Joys of Camping

August 1, 2006 at 8:28 pm (Uncategorized)

tent-on-h2o.jpgLinda sent me the following blog. Enjoy!!

Camping in a tent with the family is fun, right? The kids so excited to be out in the woods. Telling scarytales round the campfire. The poignant scritch! of the sleeping bags being zipped up, the forest noises as the family falls into a sound sleep. The glassy early morning lake. And how much better if you are with your in-laws? Grampy passing on the family lore under a sky full of stars. Grammy cheerfully pulling out homemade cookies just when the children need a reviving snack. All the strong young brothers-in-law to do the heavy work and entertain your little ones. Paradise, right? And if it’s on an island in the middle of a remote lake in the scenic Rangeley area, well, nothing could be closer to nature.

You probably see where I am going with this, eh? It should have been fun, so how could it have gone so terribly wrong?

Problem #1: Eleven people, a ton and a half of gear, one small boat. HOW many trips? You do the math.

Problem #2: Grampy brought a generator and five cans of gasoline to run it–so we wouldn’t have to play cards by lantern light.

Problem #3a: No infant should eat as much dirt in one week as my son Luke ate that week. The campsite was all dirt, all the time, and he was obsessed with it. Problem #3b: No infant can be kept clean (at either end) when he’s eating dirt all day, there’s no running water, and at no point can you stand closer to the water than 18 inches above it on a rock.

Problem #4: Large remote lakes have their own microclimates, which often means that you need to wear a parka for an entire week in July. And there are no duffel bags large enough to hold warm clothes for a week for two small children, one eating dirt all day and the other not having mastered the principle of the long drop.

Problem #5: There are no coolers big enough to hold food for a week for eleven people, four of whom are teenage boys. And no grills, griddles or skillets are big enough to cook meals for those eleven people in less than two hours. If we’d seen any bears, we’d have slaughtered them for meat rather than make one more long trip by boat and car for provisions.

I could go on–there were certainly more that 5 problems–but you get the idea. That’s why I don’t go camping. What about you all, do you go camping? need-a-bigger-tent.jpg

71 Comments

  1. Mainetarr said,

    I went camping in a camper for the first time last summer. Although I had a pretty good time, I am not a camper by nature. My idea of camping is renting a motel room in Old Orchard Beach for a week. I love the outdoors and the whole concept of camping, and maybe if I camped in a secluded area, I would feel differently, but we camped in a campground. At any moment there was someone walking by the camper, not exactly private. I guess as I get older, I get more private. I should have camped when I was a kid, maybe I would have a greater appreciation for it. I don’t have any camping horror stories to share, it was a pretty good time. We rented a canoe and paddled around the lake, too, which was nice. But no way in hell would I go in a tent. Never happen.

  2. jarheaddoc said,

    The last time I did anything close to camping was field exercises with the marines, overseas. The first few days we had to play hardcore, walking around with our field gear on, but once we went ‘administrative’, all bets were off, and we got to interact with the foreign troops.

    The brits were a hoot: best field rations I ever ate and they carried their own beer. And they didn’t like their officers any more than we liked ours. The old hands told us to stock up on Zippo lighters so we would have something to trade.

    yup, ten days off the goddam ship, eating field rations that bound you up tighter than a tick, with the evenning meal flown out from the ship, standing around the camp fire, drinking the booze we’d gotten from the troops from the other countries-we were the ferreners, so to speak-slagging each other and telling outrageous lies.

    It was fun then and it’s a fonder memory now.

    Man, did we stink when we got back to the ship! Our clothes would stand by themselves and the wash water was black when we washed our stuff.

    We had eaten so many field rations that the ship’s food gave us the shits. Those were the days, getting paid every two weeks, floating through the world for free, no bills, few responsibilities, just enjoying the world.

    That’s about all the camping I’ve ever really done.

