Bloody Mary and so on

June 14, 2006 at 12:09 am (Uncategorized)

broken_mirror.jpg

I like to believe there really is an escaped lunatic out there with a hook for a hand. I like to believe he roams the lovers lanes of America looking for young couples who are being really, really naughty. And I like to believe that, now and then, the fiend falls to pieces when one of those freaked out Romeos tears out of the lot with the killer's hook dangling from the car door.

I like to believe a bereaved mother lives inside every mirror in the world. And if you stand before the looking glass, uttering "Bloody Mary, Bloody Mary. I killed your child" not once, not twice, but thrice, the deranged woman will come lunging out of the glass to drag you to doom.

I like to believe the calls are coming from inside the house. I like to believe that little Mikey from the Life Cereal commercials snapped, crackled and popped to his death while munching pop rocks with coke. I like to believe stuffing your mouth with pennies will throw a police breathlyzer test off the charts and thus, render it inadmissable in court.

Human fingers have been plucked from the throats of dobermans after home break-ins. A young geek's zits have erupted and tiny spiders have crawled out. The coffins of various famous people have been exhumed to reveal claw marks on the lids and lightning has restored sight to the blind.

Urban legends have always worked because we want to believe. And yet, feeble effort is exerted by this new band of story teller who spreads his tales over the Internet rather than the school playground. These days, the weavers of wild tales rely on mathematics rather than taut prose to spread rumors like infection.

If you flash your headlights at a high-beaming motorist coming at you, you will likely get shot, because it's part of a new gang initiation. Gassing up your car could kill you because a sadistic fiend is placing vials of infectious disease in the handgrips of the nozzle. A madman is posing as a police officer in [Your Town], USA and raping the women he pulls over.

Yawns all around. The World Wide Web is killing rather than enhancing the timeless telling of urban legends. These tales spread quicker, it's true. But they are diluted and weak. And they compete with million dollar promises from Nigerian princes, creams that will make your penis grown to inner tube proportions, low rate mortgages, and master's degrees that can be bought for a buck and a quarter.

Bring back the guy with a hook for a hand, I say. Bring back the ghostly hitchhiker, specteral in her prom dress, at the side of the road in [Small Town], USA. She's out there every prom night, year after year, you know. Tell us once again about the guy who died, turned blue, and swelled up to an enormous size in his car after he was scratched by his Siamese cat. And I'd like to hear again from the dude whose baby alligator grew into a 15 foot eating machine of the sewers after it was flushed wee and harmless down the toilet.

Seriously, man. Give me anything. Because otherwise, I'll start chanting "Bloody Mary, Bloody Mary" into the computer screen and then we'll all be screwed.

150 Comments

  1. Omnius said,

    About seven years ago, as I was twelve or younger at the time, I was not only still a member of AOL but proud of it, I was sent one of these stories by way of chain letter, and it managed to truly frighten me and give me nightmares, and with the exception of Lovecraft himself, Derleth and the other Cthulhu writers failed at this, no other stories or events from the waking world have inspired me to have nightmares, at least not that I can remember.

    The story was about a girl who was left home alone, and told to lock all the doors and windows in the house. She of course, failed to lock one. Later that night, she was woken to the sound of dripping, and when she went to investigate she found her dog, dead and skinned, dripping blood, hanging from the shower in her bathroom.

    This was a disturbingly beautiful combination of old traditions: It was a chain letter and an urban myth, and it demanded both that I send it on to others and I pay heed to the moral of locking doors and windows.

  2. Omnius said,

    I’m not sure, but I think that the gator in Lake Placid actually started out as a pet that was flushed down the toilet, at least that’s what my friend’s brother’s girlfriend’s cousin’s classmate’s father heard from the guy who delivered coffee to the director once.

  3. LaFlamme said,

    Bad things happen to dogs in urban legends, don’t they?

  4. Omnius said,

    I decided to go ahead and try chanting “Bloody Mary” into the screen of my mother’s old computer while doing maintenance. Nothing happened, so I resumed trying to fix her system. Upon touching the mouse, the Blue Screen of Death appeared.

