Our brains on drugs

July 13, 2006 at 1:22 am (Uncategorized)

drugsfotoverkleind.jpg

When I was a teenager, I checked a book out of the library and went home to study it. The name of the book was “Illegal Street Drugs,” or something equally expansive. As you might expect, it was a book describing all of the nasty pharmecuticals out there and the havoc they were known to wreak.

For me it was a menu. I had already discovered the limitless panacea of alcohol and now it was time to move on to the hard stuff. I have no idea how many young people actually use a text book to choose their drugs of choice, but that’s what I did. I read up on marijuana, LSD, cocaine, heroin, PCP, hash, peyote and amphetamines and studied them all as though I were cramming for an exam. Then I went out to a place called Scum Field, found my favorite dealer, and placed my order.

I won’t tell you what I chose as appetizer and main course. But I can tell you I steered very deliberately away from the hallucinogens. I wanted to get either wired or mellow. I didn’t want to hear colors and see sounds. I didn’t want to swat at giant bats for the remainder of the day and I sure as hell did not desire to see flesh melting from my bones.

I know some of you have rich experiences with psychedelic. I suspect a few of you are on acid every day. And I’m pretty sure that anyone with even a passing familiarity with street drugs could have clued the Wall Street Journal into this breaking story decades ago.

Scientists said a substance in certain mushrooms induced powerful, mind-altering experiences among a group of well-educated, middle-aged men and women. The study could revive interest in researching the effects of psychedelic drugs.

Coming up next! Two decades after the CIA introduced crack cocaine into the streets of Philidelphia, experts say the drug may be dangerous and addicting.

96 Comments

  1. jarheaddoc said,

    The term ‘expert’ kills me. I interpret it to mean that the person is highly educated, but by no means smart. “I can make ’em smart, but that doesn’t mean I can make them think’

  2. Crystal said,

    Hey Mark,
    I know this is off subject, but it seems to happen frequently in here so…
    Did you watch Fraser last night??? Niles finally got Daphne! Yeah!!! I hate it, I was actually tearing up watching last night.
    Had to ask due to previous postings!!

  3. Mainetarr said,

    Ahhhhhh, magic mushrooms. I have tried them a time or ten. My face hurt for two days from the perma grin and constant laughter. What a good time….Good thing they taste like shit or everyone would be munching them all the time.

    The first time I tried them, I knew nothing about them, only that they would make me laugh. My buddy went in a house, bought a baggie half full of them and we took off. We stopped at a store for sodas and he said, go ahead, start and I’ll be right out with soda. Well, not knowing, I ate all of them. Yeah, that was some trip. LOL

  4. LaFlamme said,

    Yeah, Crystal. I saw the Daphne episode. About friggin time. Don’t let that get around, though. I’m supposed to be chasing crime or writing horror novels in the wee hours. If people discover I’m actually eating chocolate covered cherries and watching Frasier, I’m finished.

  5. LaFlamme said,

    Where the hell are all you crack smokers? It’s damn quiet in here. It’s killing my buzz.

  6. Oopsy said,

    I dont know about any frackin cruck, but I do remember when my brother tried to grow magic mushrooms. They all got mildewed and died. Sigh. Back to weed………

  7. LaFlamme said,

    Whoa, you can grow those things locally? Screw the perennials. Let’s grown shrooms and share them with the blog.

  8. Bulldog said,

    shrooms WERE one of my favorite drugs of choice. You get high like pot (but without the munchies and zoned out effect) and you get a burst of energy like you’ve done an 8ball of cocaine (without the pocketbook getting hurt). Ahhhh, those were the days…

    I didn’t know you could actually grow them. Where was I during that People, Places and Plants class??!!

  9. LaFlamme said,

    Bulldog, you don’t need drugs. You’re naturally stoned.
    Give me a call sometime, dammit.

  10. Bulldog said,

    yea, yea, wuteva- why, do you miss me?

  11. Bulldog said,

    Wait a minute. I know why- you want some vikes, don’t you?

  12. LaFlamme said,

    Yes! Dammit, I’m having withdrawal seizures.

  13. Bulldog said,

    Glad to see things are still the same. Keep beggin’ baby– keep beggin’

  14. LaFlamme said,

    You still have my number, doncha?

  15. Bulldog said,

    I just emailed you a request for your numba. I lost my cell phone, along with all my important numbers that I didn’t know by heart…

  16. LaFlamme said,

    C’mon baby. I gots to have it. Gimme some of that yum yum. I need it, baby.

  17. AO said,

    Bulldog! Where the hell have you been?

    No drugs for me. The strongest thing I ever did was smoke some pot. Now, I’m just a wine lover.

  18. LaFlamme said,

    In vino veritas.

  19. Bulldog said,

    You are a sick, sick puppy Mike. :o)

  20. Bulldog said,

    I’m here AO!! really, it’s me! I missed you long time….

    • Latesha said,

      Billmonk importer dos;&n#8217et work that well. It gets the data but calculations were messed up. Please test it with huge number of transactions for people who were using billmonk for past 4 years or so. Some feature request:1. If there is a way you can add some billmonk features like spliting between friends without making a house group or something.2. Shuffle feature like billmonk has, that owuld be a great addition.