  3. jarheaddoc said,

    Camping and getting back to nature should not involve something you two with a truck and would qualify as a palace in my home town. Camping is being bug bitten and dirty and eating food that is scorched on the outside and raw on the inside and swimming in water cold enough to make your tesitcles crawl back into your abdomen. Well, for the men, anyways….

    A generator! Jay-sus, as AO would say! And the best way to carry all your shit in is to have someone else do it for you. Make a cardboard frame, put it in your pack so it looks full, and give all your shit to someone else. That only works once, though….

    Going to the camp ground in your mobile home and having to walk to the showers isn’t camping, it’s living in the 1950’s.

  4. AO said,

    Ha. I love the part about your son Luke eating dirt and you trying to keep him clean on both ends. Priceless. But, sounds like the camping trip from hell.

    The last time I camped in a tent was in my sisters back yard about 5 years ago. My whole family was there, we had a ‘tent village’ set up. We even had a makeshift flagpole with a ‘cocktail’ flag hanging on it. I had a VERY nice tent (courtesy of a friend) with air matresses and nice comfy sleeping bags. It was a blast. BUT, it was only for one night. To do more…eww…I don’t think so. Like MT, my idea of camping is to rent a place for a week. WITH…electricity. Hey…gotta have my blow-dryer and, more importantly, my music. I also have to have a way to keep my beer cold. Ice melts to damn fast in the summer, even in a cooler! I HATE warm beer!

  5. AO said,

    JD, your idea of camping sounds like pure hell to me. How could being bug bitten, dirty and eating bad food considered fun? And, well, the part about your testicles,,,I really wouldn’t know but, I’ll take your word on it.

  6. jarheaddoc said,

    AO, as K2 so aptly put it, I m terminally white. Let’s let it go at that, it’s a short trip to warmth for the boys.

    No, it just kills me that people think getting back in touch with nature is to pile into the Winnebago and go without cable for a week. These are the people who have never seen a moose and don’t understand that the meat in the package was walking around on the hoof three days before. Yahoos. They call 911 from their cel-phone when the weather turns nasty on Mt. Washington and they’re out there in their sandals, with socks on, of course, wondering just how mother nature could hate them so much.

    And they all seem to be from Massachusetts

  7. jarheaddoc said,

    The long drop. **snort a booger outcher nose**

  8. AO said,

    In my house, we call them “Massholes”.

  9. Bobbie said,

    Camping stories from hell, huh? I think I know a thing or two about that.

    We had heard about some cabins that the IOOF (International Order of the Odd Fellows) operates near Cedaredge, CO. We figured that Edythe and Todd would enjoy the camping and the guys would definitely take advantage of the great fishing there.

    What started out as a 3 day trip suddenly turned into a 5 day trip at the last minute. Not a problem at all and we made plans to extend the dates. Edythe and Todd wanted to invite Brad (a bi-polar, manic depressive friend of ours) to go with us. For the 3 day trip, that would have been ok, but for the 5 day trip, we warned them that Brad may not be able to make it that long because of the personal problems that he’d been experiencing lately. (Brad lives with his brother, Rod, in Denver and they don’t get along at all. Brad is on disability with a prescription for medical marijuana because other meds aren’t working for his pain. He also had a license to grow marijuana for himself and other people, which he was doing. Long story short here, he was raided after the police chased a suspect down the alley and thru his garden. Now he’s facing some serious jail time because he had more plants than the law allows.) The kids were willing to take the chance and we all agreed that should Brad get out of hand, we’d ship him back to Denver.

    Brad agreed to go, but refused to take the bus from Denver to Delta because it was an overnight trip. With his sleep disorder, he didn’t want to get his sleeping habits all screwed up. We finally worked it out that Brad would take the bus from Denver to Rocky Ford, but then we heard how he wouldn’t be able to get anyone to take him to the bus station or watch his garden while he was gone. The solution to that was simple-we told him that he had no choice in the matter of how he got down here because no one was going to go up and get him. (He took the bus.)

