Feast of flies

June 5, 2006 at 12:19 am (Uncategorized)

childrenofthecorn.jpg

We all know the story. A group of children learn of a horrible accident that left another child dead on the edge of town. With the body up for grabs, this tribe of curious kids sets out on an all-day hike to see the corpse and take one giant leap toward adulthood. Education through sweet, mysterious death.

Most of us have some variation of this story from our pasts. Me, I recall combing the woods near my house upon hearing that a kid had gone crazy after a bicycle wreck there. Word on the street was that the insane boy had a stick jabbed clean through his right hand and possibly one in his eye. He was said to be quite mad, possibly dangerous, and living like a primate in the cool darkness of the trees. Or he had died and was a feast for flies somewhere in the jungle-like woods not far from the school. It all depended on which neighborhood kid was telling the story that day.

I never found the crazed stick-boy, but the search for him shaped my future in ways I still don't fully understand. I wanted to believe that something so chilling might be true.

I learned soon enough that death is not always the stuff of neighborhood legends. Death usually came stealthily and took the living down in ways that were cruel but short on drama. To me, that felt like a cheat. The cessation of life by itself is a powerful thing and I always felt that the circumstances should be as dramatic as a hurricane.

To the young me, death was sly and wicked and it did not play by any rules. I developed a healthy fear and respect of it, the way most of us fear and respect electricity.

I wonder how the concept of death is viewed by the kid who grows up in a calamitous inner city where its shadow falls frequently.

It was a Thursday night and I was downtown at the scene of a particularly nasty crash. A victim lay on the pavement, bleeding, unmoving and clearly damaged in mortal ways. A large group had gathered. Easily half the crowd consisted of children and they gawked at the carnage unflinchingly. They clutched skateboards or scooters and looked down upon the injured man, not with apprehension and fear, but with a certain savage curiosity that looked strange on their young faces.

lord_flies.jpgIt occurs to me that the kids who have grown up in the epicenter of the city probably know all about the business of an ambulance long before they can spell the word. Victims of old age or hard living are wheeled routinely from apartment house to hearse, and the swarms of young people are right there. There are knifings and accidents and brawls on the same sidewalks where kids walk to school. Why take a long, all-day hike to find one simple body next to the railroad tracks when death so frequently makes an appearance in the neighborhood?

It has to be hard for Hollywood to impress children who live in the throbbing hearts of cities. The sirens and screaming on television, many days, will be drowned out by the wailing and screeching right outside.

And where is the need for neighborhood legends, like the one about the boy with a stick through his hand, when violence and nastiness and all varieties of suffering are as easily accessed as the corner store? The downtown children do not need to make up bogeymen or invent horrible tales. Those things are as real and reliable as the ice cream trucks that roam through the downtown delivering frozen concoctions.

More times than I can count, I have found myself at the scene of something horrific, speaking to a child about what has happened. I look on at the carnage, turn to the first person next to me and ask what happened. In a cool, clear voice, a 7- or 8-year-old will describe with near apathy how the bleeding man on the grass, or the deceased woman in the mangled car, came to be that way.

I don't propose that these early encounters with the mechanics of death are healthy or unhealthy. These children see it all before they lose their last baby tooth and for the most part, they seem uncorrupted. I can't suggest that these kids would be better or worse off because of their experiences. It's just another facet about downtown that makes me marvel and muse. In the inner city, reality does for children what only local lore can provide in the quieter sections of the world.

101 Comments

  1. Gil said,

    The only death we had to deal with at an early age was elderly family members. Later in life and I’ve had my fill, thank you very much. I saw friends die at the ripe age of 16, 18, and 20. I saw mates of mine killed while serving their country. I’ve seen death and I’m not afraid of it, I’m not used to it, I’m just tired of it. That’s what I imagine the kids you’re referring to feel. Not so much jaded as accepting of it.

  2. Toadfrog said,

    I understand what you are saying Gil…I too have seen things that are totally unreal in my life. My soul mate commited suicide and to this day I feel that if I would have realize how much I really care for them they would not have done it.

  3. Toadfrog said,

    But on a lighter note, well a more amusing not I remember beingin the 5th grade and not being where I was supposed to be but instead with a group of friends wandering the woods. While on the adventure walk we found a blanket on the ground covered in blood, we all figured it was from something like a rape, but to this day I wonder if maybe I should have said something. But then again I think that we all have the things that we have seen in younger years and now look back on and think about what we should have done. It is just a fact of life I guess.