  21. LaFlamme said,

    I was going to ask Bulldog for a verification code. The vikes served that purpose.

  22. Bulldog said,

    Aren’t you supposed to be getting ready for work? Go take your cold shower…

  23. LaFlamme said,

    Precisely.

  24. Mainetarr said,

    Hey Bulldog, welcome back. Man, were you missed. Finally, another smartass in the blog. Thank God!

  25. LaFlamme said,

    Yeah. And notice how she appeared as soon as drugs were mentioned. The crank head.

  26. Mainetarr said,

    YEAH, I noticed that. You should have done a blog on Captain Morgan, she would have been back a month ago. LOL

    Love you Bulldog.

  27. Linda said,

    Ah!! Hash. Loved that stuff. But that was a long time ago.

  28. LaFlamme said,

    Mmmmm. Corned beef hash.

  29. Linda said,

    Sure, Mark. In a sweet little pipe.

  30. Robert said,

    I’ll just have to have some more brownies laced with (fill in the blanks)…its all good!

  31. Cynthia said,

    Just some vicodin for me, thanks…

  32. LaFlamme said,

    Ah, another vicodin fan. It is a beautiful class of drugs, isn’t it? Painkillers, sedatives. All good.

  33. AO said,

    Hmm…mine was a sweet little rosewood pipe. I bought it at the Grand Orange on Lisbon St. Anybody here remember that place? Too bad you missed it, Mark. You’d have loved it.

  34. AO said,

    HEY!! I’ve never had the pleasure of experiencing Vicodin. Somebody share the joy with me!! I need it! I mean, face, the love of the grape can only do so much!

  35. Linda said,

    Mine was from Kenmore Square. From a basement shop with beads in the doorway. I was on my way to a party — nowadays I’d buy a couple of bottles of wine, but at the time a new pipe and a little foil packet seemed like the right kind of gift to bring. I liked the pipe so much i kept it. I may have kept the hash too, if there was any left, can’t really remember.

  36. LaFlamme said,

    Bulldog’s the vicodin connection. But she’s mine, I tells you! Mine!

  37. LaFlamme said,

    The head shop on Lisbon? Last I heard, it was called something else. Hell, I don’t even know if it’s still there.

  38. Mandy, the obit writer said,

    AO, my lone experience with Vicodin was not quite pleasurable. It was prescribed to me after I had my wisdom teeth extracted and it turned out I had a bit of an allergy to it.

  39. LaFlamme said,

    Oh, for the love of… Way to ruin a perfectly good time. Allergies, bah!

  40. AO said,

    Ha. With my luck, I’d probably have an allergy reaction to Vicodin, too. Thanks for the heads up, Mandy. I’d hate for you to have to write about me!!

  41. Nadine said,

    OH MY FREAKIN GOD!! Pretty sneaky for a crime reporter to try and bag some of us for the sake of a story — quiet night Mark? Hahaha!

    I am soooo staying away from this topic…for fear it may incriminate me.

    Besides, I’m seeing the music right now, laughing like a hyena, doin’ knife tricks, rolling on the coaster, wired, hungry and tired…

    Pass the chips man…

  42. LaFlamme said,

    Hey, I incriminate myself as much as anybody. In fact, as I write, I’m injecting heroin right into my eyeballs. Smuggled it in from Lawrence via camel.

  43. AO said,

    I want to know where K2 is tonight. This is the type of blog he’d be all over. I KNOW he’d have a million drug related stories to tell to us. K2…where are you??

  44. Mainetarr said,

    K2 has left the building. I think he is gone out to check his blinker fluid.

  45. LaFlamme said,

    What’s the blinker fluid connection? I’ve heard that before, but I forget what it references.

  46. Mainetarr said,

    I have never seen heroin, wouldn’t have a clue as to what it is. And where is Bulldog?
    Here girl, come on ***Whistles loudly*** Come on Bulldog….the queen beeotch is back. Long live the queen.

  47. Mainetarr said,

    He tried to get us to go outside and check his blinker fluid (get baked would be my guess).

  48. LaFlamme said,

    Wow. Subtle.

  49. LaFlamme said,

    One wonders whose leg Bulldog is humping tonight.

  50. Mainetarr said,

    Fucking Vermont. Some guy admitted to sexually abusing a 10 year old boy for a long time and he gets sentenced to 60 days. WTF is going on in that state? Are they all a bunch of idiots? They have to get these Asshats off the bench.

    Ok, back on subject….pass the vino this way, AO.

    Guess who’s not coming to breakfast? Red Buttons, 87, died today.

  51. Mainetarr said,

    Ok, I am rambling, just tell me to shut up. Where is Nadine, my e-mail haiku pal? Oh Nadine, you closet druggie….where are you?

  52. LaFlamme said,

    She’s afraid we’re all narks. Which we’re not. *secret handshake*

  53. Thaifood Teena said,

    drugs are bad for you
    they make you silly and dumb
    like some bloggers are

  54. Mainetarr said,

    Mark LaFlamme.

  55. Mainetarr said,

    The infamous Mark LaFlamme. Let’s pick up Nadine, give her a radio and go riding around Kennedy Park.