    When we got to the house after picking Brad up from the bus station, he was told that he needed to “medicate” himself in the garage away from the kids and Todd. (Todd is active duty Navy and did not need to burn a piss test when he came off leave.) Brad was not pleased to learn that he could not smoke on the screened in back porch, so he grdgingly agreed to go to the 2nd garage to do his puffing. The guys decided to do some night fishing on Friday and that didn’t go well. Brad started the night off angry-he didn’t get his way as to the choice of where they went fishing. Then Brad fell on his ass and broke his favorite reel and had to go to a back up pole.

    Saturday was spent trying to get everything ready to be packed so that we could leave bright and early Sunday morning. By the time that everything was said and done, it was after 11 PM and no one wanted to spend the time packing.

    I started getting people up at 6 AM, with the hopes of leaving at 8 AM. I asked the guys what they were planning on doing about the front door because we could barely shut it due to the humidity that week and we couldn’t lock it. Jeff, Todd and Brad started working on the door while Edythe and I packed and got the kids ready to go. It wasn’t too long into the front door project that Brad ran Jeff and Todd off-Brad knew what he was doing and refused to listen to anyone else. Then Brad started complaining about how he was the only one working on the door. HELLO!! you end up working by yourself because you’ve run the other people off and that gives you no right to complain about anything. When Brad finished with the door, he failed to check to see if the door would lock (it wouldn’t). I gave him a deadline to finish it by, he started complaining again, I told him get it done and went to do what I needed to do so that we could leave.

    Jeff told Brad that his marijuana needed to go in the back of the small truck and that Brad could only smoke cigarettes in the cab. Brad wasn’t pleased about that because he needed to smoke on a regular basis to keep things under control. Again, there was no arguing-it either went in the back of the truck or we took Brad to the bus station.

    Brad became more and more upset that we wouldn’t stop every time that he needed coffee. What should have been a 7 hour trip turned into a 10 hour trip. We ended up getting lost going to the cabins, so we had to start over again. It had been decided that we would ask for directions, but Brad would have nothing to do with it-he knew where we were going and we were disrespecting him by stopping to ask for directions.

    When we found our cabins (we realized that we had driven right by the sign on our first trip by), we started to unpack. Brad just wanted to set up his pole, catch his dinner and then cook it, everybody else could fend for themselves. Brad complained about supper being only sandwiches and that he was still hungry. My solution was that he go cut himself another chunk of sandwich because we still had 3 large sandwiches left. If he was still hungry, it was his fault, not mine.

    Jeff and Brad had disagreements over the fact that Brad needed to go smoke in the woods (Brad disregarded that request and smoked in the cab of the little truck, with the smoke going right in Edythe and Todd’s open cabin window), over how to get the fire started and keep it going, how we were all disrespecting Brad because we were treating him like a little kid, etc., etc.

    I was woken up bright and early Monday morning to find out that Brad had been asked to leave and that he was going to walk off the mountain. As he walked by us, he started mumbling about how everything that had gone wrong was our fault, not his, how we had been disrespecting him the entire time, etc., etc. Brad called and left a message on our phone to let us know that he had arrived-and to once again blame us for ruining his trip.

    Once Brad left, the rest of the trip was fun and enjoyable. The only concession that we made was a microwave.

  10. Mainetarr said,

    I would have pushed Brad off the mountain for you if I had been there. He sounds like a first class asshat. I bet he was smoking marijuana a long time before he needed it for medicinal purposes. Thank God he left on Monday, sounds like the douchebag would have ruined your entire trip if he had stayed. Now I see why you were anxious about the trip.

  11. jarheaddoc said,

    I agree with MT, though I would used the word fucktard. The way the military is about drug test, you’d think the guy would have some respect for Todd. Mental illness is one thing, but being such a fucking peckerhead is another, bobbie. Medical marijauana for his ‘pain’. Last I knew, pot wasn’t part of the treatment for bipolar. sounds more like he found some quack with a good lawyer who got his medical license out a box of Wheaties.

    Maybe he’s got problems with his eyes: he certainly can’t see that he’s such a fucking butt plug

    But it’s good to hear the rest of the trip turned out okay, Bobbie!