  4. Toadfrog said,

    By the way, you have not been here when I have looked Jarheaddoc. Have you any Idea whom I could be… the answer lies closer then you think… let me know if you want another clue… I would love to tell you whom I am, you would be surprised I think.

    And Hello to all…. I have missed you all… LOL>

  5. jarheaddoc said,

    Mark, that is a deeply philosophical statement. I have seen way more broken bodies in the civilian world than I did in the military, as I am fortunate to have never seen combat.

    The human species will never be able to shed its basic biology, which is to do harm to others in order to survive and continue on with the species. The attraction of a tragedy to the average human is akin to the attraction of a vulture to a dead animal: it’s just that it’s psychological for a human, whereas it’s physiological for a vulture.

    Good to see you back, gil

  6. K2 said,

    Some excellent perspective, regarding Haditha and war, furthering jd’s sentiment:

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2006/06/02/AR2006060201327.html?nav=hcmodule

  7. Toadfrog said,

    jd,

    you ignoring me….

    another hint…. fishing hooks remind you of anything.

  8. jarheaddoc said,

    Public lynchings used to be the weekly entertainment in the Deep South not that many years ago. It was truly a family event and considered many things: a family value, the execution (no pun intended) of your civic duties, and a good crime deterrent. It was also very racist, but that was the mentality of the populace at the time. I am not trying to justify it by any means, just stating that that was what people did back then. the jails were probably a lot less crowded back then, too.

  9. jarheaddoc said,

    Toadfrog,

    AS-40

  10. Linda said,

    jd, heavy stuff. I’m going to have to think some more about what you call “basic biology”. At first glance it strikes me as being a bit more cynical than my own view. “Nature red in tooth and claw” and all that.

    But — working and thinking, not compatible.

  11. AO said,

  12. jarheaddoc said,

    Death is a great mystery. The more biblically educated amongst us will correct me or add to this, I’m sure, but if memory serves, there are only two people who have ever come back from the dead: Jesus and Lazarus.

    The human mind is developed to the point where we want to know if there is more to this existence, and dying is the only way to find out. I can recall being at scenes where people have died and not felt much sorrow in the passing of the person, at least on a professional basis, but I have wondered if the deceased have gone to a greater beyond or if the worms are just going to get them. Maybe that’s the attraction, wondering if the deceased has reached a final truth that you’ve always searched for, had to take on faith, and feeling a bit jealous about that person having something you don’t: a final answer.

  13. jarheaddoc said,

    Excellent post, AO

  14. K2 said,

    Buy high, sell high. That’s what I say. Good one, AO.

  15. jarheaddoc said,

    I wish that meant the prices, K2, but I know better.

  16. jarheaddoc said,

    So do the worms get us or what, K2?

  17. Linda said,

    SFW, AO? Probably not, if it’s for K2

  18. jarheaddoc said,

    NSFW, just to be cutious, Linda.

  19. Linda said,

    Thanks jd.

    I’m thinking of my husbands Irish grandma — she used to say, “You’re like the handle on the pot — always ’round, but never in it”. Not EXACTLY sure what she meant, but that’s how I’ll be today until I get home.

  20. jarheaddoc said,

    Irish folk sayings? I understand women better.

  21. Linda said,

    I don’t think anyone understands Irish folk sayings.

    AO, how about you? Ever hear that one about the pot handle from one of your plethora of Irish grandmothers?

  22. Gil said,

    Dirty Little Matt is sitting in the back of math class, obviously not
    paying any attention, when the teacher calls his name.

    “Yeah teach?” he replies.

    “If there are three ducks on a fence and you shoot one of them with a
    shotgun, how many are left?” asks the teacher.

    Matt answers “Well, teach, if I shoot one of them with a shotgun, the
    loud noise is gonna make them all fly off.”

    “No, Matt, there will be two left if you shoot one with a shotgun,
    but I like the way you’re thinking.” the teacher responds.

    “Well, teach, I’ve got a question for you… There are 3 women that
    come out of an ice-cream parlor, one is biting her ice-cream cone,
    one is licking it, and one is sucking on it. Which one is married?”

    The teacher, a little taken back by the question answers, “Well, uh,
    gee Matt, I guess the one that’s sucking on the ice cream.”

