bad dog.
    Mark, I’ll send you a picture if I can find a good one of the 2 of them. Look for it from my aol account….subject will be April and Amos.

  11. Martha said,

    Oh wait.. I guess we don’t have a gallery anymore, so I won’t bother.

  12. Mainetarr said,

    Here’s a funny dog story. Bailey was my first dog, as an adult. We had a few dogs when I was a kid, but they were my dad’s and I never paid much attention to them. Anyhow, I was told that really friendly dogs will lay down and show their bellies. Ok, I thought, I will try to rub Bailey’s belly as much as I can and he will be a docile, friendly dog when he grows up. So, one day, I am sitting on the couch with him in my lap and he rolls over to show me his belly. Like a good mommy, I start rubbing his belly. Well (I can’t believe I am telling you guys this) I was watching a really good movie on tv and not paying much attention to Bailey. He was half asleep, so I kept rubbing his belly. I was so into the movie, I didn’t notice my usually rambunctious puppy was being very mellow and had been that way for almost an hour. When I looked down, I had apparently been rubbing his balls for about 45 minutes. Eeeewwwwwwww. No wonder he was so quiet. On a good note, it also works on husbands too.

  13. K2 said,

    MT, you obviously have a lot of baggage. (Get it?)

    I think I can beat that (no pun intended) with a cat story. I had a cat in my college days named Boo. Anyhow, he liked to get frisky now and then, and one time, while I was sleeping, I basically woke up to him dumping feline batch right in my hand. He got it on with my appendage whilst I was asleep. So, I was date raped in college — by a cat.

  14. AO said,

    See what happens when you take cat naps, K2?

  15. Mark Laflamme said,

    Whoa! It took balls to share that story, MT.

  16. Mark Laflamme said,

    Had a girlfriend who wanted to get a dog and name it Speck. A variation of Spot. I thought that was pretty clever. Than the girl lost both arms in an rare vibrator explosion and she had to go away.

  17. Gil said,

    Best dog ever was Hollywood, a large Greyhound picked up from the track. They are excellent pets and good companions. The only bad thing is that when they run off, they do it at 60mph. The other bad thing is when they go to the ex in the divorce.

  18. Gil said,

    Dog bites man, man bites man, only in China (the country, not the town)
    http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/china/2006-06/03/content_607813.htm

  19. Linda said,

    MT, you really can’t rub a husband’s balls for 45 minutes and just not notice. Unless you’re in a coma, or he is.

  20. Gil said,

    Man and dog, and club, and rifle, and of course alcohol. Oh yeah, it’s in Florida.
    http://www.sltrib.com/utah/ci_3890844

  21. Gil said,

    Alright Linda and MT, I’ll volunteer as the test subject to settle it right now.

  22. Anonymous said,

    Get in line, I guess …

  23. Gil said,

    Nothing to do with dogs, just funy as hell
    This is what happens when men have way too much time on their hands
    (And no one to rub their balls for 45 minutes)
    http://eepybird.com/dcm1.html

  24. AO said,

    Gil, I’d say those guy’s really need somebody to rub their balls. You’re right, the do have too much time on their hands.

  25. Linda said,

    I should have stuck with another classic horror weekend. Just watched In The Cut, and it was really good but freaked me out. What did jarheaddoc call it — TMI? Totally misguided imagination? I think I’m remembering that right. Anyone who this movie would probably agree — there were some really scary men in it.

    So it’s a damn good thing I watched this one in daylight and saved The Exorcist for after dark!

  26. AO said,

    I’ve never heard of it. What’s it about?

  27. Linda said,

    A woman who teaches English meets a detective who’s working on a murder case, and they have a hot affair. Women keep getting murdered, and the teacher suspects the detective of killing them, though there are at least two, maybe three other scary men her life.

    There are a lot of dream and imagination sequences (= my TMI comment above). It was directed by a New Zealander named Jane Campion who also co-wrote the screenplay, which is why I wanted to see it. It’s very moody and “arty”. Now that I know how the plot unfolds, I think I could watch it again and appreciate the details. It reminded me a lot of Sea Of Love — no Al Pacino, but I found it easy enough to get past that omission. The detective would catch your attention, AO, even though he wears a suit.

    I would have sent you a link to a review on line, but I couldn’t find one I liked as well as my own. 🙂

  28. Laflamme said,

  29. AO said,

    Linda, I’m going to have to check it out. I really liked “Sea of Love”. I’m always looking for something new. NOT that I ever get to watch everything I rent. Most of the time it gets brought back to the video store unwatched. I hate wasting money that way!