    Curious, if meaningless.

  5. LaFlamme said,

    You’ve got more guts than me, Ominus. I may scoff at urban legends as a rule. But with a gun to my head, I would not chant “Bloody Mary, Bloody Mary, I killed your child” before a mirror. Does that make me weird?
    No, really. Does it?

  6. LaFlamme said,

    Commercial interruption!
    For more on Bloody Mary, see Snopes, as you should any time you find yourself presented with a notion too fantastic to be believed (dumbasses).
    http://www.snopes.com/horrors/ghosts/bloodymary.asp

  7. Omnius said,

    Or you could always go straight to the true source, and ask Fox Mulder on MySpace.
    http://www.myspace.com/xfiles_mulder

  8. Omnius said,

    So apparently neither one of us sleeps. Chronic insomnia on my end. Strange schedule, or what’s got you up at the witching hour?

  9. LaFlamme said,

    I know these bloggers. They will postulate we’re the same person. And I’m not so sure they’ll be wrong. Mother of God! My alternate personality seems so real!
    I may have had a cocktail.

  10. Anonymous said,

    I’ve been struck by the “same-person” theory on many forums before, especially George Clinton.

  11. Omnius said,

    And there is the problem of switching computers. I went from my desktop to my laptop, and forgot to fill in the forms again. The previous “Anonymous” post was mine.

  12. Martha said,

    I’m almost always here at this hour. Only thing is, usually by the time I wander in the Lost Sole is deserted.

  13. Martha said,

    LOL.. the only time I get “mistaken” for someone else is when I’m trying to tell Jean the same truth everyone else has tried to tell him/her.

  14. Omnius said,

    That A Flock of Seagulls aren’t going to make a comeback?

  15. Linda said,

    You know, Mark, you’re right that we all know the stories and they don’t have the “punch.” Overexposure? Maybe. Reading scary stories on the screen is nothing like hearing them around a campfire with dark woods at your back, or inside a little tent with the sleeping bag zipped right up for safety.

    Martha, are you still squabbling with that old reprobate Jean? I had to give up reading it because it made my head ache and my palms tingle.

  16. Gil said,

    So I tried drinking Bloody Mary’s in front of the mirror like you said, and then hitchiked with a hook-handed prom queen, but so far I have been unable to find a spider with zits, or a fat blue siamese car. I think next time I’ll try the other stuff first and save the Bloody Mary’s for last.

  17. Martha said,

    Linda, sometimes its just too easy to bait Jean. I just can’t resist.

    • Dayana said,

      uu, wonderful – and all the poi.lbiiitsess.. jewelry boxes! pearls and buttons! fishing lures! lego pieces! spices!I know what to make for Christmas gifts this year 😀 THANK YOU THANK YOU!

  18. Linda said,

    Or, Gil — never mind the other stuff and just go with more Bloody Marys. That could bring its own kind of horror.

  19. jarheaddoc said,

    I have always doubted the story of the soldier in the civil war soldier whose testicles was shot off, carried across a field, entered the abdomen of a woman, impregnated her, and they later married and had a bunch of kids. The guy needed some serious education if he thought he had to get a nut (literally!) shot off to reproduce!

    It would have demanded a long and twisted and totally non-understandable explanation from Seinfeld

  20. Linda said,

    Feeling any better today, jd?

    I never heard that story. i would have doubted it too.

  21. jarheaddoc said,

    Yes, I am feeling better today, and TYFA. Antibiotics and motrin are wonderful things.

    I see that the Herbivore has raised its ugly head again. Somewhere in there I see an urban legend about a lost sole who can’t find a home in any blog because can’t recall which incarnation of itself committed suicide and which one decided it was Lazarus and resurrected the other one.