  12. Linda said,

    So — proponents for both sides of the camping issue.

    Staying in a motel is as much roughing it as I care for except on the other end of the spectrum, a small tent in a place with no people, no bugs, a stream, not too hot not too cold, that would be fine. But it’s pretty hard to control some of those things.

    I agree w jd though, if I’ve got everything but cable TV, that’s OK with me but it’s not camping.

  13. Linda said,

    Jeez Bobbie, I just read your horror story. good thing you got rid of Brad, he sounds like a nightmare.

    Did anyone read Bill Bryson’s “A Walk In The Woods” about hiking the Appalachian Trail, that’s such a funny book. Brad reminds me of BB’s friend — Stephen, I think? — that went with him.

  14. AO said,

    Cripes Bobbie, It’s a damn good thing Brad left when he did. Can you imagine spending five whole days with that stink-hole? I’m wondering though, who asked him to leave? And, how did he finally get home? I’m amazed with all his “problems” that he didn’t have a friggen breakdown getting there. Or, maybe he did. And, IF he did, you know who’s fault it would be, right? 🙂

  15. Bobbie said,

    My husband was the one who asked him to leave. My husband had actually made the suggestion to Brad that he go down to the lake to cool off some and Brad refused, so that left Jeff no choice in the matter.

    We have no idea how Brad made it home, but in his message, he did say that he had an “interesting” 12 hour trip back to Denver. Jeff refuses to call him back and I can’t blame him-our lives are much better now that we don’t have Brad to worry about. And yes, I know who’s fault it would be (and probably is, according to Brad) for any problems that Brad thought he had from this trip.

  16. K2 said,

    My one golden camping rule is: The more isolated, the better. Camping at a campground is a sad joke compared to hauling your gear into the wilderness and getting away from people and the daily grind.

    I do need a mini camp bong, though.

  17. jarheaddoc said,

    Linda, check this out, regarding that communication thing I had you going on the other day.
    http://lifestyle.msn.com/Relationships/CouplesandMarriage/ArticleRB.aspx?cp-documentid=675120&GT1=8461

  18. Linda said,

    Thanks, I will jd, but probably can’t until later tonight at home. Even if it’s SFW, I have a set of meetings & then the afternoon off to sit in the shade at the lake.

  19. jarheaddoc said,

    It’s too hot. I should be camped out in front of the AC with a cold drink, not making wood chips in the shop and having a miserable time of the project.

  20. Mainetarr said,

    I am camping out in the air conditioned office until 4:30pm, then I will get into the air conditioned car, drive it home to the air conditioned house. Screw summer, bring on the snow!!

  21. jarheaddoc said,

    I have to say a big Thank you to MT for posting the blogs people have sent her. I seem to see a pattern here: a thin veneer of civility about our families, only to blast them unmercifully in the blog. I like it!

    And MT, just so you don’t think I’ve gone soft on you, bite me.

  22. hedonistic said,

    My family’s idea of vacation was camping. I loved it and continued the tradition with my daughter. Unfortunately the last time we camped together it rained, and our tent, which was getting kinda old, flooded. Everything we had was soaked.

    I threw the tent in the garbage when I got home and hat was the last time I ever suggested to her that we go tent camping. These days, we do cabins, yay!

  23. hedonistic said,

    That said, have you ever noticed that when you’re camping, the food tastes better? Or are our senses just more heightened, and/or are we just more grateful for having anything to eat at all?

  24. K2 said,

    How about SJ story about the little baby that was killed when a widow maker fell on her mother and her while they were hiking? If that ain’t tragedy, I don’t know what is.

    http://www.sunjournal.com/search/story.php?ID=168738

  25. Blumpkin said,

    Would you tell anyone if you went camping and woke up with vaseline around your asshole?

  26. AO said,

    Depends on who I went camping with.