    Hey, cool! We’ve been written about. How come he didn’t mention any of us bloggers by name? Asshat. Any idea who this person is?

  30. AO said,

    And…only 10 of us?? Ha. I think there are more than just 10 of us. Aren’t there?

  31. jarheaddoc said,

    Linda, the only good part of In The Cut was Meg Ryan’s neck-ed-ness. There was a story there?

    True story from my days with the jarheads. We were at a party, where one of the revelers had a bottle he had cut in half and somehow gently tacked back together. He went up to his drunk buddy, said ‘watch this’, tapped the bottle against his head, and it broke neatly on the seam. The drunk guy says, “I can do that!”, whaps himself with an uncut bottle, promptly knocks himself out. We turned him on his side so he wouldn’t suffocate if he threw up.

  32. Laflamme said,

    I dunno. I think we should leave messages in Daniel’s blog and try to entice him back. Remember the ritual we all had to go through the first time we started? Ah, yes. The ritual. Mine still stings sometimes.

  33. AO said,

    I left one for him. And….I was very nice.

  34. Linda said,

    Hey, tell me about the ritual!

    AO, I forgot to mention in my movie review: there are two movies called In The Cut. One is about Meg Ryan naked, and the other is a chick flick. Fortunately you can rent them both in the same package for a buck.

  35. Linda said,

    And who is Daniel? have I been corresponding with him on the “gay old time” post?

  36. AO said,

    Look up at #28 and click on Mark’s link.

    The ritual. Ahh…the good ol’ days of last summer!

  37. Linda said,

    I already read Daniel’s blog, he posted in “a gay old time” and I had a little “argy-bargy” with him, not really but I know you like that phrase

  38. AO said,

    You still haven’t told me what it means! “Argy-Bargy”…my mind is wandering….

  39. Linda said,

    A lively discussion, sometimes ending in fisticuffs – or hair pulling I guess. When I was little my best friend and I, both verbally overdeveloped, used to argue a lot. When we got noisy, her Irish grandmother would loom in the doorway and say, you girls stop that argy-bargy or I’ll take the mixing spoon to your backsides. And we’d get quiet fast, ’cause she could do just that.

  40. Laflamme said,

    I don’t remember any argy bargy around here. Who was arging and who was barging, anyway?

  41. Laflamme said,

    I just got the cowboy message. Where’s my goddamn six shooter?

  42. Linda said,

    Mark it was me, I was making smart-ass unfounded comments on the other post (a gay old time) but I apologized. Grandma’s lessons live on.

  43. AO said,

    My Irish grandmother never told me to stop my “argy-bargy”. Of course, I was too afraid of her to raise any “argy-bargy”. Ha. I had TWO Irish grandmothers. How lucky can one girl be?

  44. Linda said,

    Mark! I’m just pouring wine and the neurons are re-running some of last night’s conversation (not that I want to recall my part of it to anyone’s minds) but — YOU NEVER TOLD US WHAT’S IN A NIGHT TRAIN!! I think AO asked you twice, and very nicely, if it has gin in it but you never answered. Spill! (Got a Favorites list for that, Mr Listmaker?)

  45. AO said,

    Linda, Here’s what’s in a Night Train. Hey, what kind of wine are you sipping on tonight?

    Night Train

    2 oz. Gin
    1 oz. Cointreau
    1/2 oz. Lemon Juice
    Dash Kirsch
    Ice
    Mix all ingredients with ice in a shaker and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

  46. Linda said,

    Oh that sounds good.

    Pinot grigio tonight. Last night after I drank the bottle of Yellow Tail, my pager went off and I had to go to work at midnight. Fortunately I’d scored 15 minutes of sleep, ha, that’s a joke, it wasn’t fun. But it was a quick fix and i was home asleep again in 45 minutes. Still, tonight I may try to restrain myself a bit. Or I may not.

  47. AO said,

    It’s “Kelly’s Revenge” for me tonight. And, it’s very good! I DO love Yellow Tail, although, it does give me agida (sp?).

  48. Laflamme said,

    whoa, whoa! I was under the impression that Night Train is a cheap and powerful wine, like Mad Dog. Treehugger sent me a link in which it was described as “sober to stupor with no stops in between.”

  49. Laflamme said,

  50. Linda said,

    Good grief AO, I thought it was the couscous! But you’re right! Ah well, it sure was good anyhow

  51. AO said,

    I’m going to have to check in with my “Wine Guy’s” and see if they can order some “Night Traine” for me. AND, IF they can then, hey, Bloggers Party! I mean…”Sober to Stupid” and, “Clorox” flavor…HA…sounds like a party to me…eww. I can just hear my wine guys laughing right now.