  22. jarheaddoc said,

    That and I always feel better once I have put the kids on the school bus for the day. My idyllic world is about the be shattered by the urban legend that rears its ugly head every year at this time: SUMMER FUCKING VACATION. And that one we can prove

  23. "The Weasel" said,

    Thank you sir… I’ll have another…

  24. AO said,

    Better make sure you have some Rolaid’s to go along with that Pepper Sauce, Weasel.

  25. jarheaddoc said,

    And maybe a fire extinguisher to put out the flame that will shoot out your ass when you fart.

  26. K2 said,

    Ah, Bloody Mary. Burned Protestants at the stake just for fun. Now that’s mean.

  27. jarheaddoc said,

    And probably laughed like hell about it at the bar afterwards, when she hoisted one with coconspirators of whatever persuasion they might have been. Not that that’s anything wrong with that….

  28. Linda said,

    No nothing at all !!

    Today’s my busiest day of the week, can’t even stop and chat now even though it’s lunchtime. Wish I had summer vacation like the kids ! (Not to rub salt in the wounds, jd, I’m not in that kind of mood today, not yet at least)

  29. LaFlamme said,

    Yeah. But what about those legends that turn out to be true? Like the murder victims concealed in the box springs of motel beds.

  30. Linda said,

    what could be scarier than a big sink hole in the middle of your city? That’s freaking me out a bit.

    And by the way I really liked your column today, Mark. All that dreamy Shangri-La talk — it was all i could do to get it together and go to work, after reading it. Imagination can be time-consuming.

    But that’s all over for me now, until tomorrow.

  31. AO said,

    I liked it too. I was able to read it between customers. I sure wish I could get a look at the newest sink hole. But, not too closely! Who knows? Maybe we’ll find some old remnants of the “old” Lisbon St. down there. 🙂

  32. Linda said,

    I see Wilton had a Shangri-La and a sink hole too, was that my Wilton? So I’m in the right place at the wrong time?

    Dialing up tonight, you’ll all have to carry on without me.

    MT, curls? how are they? Does the HOUSEBROKEN 7 week old puppy still recognize you?

  33. Mainetarr said,

    Just got home, PERFECT curls, not too little not to much!! Stinky though. Phew! LOL
    The hair came out great!! I am super happy about it.

    Puppy is doing great, still no boo boos. Gotta love it. He is so funny. Last night at 10:30 he climbed the stairs and went into the crate and fell asleep. Too friggen cute.

  34. AO said,

    I hate the smell of a perm! Yuck. Can’t wait to see your new “do” MT!

  35. Mainetarr said,

    Yeah, it reeks, even MiloTarr won’t cuddle I reek so bad. Phew!

  36. jarheaddoc said,

    You got them gloves on tonight, MT?

  37. Linda said,

    It’s all up to you tonight, MT. Don’t let them get away with any shit. I’m not here.

  38. Linda said,

    You know, feel free to intimidate them if that’s what it takes. I’ve got your back.

  39. jarheaddoc said,

    Ain’t skeered t’all!

  40. Mainetarr said,

    Listen here JD, I am not afraid of you. Besides, if I wanted to hear an asshole, I have milo fart.

  41. Linda said,

    An excellent opening salvo MT

  42. Mainetarr said,

    That little shit doesn’t want to start it with me. Grumpy old man.

  43. jarheaddoc said,

    I got worms, too, MT!

  44. jarheaddoc said,

    That’s why I asked if you had the gloves on….

  45. Mainetarr said,

    JD, you missed a good one. A few of the guys from our class and Penny went to lunch today at Davinci’s. Penny dropped something and leaned over in her chair and it went out from under her. She landed on the floor. Too freaking funny.

    You finally get that motor fixed or are you going to end up putting the boat on skis and using it for a sled?

  46. Bobbie said,

    I’m glad to hear that your hair experience went better than mine did.

  47. Linda said,

    Touche! A worthy opponent for MT

  48. Mainetarr said,

    Yeah, I’ve heard all about your worm, I am all set with that. Keep that bad boy in yer pants. Ok?

  49. jarheaddoc said,

    Aren’t you supposed to be in dial up hell, Linda? I’ll fight the both of yous, but I’ll just type slower for you, Linda!