  56. Mainetarr said,

    I have 4 radios, how many do you have? Let’s get a bunch and plan a night to go touring. What a riot that would be. We can use our blogger names.

  57. Mainetarr said,

    And we can hurl single shoes at unsuspecting parking meters. Or we can look at how the light poles all bend in the same direction. What do you think?

  58. LaFlamme said,

    I have four as well. Though now that I think of it, one of them is fried. So that’s… hold on… carry the two… that’s three. I have three radios.

  59. AO said,

    Come get me! I’l love to use one of them there radios. But, I really want to hurl shoes. A Lost Sole hurling a lost sole. Wow…how flucking deep is that?

  60. AO said,

    That’s a Big 10-4 Good Buddy.

  61. jarheaddoc said,

    Oh, boy, in reading these posts, I have come to the conclusion that the stuff Mark is injecting into his eyeballs is really camel shit and he once again wasted his money.

  62. jarheaddoc said,

    Wouldn’t it be appropriate to work that stinky, intoxicated goat into the expedition, too?

  63. AO said,

    Blinker fulied. Ha. Friggen K2.

  64. Martha said,

    LOL JHD… I love it.

  65. LaFlamme said,

    I don’t get the stinky goat concept.

  66. Cynthia said,

    Once, I had the pot.
    It made me silly and dumb.
    But damn, I had fun!

  67. LaFlamme said,

    Mysterious haikus again. It’s bigger than all of us.

  68. Cynthia said,

    Once, I had the pot.
    Then the mushrooms, then with spoon –
    I woke up in stew.

  69. Cynthia said,

    Once, I tried haiku.
    Steeped in overcooked concept
    I didn’t inhale.

  70. LaFlamme said,

    I’m gonna go sniff a sharpie.

  71. Cynthia said,

    Oh man, that sounds good right about now. If only those things came in flesh color, eh?

  72. LaFlamme said,

    Ha! I have no idea what that means. Intriguing thought, though.

  73. Cynthia said,

    Well, since jokes are so much funnier when you explain them, allow me to elaborate….you see, the Sharpie is a rather permanent pen, and with rather…drastic colors. Imagine the resulting size and color of the nostrils should one actually become addicted to the inhaling of Sharpie fumes…I can’t help thinking of that Twilight Zone episode with the doctors with the pig faces,member?

  74. Bulldog said,

    Wow, u guys were on major drugs last night. Thank God I had my own (gotta go re-fill my vikes today). I was busy with my own agenda- couldn’t fit y’all in (bed’s too small)

  75. Cynthia said,

    Wow. Yeah. Except that I hadn’t had any…

  76. LaFlamme said,

    Of COURSE I remember the pig face episode. Claaaaaaaaassic.

  77. jarheaddoc said,

    The stinky goat is a reference to a blog about something, where MT suggested a road trip to visit Martha’s neighbors. as is usually the case on this blog, things ballooned way out of control and we decided to bring a drunk, stinky goat with us. Oh yeah, it was the post about DT’s. I mean, if you’re gonna get impaired in some fashion and wander through the better sections of old Loy-stin, you might as well have some sort of mascot with you.

    But that’s just me talking.

  78. LaFlamme said,

    Ahhhh, I do remember the conversation. My apologies. I have a short attent…

  79. jarheaddoc said,

    So that’s what you call your….!

  80. Linda said,

    Weren’t we hoping to bring several drunk goats if we could round them up? It was going to be quite a circus.

  81. LaFlamme said,

    Why are we getting the goats drunk again? To get them in the mood?

  82. Linda said,

    To create an especially foul situation for the neighbor, I believe. Drunken goats in the swimming pool? or vomiting on the lawn? do goats vomit? maybe not.

  83. Bulldog said,

    Flamer, do you always have to get your dates drunk to get lucky????

  84. Bulldog said,

    I know a few people who look/smell like goats that vomitted. Does that answer your “do goats vomit” question?

  85. Oopsy said,

    I just love how the thread of this thing wanders.

    Isnt there a drink called the drunken goat? If not, there ought to be.

  86. Linda said,

    Thanks Bulldog, that DOES clear that question up. I’m gonna have to learn more about goats, I see

  87. Cynthia said,

    “High in the hills was a lonely goatherd…yodaladyodaladyodaladeeeehooooo!”

  88. Oopsy said,

    Now really, if he had goats, he wasnt lonely.

  89. LaFlamme said,

    No slipping the goats roofies, Bulldog. That just ain’t right.

  90. AO said,

    Yeah, Bulldog. Just give them your dog chewed “toy”. IF you dare part with it!

  91. Mainetarr said,

    There isn’t enough KY in the world to slip that away from her. LOL

  92. AO said,

    Good Ol’ Bulldog and her doggie toy.

  93. LaFlamme said,

    Word on the street is that Bulldog patented the toy with “stimulating dog bit pattern” and made a million damn dollars.

  94. Linda said,

    Bulldog, congratulations! a stroke of genius! where can I get one?

  95. LaFlamme said,

    Ha! A “stroke” of genius. Bon mot!

Leave a Reply