  52. Laflamme said,

    I just looked at Hannaford and didn’t find it on a cursory look.

  53. Linda said,

    BTW AO if you are looking here — please check your email, I apologize in advance but you did ask, and looks like I really needed to tell, eh?

  54. AO said,

    I just finished watching the ending of “Shaun of the Dead” on HBO. Talk about your strange movies. Anone ever seen it? From my take, it was a flick about zombies taking over London. It did have a funny ending.

  55. K2 said,

    AO, if you’re watching ‘Kelly’s Hereos,’ groove out to Sutherland’s ‘positive vibes, man’

  56. AO said,

    K2, I LOVE Sutherland. Ever see “Invasion of the Body Snatchers”? And, ya wanna know what? I’m not big into war flicks. Hope you’ll still respect my taste in blues but, I hate watching war. I’m a wuss when it comes to war flicks. I have endured a few …but…nah. Deer Hunter keeps coming to mind. Russian Roulette..

  57. K2 said,

    Walkin and DeNiro are unreal in that flick. One of the most disturbing movies ever.

    ‘Invasion’ spooked me out as a kid. And I love Sutherland in ‘Animal House’:

    Pinto, grabbing joint: ‘It won’t make me go pschizo, will it?’

    Prof: ‘It’s a distinct possibility.’

  58. K2 said,

    Fat, drunk and stupid is no way to go through life, son.

  59. AO said,

    Ha..I forgot he was in Animal House. Gawd! That has to be one of the best …what?… gross out flicks ever? And, speaking of gross out flicks, I love Porkies. Ha. When that Coach was having sex with the female gym teacher in the locker room…classic.! IF I ever need a good laugh, I think of that scene. Especially when the other coach is laughing so hard he has to hide behind the mats hanging on the wall. Ahhh…too funny!

  60. Linda said,

    You know AO, same for me. If I find my self watching a movie about war, it’s as if it’s in some strange language. I see their lips moving and I know there’s some kind of a story going on but I just can’t get it. Not a value judgment — I just can’t understand it.

    I just had a fright, pager going off. Fortunately not requiring a drive to work at the moment, just some phone time

  61. Linda said,

    Sutherland was cool in Stand By Me too — I love that movie, esp the part about the pennies under the porch. Ever feel like that — that you’re shoveling dirt under the porch every spare second, with very little chance of a payoff?

  62. Linda said,

    Jesus, i am a sick puppy tonight. I just actually read a couple of your comments as opposed to drunkenly runnign one eye over them, and i see that you guys aren’t talking about Kiefer Sutherland. I usually make more sense than this, I think, I hope

  63. Linda said,

    AO how are the Sox doing? I’m still watching that movie which might explain some of my distraction.

  64. AO said,

    I’m cracking up, Linda! I saw “Stand By Me” and, for the life of me couldn’t remember seeing Donald Sutherland in it. Richard Dryefuss, yes, Donald Sutherland, no. I thought I was the one with a wine buzz! So, tell me, what was the movie with the pennies under the porch? Guess I’ve never seen that one.

  65. AO said,

    Losing. 1-0, Tigers.

  66. AO said,

    Losing.3-1, Tigers. I’m wondering if they’ll have a come back again tonight. Cross your fingers, toes, eyes ….um…whatever you’ve got!

  67. Linda said,

    Tonight I got nothin’ …

  68. jarheaddoc said,

    Yes, it was Keifer in Stand By Me, not Donald. I like both of them, but Donald as that mad tanker in Kelly’s Heroes and as Hawkeye in MASH are tied for first place for me. Who played Frank burns?
    “Shut your filthy mouth!”

  69. jarheaddoc said,

    Truth or Consequences, NM: see Keifer do a really funky dance as a crazy criminal

    Desert Saints: Keifer is an IVY League educated hit man.

  70. Laflamme said,

    Ah, I just finished watching Hostel for the second time. Yup. Still deeply disturbing.

  71. Linda said,

    I just finished watching a movie too but for once in my over-voluble life, I think I’ll keep the movie and my thought s about it to myself. Well, to myself and AO.

  72. jarheaddoc said,

    Girl talk. I will never understand that

  73. Linda said,

    Be glad of that.

  74. jarheaddoc said,

    Would it make my brain hurt or drive me to need happy pills, Linda?