  50. Linda said,

    whats up with your hair, Bobbie?

  51. Mainetarr said,

    What happened to your hair Bobbie? Recent bad experience?

  52. Linda said,

    You bastard. I’ll be taking a second mortgage to pay the freakin bill.

  53. jarheaddoc said,

    Ya know, MT, if you could paddle as fast as you shovel shit, we could break a record of some sort, I’m sure

  54. Mainetarr said,

    Damn JD, if he ain’t trying to get you to talk about his worm, he wants to show you his hose. Sick bastard.

  55. jarheaddoc said,

    Na-na-na-na!

  56. Linda said,

    jd, you just shut up or no more secrets for you. AND you’ll have AO on your case too.

  57. Linda said,

    No MT, I think he wants us to talk about his canoe underwear, yet again. Cheap thrills.

  58. jarheaddoc said,

    God is dviding bodily parts between Adam and Eve and Adam pushes Eve aside, grabs the penis, and runs off. “Well, Eve,” God says, “I guess that means you get the uterus and have to suffer with childbearing and periods and all that other stuff.

    “that’s fine, God,” Eve says as she takes the brain, “because that stupid fuck isn’t coming anywheres near me with that thing after what I just saw him do with it.”

  59. Mainetarr said,

    yeah, where is AO? My long lost friend that I never see or hear from anymore?!? Where are you?

    Look JD, the only shit around here is the stuff in between your ears, Mister.

  60. Linda said,

    Another urban legend? I love the way you try to stayon topic in spite of your short attention span.

  61. jarheaddoc said,

    I told you the one good urban legend I knew and I stumped you on that. Guess if you had spent more time goofing off in social studies instead of reading the book, you’d know about things like that!

  62. Mainetarr said,

    Top Ten Lies told by Paramedics

    1) Its not my fault, he kept moving.
    2) This might stick a little.
    3) I did say clear first.
    4) I know where I’m going.
    5) It’s OK, I’ll cut along the seams.
    6) The ambulance is clean.
    7) It’s the flu, not a hangover
    8) The gloves are for your protection.
    9) The patient refused the treatment.
    10) I am in it for the money

  63. Bobbie said,

    I decided that it was time to get the mess chopped. That’s the last time that I try to get my hair done the way my husband wants it to look. And yes, I had to go back to the house and do some chopping so that I wouldn’t look totally stupid. The photos from the Jack Daniel’s tour was just posted, so I’ll e-mail you and Linda a copy. Please don’t laugh too hard, ok?

  64. jarheaddoc said,

    Okay, I’m going to draw a picture for you with words, MT. Shit=fertilizer, fertilizer makes things grow, good ideas come from shit. You got that?

  65. Linda said,

    I was busy passing notes and writing in my diary.

  66. Mainetarr said,

    A woman frantically calls the fire department to report a fire in the neighborhood.
    The dispatcher asks, “How do we get there?”
    Confused she replies, “Don’t you still have those little red fire trucks?”

  67. Linda said,

    Omigod, Bobbie, big mistake. Let me count the ways. But lets see the pictures, sure.

  68. Mainetarr said,

    Yeah, ok shit for brains…whatever you say. You should try cleaning your ears real deep. Maybe you’ll get some of that magic shit on the q-tip, then you can put it on your worm. Or do you still clean your ears with your car keys? You should see it, Linda. Looks like he is trying to start his head. Vroooommmm Vrooommmmmm

  69. jarheaddoc said,

    Emergency Medical services axioms to live by:

    All bleeding eventually stops

    If you drop the baby, pick it up

    When in doubt, cut off all the clothing

    Dead people don’t sue, but watch out for the survivors

    Whoever said there was such a thing as a fun call at 0300 never worked a fucking night in his or her life.

    The guy who can fly the desk and save your ass with paperwork cannot drive the truck worth shit

  70. jarheaddoc said,

    Bobbie, just shave your head. That’ll really fuck him up, won’t it?