    Matt replies “No teach, the one that has the wedding ring on her
    finger, but I like the way you’re thinking!”

  23. K2 said,

    Yes, jd, the worms get us, or the furnace. To me, a ‘soul’ is merely a neurophysiological entity, and when the brain’s dead, the soul’s dead. But the figurative spirit, good or bad, continues on in the memories of the living.

  24. Gil said,

    Well put K2. I have to agree with you. I believe that those who need to cling to the hope that there is an afterlife are sad and need to get busy living now. Once you’re gone, you’re gone. What you do while you are here is what matters. Even if it’s no more than helping others or raising your children to be good, kind people. That’s a legacy far better than any “reward”.

  25. jarheaddoc said,

    I agree. We have batted around thesubject of religion and an afterlife quite a bit, so please don’t think this is an invittation to reopen that old subject. I suspect at least one of you, either K2 or Gil, is a Star Trek fan, so I will say this: The Klingons are right abot the body: once it’s dead, it’s just a lifeless husk, so just throw it aside. Hell, you could eat it if you wanted to, but it’s that Kuru thing that scares me. I have enough problems with people fucking with my brain in life, never mind what they’d do to me after dying.

  26. K2 said,

    Skull fuck?

    I’m no Star Trek fan, but I loved the original series as a kid. My brother was a tad overboard; he even had Star Fleet manual, with instructions on how to build the star ships. They did leave out a few important details, like dilithium crystals and photon torpedos, but had we had the proper funding, we at least could’ve built a fully nonfunctional shuttle craft.

    Incidentally, I was always partial to Romulans. And their ale.

  27. jarheaddoc said,

    Try this, Linda: if you’re in hot water, you’re in trouble, and the handle never touched the hot water, but it was around to see the event. So following that logic, you must have always been around when trouble was brewing but never got int rouble yourself. Sounds like you were either trying that trick to make the world invisible or had an alibi that even an eagle eyed grandmother couldn’t see through.

  28. jarheaddoc said,

    That Green Female alien still works for me!

  29. K2 said,

    Hey, they’re all pink on the inside. I think.

  30. Linda said,

    “Even if it’s no more than helping others or raising your children to be good, kind people.” — Gil, that’s a hell of a lot more than many people manage to do. It’s a lot really, and it’s what matters to me too.

  31. jarheaddoc said,

    And it’s a wonder Jaes Kirk didn’t die from space syphillis, considering the number of alien species with which he had ‘first contact’!

  32. K2 said,

    Breaking news: IP just sold their Jay and Bucksport mills.

    http://money.excite.com/ht/nw/bus/20060605/hle_bus-wen8936.html

    Kirk was a space gigalo. He’d kick Picard’s ass easy. But Picard would crush him in three-tiered chess.

  33. Linda said,

    jd, WTF. I don’t think my husband’s grandma was smart enough to mean all that. There’s a good chance you’re overthinking it.

    Tell you what, just let it go, eh? I’ll toss my odd sayings out there, undefined (I’ve got a million of ’em), and let everyone take what they want out of them and leave the rest.

    Not a good day for concentrating at work. So I’ll be keeping an eye on the Lost Sole. Have a great afternoon!

  34. Linda said,

    Jeez K2, thanks for that news flash — the husband of one of my nurses works at Jay, I just asked her if she knew and she’d just gotten an email about it. But the web story had more details

  35. jarheaddoc said,

    My grandmother didn’t have to teach with some weird saying that never made sense, Linda, and I never had to overthink her methods: you screw up, you got whacked, and you either learned or went home and didn’t get any sympathy from Mom and Dad: ‘Well, whatever you did that pissed her off, don’t do it again’ And then I’d get whacked in a fresh spot because Grammy was a good woman who didn’t deserve to be pissed off.

  36. K2 said,

    Linda, you’re welcome. I figured it probably affected somebody in here, directly or indirectly.

    Some of my favorite Scottish sayings fror my deceased grandmother-in-law:

    ‘I’m not as green as I’m cabbage looking.’ Translation: ‘No shit, asshole.’

    ‘Time to get to Coggin.’ Translation: ‘Hurry the fuck up.’

    ‘Maybe I, maybe who-high.’ Translation: ‘Fuck you.’

    ‘Oh, I see, said the blind man to his deaf son.’ Translation: ‘If you say so.’