  27. Oopsy said,

    Jeez, I wish I had more time to hang out here and post my idiotic stuff. Just not available when you guys do most of your postings. Sigh………. :>(

    Camping…… It aint camping unless you are out in the woods far from anyone else and NO GENERATOR!! I allow using a vehicle to carry the stuff in, if it goes off the road, over the creeks, thru the mudholes and over the rocks.

    I have seen many bears – woke up to one of two in the campsite occasionally. That is why you either hang all food from a high tree limb or store it in the vehicle. Those bears are crafty critters, and they can open any cooler and sure do mess up your goodies. Break bottles, too.

    Rattlesnakes in the area, porcupines, etc. All adds to the mystique, the aura, and the better tales to tell to all those unsuspecting non-outdoors people back home.

    My kids learned camping this way from the time they were about six (never took an infant – the eating dirt thing never came up!! hee hee)

  28. K2 said,

    Oopsy, no offense, but there’s no worse place (other than in your tent, of course) for your food than in the car. Unless you have good insurance and no deductable.

    I agree with the sagacity of hanging one’s food — it’s supposed to be up 20′ and over 10′, I believe. But I never get around to it, since it’s a lot harder than it sounds. I just hang my food on a tree away from my tent. My theory holds that if a bear really wants my food, well, he can have it, no questions asked.

    My camping highlight has to be the week I spent in the San Juan mountains, north of Durango, CO, back in ’97. Nothing like speanding a week at between 12,000 and 13,000 feet.

    But I tell you, northern Maine is awfully beautiful. I’m totally pumped for some fall camping. As soon as this convection-oven summer is dead and gone, that is.

  29. AO said,

    Convection-oven summer. Pretty much describes it. I’ve only been outside once today and, I thought I was gonna drop from heat stroke.

  30. K2 said,

    Yes, quite simply, this heat and humidity sucks monkey cock.

    I’d honestly rather have 40 F and rain than this shit.

  31. AO said,

    Well, K2, that’s a good way of describing it. SNORT!

  32. AO said,

    Is it beer o’clock yet?

  33. Bobbie said,

    Somewhere int he world it is, AO.

  34. AO said,

    I’ve got that damned Alan Jackson/Jimmy Buffet song stuck in my head. “It’s five o’clock somewhere”.

  35. Oopsy said,

    Well, I am sure that where western bears (i.e., grizzlies) are concerned, they will not let a little ol’ car get in the way of their desires – I”ve only camped around black bears, and a cooler in a car has always been safe for us. But then, there is always the first REALLY HUNGRY black bear I run into, and that would surely be my undoing!

  36. Mainetarr said,

    Three years ago, we went to Jackman and rented a cabin in the winter. Yeah, stupid, I know. It never got warmer that ten below zero for the whole weekend we were there. The toilet froze, the shower froze, it was miserable. We moved cabins twice to get one with plumbing that actually worked. Even though it was freezing, we still had a freaking blast. The other couple that went with us came to our cabin every night, we played games, shot the shit, told stories that only the four of us know about and had martini’s with supper. The “lodge” cooked meals in the evening and we went there a couple of times, too. Our pals, who got married the year before us, got pregnant on that trip. Nine months later Lucas Jackman was born. That’s a camping trip we will remember forever.

  37. AO said,

    Ha. I like how they gave him the middle name “Jackman”. How cool is that? If I would have given my son a middle name as to where he was concieved, it would be “Walnut”. I think it’s a good thing that I stuck with Andrew. Much nicer.

  38. jarheaddoc said,

    A perfect example of the best time for dicky dunkin’!

  39. AO said,

    “Dicky Dunkin”…got anything to do with “Dunkin Donuts”?

  40. Mainetarr said,

    What’s going on tonight, folks??

  41. AO said,

    What’s happening?? Hmmm….let’s see. Well, I got zapped by a lone bolt of lightning while on the phone late this afternoon. Other than that, nothing.

  42. Mainetarr said,

    How did that treat you? What happened?

  43. AO said,

    Wwwwhaat? Whaattt?

  44. Mainetarr said,

    You must have had quite the pop in your ear.