  75. Linda said,

    Women don’t like it when men feel the need to get in their private space.

  76. jarheaddoc said,

    Ah, 10-4

  77. Linda said,

    Good. Women like it when men agree with them.

  78. Linda said,

    Well I do anyhow.

  79. jarheaddoc said,

    Okay, then ‘splain me this, Lucy: why is it that women want men to express their feelings and share things, but when men ask the same thing of women, we get THE LOOK and some horse hooey answer like ‘you wouldn’t understand if you didn’t have a uterus!”

  80. Linda said,

    Did you call me Lucy? Last job I had before this one, on my third day there, I walked in to find a jar on my desk with a note on it that said, Advice 5c. (too impaired to find the cent sign if there is one)

    I don’t do that though. I’m an obsessive expresser of my feelings. jd, have you met Linda? This is Linda, she talks way too much about everything you ever wanted to know and so much more.

  81. Linda said,

    The really hard thing with me is to shut me up.

  82. jarheaddoc said,

    It was a reference to what ricky ricardo always said to Lucille ball when he didn’t understand her

  83. Linda said,

    I know, but I was cross referencing Peanuts.

  84. jarheaddoc said,

    Oh, don’t get me started on that one, Linda! Old chucky B. didn’t deserve any of that, not a damn bit of it! He’s the victim, and people laugh at him, the poor simple fool! His damn dog is smarter than he is! We will get K2 going about compassion and understanding! I cn’t take another brain ache over a subject like that!

  85. jarheaddoc said,

    Right now I’d be happy to solve the damn freecell game I’m playing!

  86. Linda said,

    Fine what do you want to talk about then? Got it, not Peanuts.

    Are you done working for the weekend? will the rain ever stop? will we be disconsolate in September or will the Sox pull off a miracle? Any of that work for you?

  87. Linda said,

    Freecell’s so last year. I’m into Sudoku now.

    Just kidding, I play my share of freecell

  88. jarheaddoc said,

    I sense that your mood is sullen at best tonight, Linda.

  89. jarheaddoc said,

    Sudoku. What’s that?

  90. LaFlamme said,

    Whoa! Jarhead, you’re in too deep! Fall back, man! Fall back!

  91. jarheaddoc said,

    You ever read Calvin and Hobbes? I miss that cartoon strip. Calvin was just misunderstood, really, but like most ‘good’ parents, they only made things worse for him by saying he needed competent psychiatric care

  92. Linda said,

    Sullen? shit you are right, and I was the last to notice.

    I do have a few demons tonight. Too many moody movies, too much time on my hands, too much sleep aversion.

  93. jarheaddoc said,

    Uh oh, I sense that Laflamme knows I have done a brainless thing and wandered into the minefield of a woman’s feelings and that I deserve whatever I get in return.

  94. jarheaddoc said,

    “The doctor is not in” 5cents. Peanuts. I just think Old chucky B. is…shit, I got nuthin’!

  95. Linda said,

    Yeah, I used to read a lot of C and H in my introspective younger years. Gary Larsen turned me into a much more cynical person. Do you think I could recapture some of that gentler, more vulnerable attitude? I have a collection of C and H that I’ve carted around the world and back, maybe I should dig them out.

  96. Linda said,

    Nah, I haven’t got it together enough to go for your jugular tonight, you read my mood right and Mark’s not been paying close enough attention.

  97. Linda said,

    I can’t tell you what’s wrong without, you know, breaking our pact of silence on Subject A. And don’t for one second think this comment constitutes my bringing it up or I might spring to life in a way you would not welcome

  98. jarheaddoc said,

    I always liked the Sunday strips. Do you recall these two? Deer go hunting in an office building and shoot a fat, balding, myopic man? Yup, his parents wanted to take him to the shrink over that one! And the one where he whacks suzy in the head with a snowball and Calvin beleives her when she says he knocked out her eye, then she kicks him square in the ass while he’s looking for the eye?

    And snowmen!

  99. Linda said,

    I like The Far Side cartoon where a deer has a bulls eye on his chest, and the other deer says to him, bummer about the birthmark, Hal.

    Come to think of it, do you ever feel that way?

  100. jarheaddoc said,

    We were talking cartoon strips, Linda. Did you see how the computer skipped right over comment number 97? Mark should contact the techno weenies and get the numbering system right. fucking computers!

  101. jarheaddoc said,

    I always liked the one of the bear in the coffin where he says, “Don’t any of you idiots know how to check a pulse?!”