  71. Mainetarr said,

    Bobbie, the picture looks good, it’s cuter short on you, I like it. Makes you look younger. You look like one of the kids in that picture.

  72. Bobbie said,

    I like it short too, but of course, the husband likes it longer. My response is simple-until it grows on your head, there isn’t much that you can say about what I decide to do with it. Are you sure that perm didn’t do some damage somewhere along the line with the remark about looking like one of the kids?!

    Please don’t give me anymore ideas than i already have on the subject, JD. That thought did cross my mind when I sat down in the chair.

  73. Bobbie said,

    The brain damage remark was directed at MT.

  74. jarheaddoc said,

    Hey, whatever happened to your little buddy, ToadAcne or whatever it called itself? You seemed to be doing a lot of laughing at me the other day over all that horse hooey

  75. Bobbie said,

    I have no idea who you’re talking about, JD. I just got the internet back on yesterday morning and just came back from vacation on Monday evening. If anyone was laughing at you over something, it wasn’t me.

  76. jarheaddoc said,

    It was a couple weeks ago. there was you and and ToadAcne and raging choco fudge boy.

  77. Bobbie said,

    I guess it isn’t too bad when you get one out of three names right. I had nothing to do with that at all. It was all on them. Did you ever figure out who the raging chocobo person was?

  78. jarheaddoc said,

    Still not a clue on either of them. Shit, they could be your fucking kids for all I know

  79. Bobbie said,

    If you have no clue, then why did you post AS-40 one day?

  80. jarheaddoc said,

    It must’ve been my evil twin stepbrother from another deimension

  81. Bobbie said,

    Then I guess you’d better tell him to get his own name for the blog then. Otherwise, you’re going to be blamed for more crap than you actually do.

  82. Linda said,

    jd, we all laugh at you here, don’t we? How’s Bobbie supposed to know who you are talking about?

    Bobbie, great picture, nothing to laugh at, but of course if you’re in it I have no idea where.

  83. jarheaddoc said,

    at least I stand up for what I say and I dont back trip on my own feet trying to backtrack on something stupid.

  84. Mainetarr said,

    She is in the back, red shirt.

  85. Bobbie said,

    I realized that after I sent you the photo, Linda. I’m in the back row on the left. The hairy looking kid standing beside me is my son. Sorry about that.

  86. Linda said,

    thx MT

  87. Linda said,

    I should have realized, Bobbie, since I saw your son’s picture before. I can’t see it very well here, will look again tomorrow when I am at home.

  88. Linda said,

    Two more work days then I have a week of vacation! Is that ever good news for me.

  89. Mainetarr said,

    Ha! That hairy looking kid…too funny. He sure has some hair, doesn’t he? I bet lots of women wish they had hair like that.

  90. Bobbie said,

    I hope that you enjoy your vacation, Linda. It’s always good to get a break every now and then.

  91. Mainetarr said,

    Hey Linda, I am on vacation next week too. I can hardly wait. Yipppeeee! Maybe we can hook up for lunch one day next week if you are in town.

  92. Bobbie said,

    He does have quite a bit of hair. Some women want the curls and others are just happy to be able to run their fingers thru it a time or two! LOL

  93. Mainetarr said,

    Hey jarhead, you were number 69 in the blog tonight, you pig.

  94. jarheaddoc said,

    I’ll bet Mark would blog the hell out of that meeting. And the picture would probably be mug shots, at best

  95. LaFlamme said,

    You’re all drinking Sterno, aren’t you.

  96. jarheaddoc said,

    Jealous? You were #71, so did you have two fingers in your anal orfice?

  97. Mainetarr said,

    Yeah, such nice curly hair. I just paid $80 for that kind of hair today. Lucky DJ…

  98. jarheaddoc said,

    One to drink and one to keep warm with, mark

  99. Mainetarr said,

    WTF is sterno? I am from Poland and I don’t get out much.

  100. LaFlamme said,

    Here, here. You stand your ground valiantly with the ladies, Jarheaddoc. Me, I’m afraid of them all. There have been beatings in the past I’m not yet ready to talk about.