  37. jarheaddoc said,

    There are only a couple of sayings I recall from my grandparents, passed on down by my parents:

    “A good work horse is always shitting itself. don’t take it into the woods if it ain’t.” Translation: I was hoping one of you could tell me!

    “One boy in the woods is almost as good as a man for a day’s work. Two boys is half a man. three and you might’s just as well leave the little bastards at home.!” The translation is self-explanatory.

  38. Linda said,

    K2, you are a truly gifted translator!

    jd, the Irish grandmas I knew were even tougher, as I said the other night in the argy bargy explanation: they’d give you some cryptic gnomic crap and while you were still thinking it and not complying fast enough to suit them — whack!

    Except for the Lithuanian grandma (not grandma — what do I mean to say?) of one friend, she just muttered under her breath and glared. that was worse than the whacking.

  39. jarheaddoc said,

    Oh, what I call The Look! I am sitting here quaking at the thought of that, Linda. It’s a genetic female thing, part of female basic biology, and woe unto the man who does read the meaning of it! It is only the first sign of impending doom, the rest having to do largely with cultural influences, and any words that are expressed only make it worse. There is only one real solution, and it comes from Forrest gump: “run, Forrest, Run!”

  40. Linda said,

    Yes, it’s good that you realize that jd. the part I have trouble with is not adding words, you say words make it worse but for the truly ominous effect, the protracted silence is really most effective. In my experience at least.

  41. AO said,

    The only thing I can ever remember one of my grandmother’s saying was “I’m going to put you in my little black book”. Translation: You fucked up terribly!

  42. LaFlamme said,

    Ooooh. The soul, the afterlife, the distinction between mind and brain. I had an hourlong conversation with a very imaginative brain surgeon last night and I was chilled for the rest of the night.

  43. jarheaddoc said,

    Amazing how them brain surgeons can pick your brains without taking off part of your skull, isn’t it? That’s the scary part for me, Mark!

  44. LaFlamme said,

    Truly. This guy is a brain surgeon but he’s also a big sci fi fan. You put together those two fields and it gets crazy.

  45. jarheaddoc said,

    I have an effective counter to the protracted silence, Linda: I jsut do whatever the hell I want. Call it passive aggressive, whatever you want, but I have always subscribed to the philosophy that silence implies consent, and since I am not a mind reader, the woman had better speak up. And buying her something shiny usually helps smooth things over, too.

  46. LaFlamme said,

    Okay, who can identify the above photos?

  47. K2 said,

    Children of the Corn and Lord of the Flies?

  48. Linda said,

    jd — whatever works, you know? I think a variation from the usual is good for catching someone’s attention. So, usually I talk. If I don’t talk, the tension builds. It works for me anyhow.

    Doesn’t work well on a blog unfortunately

  49. AO said,

    Mark, remember, the next time you ask us to identify any pictures posted, all we have to do is move our cursor’s over the picture and a little tab shows what the pictures are.

  50. LaFlamme said,

    Damn! I thought the first one would be a little tougher.

  51. Linda said,

    No Mark, it was pretty easy

  52. AO said,

    It was probably the hardest for you. 🙂

  53. Linda said,

    The first one DID have an eight-letter word, so maybe it was a little bit tougher.

  54. Toadfrog said,

    JD,

    Where did AS-40 come from? And is that supposed to tell me something?

  55. K2 said,

    Malachi, He’s come for you. . . .

  56. K2 said,

    Wait a second, I honestly didn’t cheat, AO!

  57. Mainetarr said,

    Mark and the doctor talk a lot lately. Pals they are!! You know what they say…nerds of a feather flock together. LOL

  58. Linda said,

    Can’t wait to see the book! Brain stuff — so cool. Not that there’s anything wrong with quantum physics, but it’s good to mix it up a bit you know?

  59. Linda said,

    What’s Milo up to MT? Is he bigger than a breadbox yet?

  60. AO said,

    Milo is so cute that, I didn’t even mind when he peed on my floor. Ha, I now have ONE clean spot!

  61. AO said,

    I believe you, K2.

  62. Mainetarr said,

    Milo is doing pretty good, but i think I am going to have to bring him to the vet tomorrow, he has had diarrhea for a few days and I am getting worried. He is playful, eating and drinking like crazy, but he should not be pooping so much. I think he has a virus or something. Not really sure. All weekend his poop was mucusy looking, today it is black. I know, gross subject.