  45. Bobbie said,

    If I had done that, one of the kids would have the middle name of laundryroom and the other one would have the middle name of couch. If we’re talking physical locations, neither would be able to spell their middle names.

  46. AO said,

    Pop in the ear? You know how curly my hair always is? Well, you should see it now, GF.

  47. Linda said,

    Re the Lucas Jackman story — my granddaughter is named after the place she was conceived, which is way more info than I wanted or needed from my son. Still, the name totally suits her.

    AO, you are OK I hope? Did you all have a ferocious storm last night? We did. And at the lake today , I saw a gouge in the sand where a canoe was blown up the beach about 25 feet until it hit rough grass and bunged up against a tree.

  48. jarheaddoc said,

    No, MT, I would suspect that you, having been told the secrets to changing things in this block, are fucking with me. I have not had a very good shop day and you can just-

    Forget it, I’m getting drunk and working hungover tomorrow. And did I say I love Mainetarr?

  49. Linda said,

    jarheaddoc, thanks for the informative article from this morning. Yes, no huge surprises. I WAS a bit surprised, I will say, when I read the following :
    ==============================================
    Secret #9: We are terrified when you drive

    Want to know how to reduce your big, tough guy to a quivering mass of fear? Ask him for the car keys.

    “I am scared to death when she drives,” says LaFlamme.
    ==============================================
    But then I read back and ascertained that it was one Doug LaFlamme who was being quoted.

    Anyhow I didn’t totally agree with every single point in the article, but altogether it was a good primer for anyone fresh from another galaxy and looking to pass for an Earthling.

    So — thanks for thinking of me!

  50. Linda said,

    Working tomorrow already? Didn’t you just work?

  51. Mainetarr said,

    Ah, that was nice of you to say in post number 48. I can feeeeel the love. I don’t know what you are talking about as far as your name goes. I would NEVER fuck with you, JD.

  52. Mainetarr said,

    I am off to bed. Happy blogging everyone!!! See you in the morning!

  53. AO said,

    Linda!! We mother’s work EVERY day, hung over or, not. So what if Jd just worked the other day. I just kind of feel bad for anyone he’ll have to rescue in his condition. Hey, JD…SMOOCH!! Yeah, it’s an after effect of getting “zapped”!

  54. Linda said,

    I know AO, I was jiving him. Guess he’s not here. I’ve been totally out of synch with everyone this week, it seems — talkin’ to myself. Nice to have you here, and I see Mandy’s next door. Cool!

  55. Robert said,

    Geez, and here I am camping at least 8 weekends a year and sometimes for a week at a time..and I’m stupid ewnough to do it with 24 of my sons closest friends….you’ve not enjoyed camping until you’ve encountered the following;

    1. Boys like sticks used as swords, nuff said.
    2. When you remove the sticks, they use stones..
    3. Take away the stones and they forget the prior instructions about no sticks….
    4. If there’sd an electrified fence, one of the munchkins will see if it works, using a friend as a test subject…
    5. There are 38 different ways to burn eggs, but only 1 way to cook them…low heat
    6. You can’t ruin an apple cobbler no matter how hard you try, those boys will eat anything. Same goes for other cobblers, and pizza.
    7. 8 man tents are not recommends for 12 year old boys.
    8. 2 man tents does not mean you and your 2 friends…
    9. No one camping will ever stay dry if it rains – unless they stay in their car…
    10. Adults love to talk about camping joy, but rarely do they actually camp
    11. When adults do come camping, they think that I am cook, maid and supervisor
    12. For every 10 parents you remind to pick up their cute precious child at 10 AM, at least one will show at 11AM….
    13. If the boys bring their own food, make sure your groceries include a few extra hot dogs, because one boy won’t like what was chosen and one will burn it…

    So why do i go….because if I don’t, no one else will….plus I luv camp cooking…

    SO whats everyone’s favorite campign meal? For me its Cornish Game Hens baked with rice stuffing and maple glaze, baked potatoes, corn, rolls and the afore mentioned appler cobbler…with a cold milk (substitute beer if its not a youth event)…