  101. Blondie said,

    Isn’t a sterno the lady who takes notes in a courtroom?

  102. LaFlamme said,

    Sterno is a fuel used in those canned heat thingies. The true drunk will gladly drink the stuff for its wicked alcohol content. It ain’t bad, neither.

  103. jarheaddoc said,

    Well, it was fun until we started talking about dippity doo and hairstyles, so I will see you all later.

    And MT: shit, I got nuthin’!

  104. Mainetarr said,

    You’d better be afraid Linoge. I am training Milo to attack on the command pinkroom, all one word. He hears pinkroom and it’s all over.

  105. Mainetarr said,

    JD-I win. You shall now bow down and kiss my arse.

  106. Mainetarr said,

    Good night tnuc. Happy working in the shop. It was fun fighting with you. Better luck next time you pussywhipped pansy.

  107. LaFlamme said,

    Milo is my hero. Got a letter from the people at Borders yesterday. They were very happy about the signing and all that. They referred to Milo by name.

  108. Mainetarr said,

    Are you serious? Awwwwwwwwwww, that’s nice!!

  109. AO said,

    I’m really behind. JD, think you’d better kiss MT’s arse! And, from what I can gather, you’re a “pussywhipped pansy” So…get bowing, young man!

  110. Linda said,

    Sterno. Sure, that must be what’s in this glass.

    Lunch MT, sounds like a plan. By Friday I’ll know when I’m getting out of Dodge for a while and when I’ll be around this part of the world.

  111. AO said,

    I was planning on going to that signing but, I had to work. Sniff…my husband HAD to get a haircut. SNIFF!!!

  112. Linda said,

    Hey AO, I sorted out the intimidation thing with my husband: I made him take it back. Did NOT take K2s advice though, that seemed like slaughtering the sheep to get its wool.

  113. Mainetarr said,

    let me know and we can do lunch

  114. LaFlamme said,

    Hey, hey! K2 isn’t here to defend himself. I will not stand by while you people… Oh, alright. Attack K2 with abandon.

  115. AO said,

    I’m glad you sorted things out, Linda. So, did you ever figure out WHY he said you intimadate others? Did you ever check his mail???

  116. Linda said,

    No Mark, I liked K2s advice when he gave it, but when push came to shove, or to grab, whatever … as I say, it seemed counterproductive. I’m on a rehabilitation plan, not planning to attack anyone but jd, and maybe eventually not even him. We’ll see.

  117. Bobbie said,

    Don’t feel bad, Linda. My husband says that I intimidate people all the time.

  118. Linda said,

    Nah, we pretty scrupulously don’t check each others mail. On the basis that we’d just as soon stay married and not have any reasons to kill each other, so why go looking for trouble?

  119. Bobbie said,

    If you stop attacking JD, he’s going to think that you’re mad at him. he lives for your insults, Linda. You give his gray matter some badly needed exercise some days. Keep up the good work!

  120. AO said,

    Because…trouble can be fun?? 🙂

  121. Linda said,

    Actually now that i think about it, the only mail yesterday was a thank you card from my niece who graduated, so i don’t see how it could have been the mail. Oh well, I may never know. Who can figure out what goes on in the minds of men?

  122. AO said,

    Bobbie, I’m so glad to see you back. I’ve been watching tv with my kids all night. Red Soxs..and, some AFI show on CBS…hey..whatever it takes to be a good mom! Ha. But, seriously, it’s the end of the school year and…I’m just going with the flow. I’m one tired “Mother”.

  123. Bobbie said,

    Some days, it’s better not to know what’s going on in the minds of men.

    Mark, check your home and work e-mail.

  124. Linda said,

    Yeah Bobbie, he’s a worthy opponent.

    AO, there are lots of kinds of trouble, and the reading each other’s mail kind isn’t usually fun. I stick with the fun kinds, there are plenty of those.

    Once he phoned me at work to ask me if I knew who put some jazz CD, I forget which, in with the classical music CDs. Believe me, we had lots of trouble over that, AND fun.