  63. Mainetarr said,

    Any vets out there?

  64. AO said,

    Hey. I have kids. Been there, done that. Let ‘er rip…so to speak.

    But, on a serious note. I hope that little Milo is going to be okay. Give him a big kiss for me.

  65. Linda said,

    He’s not eating grass, is he? That has the same effect on my dog, but since my dog weights 105 lbs, you really want to watch out for it.

    I know with a puppy you have to be more careful though, so better take him and a specimen to the vet

  66. Mainetarr said,

    He is occassionally munching on grass, but I catch him and pick it out of his mouth as fast as he gets into it. He drinks plenty and eats like a banchee, but I have been reading about it online and now I am all scared. Friggen internet.

  67. Anonymous said,

    I hope that Milo is doing better now. Please keep us posted.

  68. Mainetarr said,

    l will. He is super playful and stuffing his face so l think he will be fine. lt might be a diet change, too. Thanks for asking…

  69. K2 said,

    Dogs eating grass is totally normal. Yes, they are carnivorous, but their eating of grass is biologically programmed — it’s roughage, which cleanses the GI tract, and it sometimes is an indicator of an upset belly.

    MT, you’re smart to have him checked, but I wouldn’t be too concerned at this point. His gut is still not fully developed at such a young age. It can be easily upset. Make sure he’s getting only one kind of food — variety is bad. As long as he’s not lethargic, this should clear up in a day or two.

    Or take two Snausages and call me in the morning.

  70. LaFlamme said,

    Wasn’t Malichi the red headed dude? What an ugly bastard he was.

  71. Mainetarr said,

    Thanks K2. I have him strictly on Iams puppy food and he is still getting the same formula supplement he had with the mommy. He has been like this for 5 days,s o I am starting to get a little worried. He poops whenever he wakes up, and since he is little he sleeps a lot. I just want the vet to take a look at a sample, he should be able to run some tests on it and make sure he is doing ok. He looks great, he’s a little pork chop, eats real well, drinks a lot of formula and water and is super playful. I am sure he is fine, just need to hear it from Dr. Frechette.

  72. K2 said,

    Shit, I was right! http://www.usatoday.com/news/science/2003-12-19-wonderquest-dogs-grass_x.htm

    No, no, no, Mr. King’s groupie. Malachi was the short brown-haired leader how got ‘hung out to dry.’ Shit, I can’t remember the name of the red-headed stepchild Finklesteinshitkid.

    Regardless, nothing’s worse though than the lame-ass speech the goody-two-shoes husband gives to the muderous kids at the end to make them repent their ways. Worst . . . diologue . . . ever.

  73. Mainetarr said,

    So, other than dog shit, what’s going on out there tonight at the Lost Sole? Any good wine to report on AO?

  74. LaFlamme said,

    Oh, yeah. I didn’t like either one of those adults. I was cheering for the kids. But now that I think of it, wasn’t what’s-her-name in it? Sarah Conner?

  75. K2 said,

    MT, not to be a pompous dog fuck, but Iams is popular thanks to good marketing. I highly recommend Innova dog food instead. Here’re the ingredients: turkey, chicken, chicken meal, ground barley, ground brown rice, potatoes, rice, chicken fat, herring, apples, carrots, cottage cheese, sunflower oil . . .

    You get the picture.

    If it interests you, after your pup is shitting normally again, make the change to a Innova or another high-end food by mixing 1/6 new food with 5/6 old for a few days; then 1/4, 3/4, for a few; then 1/2, 1/2; then 4/6,2/6; then 3/4, 1/4; then full bore.

    The Kennel Shop in the old Ames plaza sells the good shit. I highly recommend it.

  76. K2 said,

    Linda Hamilton. She wasn’t awfully pretty, but her body tone was serious. You know damn well she’d dominate in the sack.

  77. K2 said,

    Isaac?

  78. LaFlamme said,

    See, I think you got it backwards. I think Isaac was the creepy little twerp and Malachi was the redheaded dude who fell out of the ugly tree and hit every branch on the way down.

  79. K2 said,

    You know what? You’re fucking right. Isaac was begrudgingly on the makeshift cross when the devilish whirlwind came, and that’s when he said,’ Malachi, He’s come for you.’ Man, did Malachi scream like a pussy.

    I stand corrected. (Damn Stepehn King afficionados.)