  56. Linda said,

    Robert, I’d rather eat dirt than camp with two dozen 12 year olds, even with a meal like that laid on. You are a saint. Or a madman. Or (probably) both

  57. Robert said,

    Geez, my wife says Im a saint , but I think thats because she gets a quiet house all to her self for a weekend at a time (or more)….the kids think Im a madman, and dont quite understand why Im the only one letting em know whats gotta get done…those other adults always seem to think camping is a spectator sport…

  58. Linda said,

    Yeah, I’d TiVo that scene

  59. AO said,

    Robert, You’re a Saint in my book. But, you were always apretty crazy little cute kid. Guess that never goes away!

  60. Bulldog said,

    I love camping. My favorite site is on Toothaker Island on Mooselookmegunquit (Rangeley Lakes Region). Very remote. No electricity, running water. Just a campsite, fire pit and nature. Beautiful, baby, beautiful. I agree with Jarhead. Camping isn’t camping when you have a shower and electricity. Be a part of nature! Shit in the woods like the bears do. Eat fresh caught fish. And bring hard stuff to drink! You don’t need that much ice! Just leave the kids home at this point. You do not want to explain to the kid why they have to jump into the lake to take a bath. The only “real world” thing I brought with me was a radio (AO, did you know that they can be run by batteries? No electricity needed).

    I have also climbed Mt. Washington and camped up there. Talk about remote!!! Nothing like it though. I laugh at people that say they’re going camping and then the women bitch about having to share an outlet in the bathroom for their curling iron. YOU’RE FUCKING CAMPING PEOPLE!! WEAR A HAT!

  61. Linda said,

    Bulldog, my island was in Cupsuptic Lake, but it was the same kind of place as yours. And I have to agree that with no kids, fewer people overall, and NO GENERATOR, it would have been a lot more pleasant.

  62. Bulldog said,

    I was wondering if your island was in that area. I’ve stayed on the islands at Cupsuptic Lake too! But, after the harrowing experience we had getting back to shore during a major wind storm (waves were really pushing us around and we almost tipped over a few times), we decided that we weren’t gonna do THAT island again!

  63. K2 said,

    How about Hurricane Island on Flagstaff Lake? A great spot, albeit a heck of a paddle to get to.

  64. Linda said,

    Bulldog, we had that going on too on Cupsuptic. Some visitors canoed over for a little visit and wound up staying two days because of the wind and waves. (More body heat in the tents — not an altogether bad thing)

  65. Martha said,

    I go camping when I have the opportunity. Some of you wouldn’t consider it camping because I do stay in a campground and I do use an air mattress, but when I camp I use a tent. Back in the mid 80’s my, now ex, my kids and I lived in a tent one summer at Sandy Bottom Campground in Turner. That was an experience.
    My most recent camping experience was earlier this summer. I had reserved a site for the weekend in Williamsburg, VA. so my daughter, grandsons and I could go to Busch Gardens. As we were setting up the tent, we discovered our site was right at the base of the elevation for a railroad track. Nothing like having trains running “over your pillow” all night. Then my daughter locked her keys in her van. Still, I’m hoping to do more camping this summer.. hopefully, by myself, and I plan to camp when I come up to Maine next summer to visit.

  66. LaFlamme said,

    I’m back from camping in the north Maine woods. Who wants to smell me? Line starts over there. Please, no cutting.

  67. Linda said,

    Take that friggin’ shower already, man!

  68. LaFlamme said,

    Ah… Linda’s first in line.

  69. AO said,

    I’ll bet you smell like old feet! Hey, good camping movie, anybody ever see Meatballs? Classic! I loved the part when the ran the “Very Large Pants” up the flag pole! Bill Murray…one of the best!!

  70. K2 said,

    AO, Meatballs is an all-time fave of mine.

  71. Mainetarr said,

    He smells like Doritos. I can smell him from here. Gak!

Leave a Reply