  102. Linda said,

    Mark should do me a personal favor and get that “suggest removal” thing installed here. Oh the times I’ve used, always on my own comments of course. Oh, maybe a few of yours too.

  103. jarheaddoc said,

    And then there’s the one that MT’s bosses would appreciate: a brain surgeon is doing surgery on a guy, who’s leg is spasming, and the doctor says, “Whoa, put your finger right there and watch what happens!”

  104. Linda said,

    Yes, bear in a coffin. That funnies up Mark’s and my nightmare stuff. EA Poe — Premature Burial.

  105. jarheaddoc said,

    I have a ahrd time getting past the the dream that I wake up from my current life to find out that I am facing my first day of high school.

  106. Linda said,

    I just re-read 104. (“suggest removal”) You made me grin (typo: I typed “grim” how telling is that?) but I can’t seem to sustain it tonight. Still, my other option is The Exorcist, so you are doing a good thing here.

  107. jarheaddoc said,

    I relate it to the last epsiode of the Bob Newhart show, where he woke up and everything was just a dream

  108. LaFlamme said,

    Oh, Linda. Funny you should mention that. I’m appealling to MT’s boss to help me out with a concept I’m trying to work into a nasty piece of fiction. The concept of the brain living on after the body has succumbed. It’s premature burial without even fists to pound on the inside of the coffin. Just thoughts and thoughts and thoughts…

  109. jarheaddoc said,

    You mean the original, with the head turning and all of that? I could never understand why the Catholic church would want a priest to be a psychiatrist. Isn’t that like trying to get oil and water to mix?

  110. Linda said,

    So — high school. Would that be a good dream or a bad dream? My mother used to say, these are the best days of your life. Always when I was in the middle of some drama. I had quite a dramatic high school career, always some shit or other. Boy friend trouble, image problems, got kicked out of the National Honor Society, always one friggin’ thing after another. I don’t know how my parents survived it. Me, I loved it, I was in my element. But I wouldn’t go back there for anything in the world or outside of it.

  111. jarheaddoc said,

    High school sucked.

  112. Linda said,

    Mark, am I going to sleep at all tonight or what? Probability — going down fast.

  113. jarheaddoc said,

    I am going to get back into that minefield and ask you this: what on Earth did you do that caused those stuffed shirts in NHS to get their undies in such a bunch and torse their testicles?

  114. Linda said,

    Actually I don’t think the Catholic church DOES want priests to be psychiatrists. I have that on good authority from a psychiatrist who wanted to become a priest. Or maybe they just didn’t want him.

    Yes, it’s classic horror weekend again and I’d have done better to stick with classic horror all the way. Instead of the movies I actually watched so far.

  115. Linda said,

    You know jd, and I realize this isn’t what you’re used to from me — I’m not going to tell you. Not tonight at least. And whatever you are thinking, I promise you it wasn’t half that bad. I just had the good luck (I think) to grow up at a time when things were changing fast. For instance (and this has nothing to do with your question) when I went to college the girls’ dorms had rules that men could be in our rooms from three to five on Sundays, only. but the next year, all the dorms except one were men’s and womens combined. It was a funny time, very easy to piss people off without even trying

  116. jarheaddoc said,

    I like the vampire movies, actually. I occassionally have dreams of being chased by vampires and I learned that you dream of them when you feel like the life is being sucked out of you. the thing is, those vampires always catch me, then they can somehow absorb my life through their touch, and they always leave me after that. Several of them have run off, saying something like, “I’d rather starve to death than have that fucked up blood in me.”

  117. Linda said,

    and I swear, I wasn’t really trying

  118. jarheaddoc said,

    It was a rhetorical question. the wife of a friend said something to me tonight, in a very sarcastic fashion, and I said that to her, it was rhetorical and she would have to find some other place to fish. she’s very easy to get going about her work, and her husband does the same thing to her, to get her going, but only when she’s in the mood, and I have a fair share of scars on my back from her claws.

  119. Linda said,

    jd gotta go, pager. see you tomorrow maybe!

  120. jarheaddoc said,

    Gotcha! have a good night

  121. jarheaddoc said,

    I finally won that goddam game! My batting average for that game is in the negative numbers.

  122. Linda said,

    jd, did you really play the same freecell game for an hour until you won it? I’m VERY impressed with your patience, or stubbornness, or attention span, or all of the above. If I can will in two tries, I say screw it and move on.

  123. Linda said,

    Somebody scrambled my keyboard. Or else even my fingers don’t know the word “win” tonight. “If I can’t win in two tries …”

Leave a Reply