  125. Linda said,

    Gotta go — thanks for the company! See you tomorrow

  126. Bobbie said,

    Have a good night, Linda.

  127. Bobbie said,

    I guess I’m going to call it a night as well. I have a few letters that I need to answer/write tonight. I may check in later.

  128. Dave said,

    I don’t know how I ended up here, but this blog must certainly break some records for the number of comments…

    Mark – Keep up the good work with the writing. I enjoy it. I’ve got your book for sale on my site as an Amazon affiliate.

    While I’m here, I’ll also do a shameless plug for my new site, called http://www.lamaine.com. It’s still in the beginning stages, but the idea is for it to be a community website written by, um, the community. Preferably about things related to Lewiston-Auburn, but I’m quite flexible.

    Mark – I realize you’ve got a gig with the Sun-Journal, and probably aren’t available, but if others you know are interested in contributing blog-style writings, send them my way.

    While I’m recruiting writers, I have also started a LAmaine TriviaShock challenge game. LA trivia about sports, politics, history, etc. Win a whopping $15 if you’re the best.

    Anyways… this message wasn’t intended to be spam. I was looking around for “community” websites related to the LA area, and didn’t find anything except for this one. (and the Sun Journal).

    Hope this post doesn’t offend anybody.

    Cheers.

  129. Martha said,

    Dave, come join in whenever you can. We’re basically a friendly bunch. I used to live in that area, but not anymore.. just enjoy the fun. Might check out your trivia later though.

  130. Mainetarr said,

    Dave, come over anytime and I am sure we will be interested in your website as well. Good luck with it. Are you going to have the Lewiston Anthem playing as background music? Since Auburn doesn’t have an Anthem, you can just play the old tune “Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Better” for our Anthem.

  131. Bobbie said,

    Dave, another invite to join us whenever the mood hits you. I grew up in the LA area but now live in a different part of the country and will be checking out your site. Good luck with it.

  132. Linda said,

    Hi Dave, sounds like fun, I’ll check out your site when I get home. Come play on this blog too — it’s nice to know there’s somebody out there besides LaFlamme who stays up later than 10:30.

  133. Dave said,

    Thanks… I will try to make it here more often. I don’t know if I can read all the comments though….

  134. Lele said,

    ummm.ya this seems lyk relii scary but on new years eve. just recently …2006-2007 , i stayed the night at my friend Kaylas house and there was Me,Kayla.her brother.and two other little girls…and we played bloody mary in front of the mirror and nothing happened!
    srry but to just let you kno

  135. hannah said,

    Wr you rilly killed by your siteter.

  136. charlie means said,

    i just dont whant to get killed im afrade to to play the game with bloody mary i just wonder if its true and candy man i herde he is a merior bud to bloody mary and he comes and makes boiling water in the tub and throws the guy in it and drouns them in the water some one needs to help theese peopol

  137. jenny and alexandria said,

    PEOPLE OF THE WORLD WHO TRIES THE BLOODY MARY THIND I’M TELLING YOU DON’T COUSE ME AND MY FRIEND WERE LOOKING AT SCARY STORIES AND YOU MIGHT GET KILLED SO IF YOU YOU DO YOU WILL MIGHT SE HER WITH A KNIFE WAILKING DOWN THE STAIRS AND THAT MEANS YOU WILL GET KILLED BUT IF SHE HAS A ROSE AND A TEDDY BEAR YOU WILL NOT GET KILLED BUT STILL DO NOT DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU WILL GET YOUR SELF KILLED IF YOU DO IT SO DON’T!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  138. stephen said,

    i dont belivine bloody mary!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!she is a myth!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!do it!!!you wont dye i promis!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!you can still belive but she is not true im telling you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!and by the way get gutar hero!!its aswome.