  80. Linda said,

    I think I got here late tonight. What are we talking about, I can’t work it out. It must be a movie, right? you know I’m movie deprived. Though I’m working on it.

  81. Linda said,

    oh I get it now, Children of the Corn

  82. K2 said,

    Or the porn sequel: ‘Anal Babies of the Corn Hole’

  83. LaFlamme said,

    Yeah. And there was that cheesy “he who walks behind the rows” thing. For the longest time, I thought they were saying “he who walks behind the rose.”

  84. Linda said,

    OK I didn’t see either one. quel surpris

  85. K2 said,

    Barfus interuptus

  86. K2 said,

    Hey, a rose in your corn field is a fucking weed, man.

  87. K2 said,

    Ummm . . . Yankees 13, Sox 4, in the 6th.

  88. Linda said,

    well that sucks. they’ve gotta get some pitchers

  89. LaFlamme said,

    Wow. That’s actually somewhat profound.

  90. Linda said,

    Nah, I read it in Tom Caron’s column. Thought I’d toss it in here to impress you guys.

  91. Gil, your friendly Mexican Buddhist said,

    Buddha on Death
    “There is no path in the sky and a monk must find the inner path. All things indeed pass away, but the Buddhas are forever in eternity.”

    Buddha says life is suffering, caused by desire. To end the suffering, we must end desire. From a greater perspective, death causes pain because of our desire for life. We fear death because we hold onto life. Here, the folly of attachment is brought into the sharpest relief, because we know the body is as sure to die as it was born. Death is all around us. We will die and all the people we love will die. Understood this way, the only sensible course of action seems to be to seek that state where death cannot follow: Nirvana, the state of being awake. This is how Buddhism addresses the issue of death, and it has an intuitive, practical logic to it.
    Light up and contemplate my brethren

  92. Linda said,

    Well TC didn’t say “sucks”, that was my own brilliant analysis. He said the part about the pitchere

  93. Linda said,

    Now THAT’s profound

  94. LaFlamme said,

    Wait, you’re saying I’m going to die?

  95. K2 said,

    Shit, Buddha can’t even see his own prick when he’s pissing.

    I do like how he laughed at those who thought he was immortal, then he up and died on their asses.

  96. Gil said,

    K2 if you ever had an original thought you wouldn’t know what to do with it.
    The whole point of the Buddha’s teachings is not that one be immortal, but that one be aware, or in this case, awake.
    -Watchfulness is the path of immortality: unwatchfulness is the path of death. Those who are watchful never die: those who do not watch are already as dead.
    The Buddhist definition of Nirvana cannot be defined as “something” because it is for all practical purposes, beyond any concept that you can comprehend. You can only describe Nirvana by labelling it as to what it is not. Hence the “Nothingness” that you so childishly mock.
    The closest definition would be death, since it is the only concept that comes close to being as undefinable.
    And your history of the Buddha and his teachings, life, and death, are immature, and irrelevant.
    From his death bed to his disciples
    “Make yourself a light. Rely upon yourself: do not depend on anyone else. Make my teachings your light… My disciples, my last moment has come, but do not forget that death is only the end of the physical body. The body was born from parents and was nourished by food; just as inevitable are sickness and death. But the true Buddha is not a human body: -it is Enlightenment. A human body must die, but the Wisdom of Enlightenment will exist forever in truth and in practice….”
    So there

  97. Gil said,

    The “fat buddha” is Hotei, and he is considered “a” buddha to the chinese. In China, Hotei is the god of good fortune and the guardian of children. His overly round shape indicates abundance of inner wealth. In fact, he was a real person- Ch’i tz’u, a 10th century Zen monk who wandered throughout China.

  98. K2 said,

    I was fucking kidding, Gil. But I guess your bipolar disorder prevented you from seeing that.

  99. K2 said,

    Or your a nasty drunk. Probably both.

  100. Mainetarr said,

    Ch’i’tz’u-isn’t that a little white dog? Just kidding, I’m not that stupid….

  101. K2 said,

    Fuck, I made one joke about good ol’ Buddha’s gut and I got lambasted.

    And my second line in #95 was misinterpreted entirely. It was pro-Buddha.

    Me so sorry. Me no have wisdom. Me feel shame. Me also wish Buddhists be less confrontational, accusatory and condescending.

Leave a Reply