  139. jessica said,

    is bloody mary real or not ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

  140. Tamia grfiifin said,

    HOW COME IN EVERY SCHOOL YEAR THERE IS ALWAYS A NEW STORY ABOUT BLOODY MARY ?! BUT I JUST WANNA KNOW THE TRUTH IS SHE REAL OR NOT?! ONE STORY WAS THAT SHE KILLED HERSELF IN A BATHROOM NOW SHE HUNTS THE GIRLS BATHROOM THE OTHER STORY WAS HER BOYFRIND KILT HER IN THE BATHROOM

  141. FUTI said,

    I HATE BLOODY MARY

  142. XONI said,

    I HATE BLOODY MARY WITH ALL MY HEART I DONT WHANT TO HEAR MORE ABOUT HER FACKEN STORY GO TE HELL BLOODY MARY FUCK YOU

  143. Anonymous said,

    fuck bloody mary

  144. Edgar Allan Poe's number 1 fan said,

    i said “bloody may bloody mary i killed your child” like 20 time, and, NOTHING HAPPENED! which just shows bloody mary is not real!!!! (i also said i hate bloody mary 20 times, and i don’t beleive in bloody mary 20 time)

  145. Edgar Allan Poe's number 1 fan said,

    the TRUE story of bloody mary is …

    Bloody Mary was a witch who lived in a little cottage deep in the woods and practiced dark magic for a living. She was known to cause grief for her neighbors, making their children sick, causing livestock to die and crops to dry up amongst other events. The witch did a lot of horrible things but mostly she was ignored until little girls started disappearing from the town. Of course, everyone’s suspicions turned to the witch but she denied everything. The families were so desperate to find their children that some went to her creepy house to search for them. Of course there was no proof that she took the girls but things started to get more suspicious when all the villagers noticed she was getting younger and more attractive.

    Then one night, the miller’s daughter woke up out of her sleep and was walked outside following a humming sound. The miller’s wife was downstairs in the kitchen when she saw her daughter in a trance walking towards outside. She screamed and woke up her husband and together they tried to restrain their daughter but couldn’t hold her back. The daughter walked to the edge of the town and by now all the neighbors heard the screams and followed to help the parents rescue their daughter. One of the farmers pointed towards a light in the edge of the woods. They realized it was Bloody Mary glowing while she pointed a magic wand and put an evil curse on the miller’s house.

    The townsmen all saw her and grabbed their weapons to put an end to her evil. When she saw the people running towards her, her concentration on the spell was broken and she tried to run back into the woods. One of the farmers loaded his gun with a silver bullet and shot Bloody Mary in the hip where she fell to the ground. All the angry villagers carried her limp body back to the field and burned her at the stake. As she was burning, she muttered an evil spell to all the townspeople. If anyone said her name out loud in front of a mirror, her evil spirit would come back and get revenge by causing the one who spoke her name to die horribly.. After she was dead, the villagers went to her cottage in the woods and found the graves of the missing little girls and discovered she was using their blood to make her younger.

    From that day on, anyone who chants Bloody Mary three times infront of a darkended mirror will call the spirit of the witch. She will then tear the bodies of her victims to shreds and rip their souls from their mutilated bodies. They will be trapped forever in the mirror and their souls will burn in agony like she once did.

    I retold the story from an adult point of view talking to the children sitting around the campfire. I told it like it was a real event that happened back in the day to someone close to the family to make it more believable. I have always been fascinated by the story of Bloody Mary and one of my favorite movies is Candyman which is based on the Bloody Mary story. Bloody Mary is such a classic horror story that never gets old and makes children lose sleep everytime it is retold. Of course every generation adds or takes out details but this site seemed to be credible and have the original details. I am not used to hearing about the witch part of the story but I did not change any details in this version.

  146. Edgar Allan Poe's number 1 fan said,

    BLOODY MARY AIN”T REAL
    (if she is she is DEAD!)

  147. LaFlamme said,

    Get thee to the new and improved Screaming Room at http://www.marklaflamme.com/blog

  148. dj said,

    fhfhjthyjkgjukgjukghjkfykfyukfhjkygioyikuyuiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

  149. uuu said,

    jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj

Leave a Reply

