Sins, by Linda B.

August 5, 2006 at 6:06 pm (Uncategorized)

sins.jpgPope Gregory the Great firmed up the list of seven deadly sins in the 6th century, and I won’t waste my time defining them for this audience. You may be interested in reviewing the traditional punishmentsfor these sins, according to a 16th century illustrator. (By the way, these are listed in order of the most serious to least serious, according to Gregory.)

Pride-Broken on the wheel

Envy-Put in freezing water

Anger-Dismembered alive

Sloth-Thrown in a snake pit

Greed-Put in cauldrons of boiling oil

Gluttony-Forced to eat rats, toads and snakes

Lust-Smothered in fire and brimstone

If Pope Gregory were alive today, according to the folks at http://deadlysins.com, he might be revising the list to include some more modern transgressions. The web site invites npminations for newer deadly sins, and here are some of the submissions to date:

Whininess-“Help, I’m being taken advantage of, and my self esteem is being trod upon by all those other sinners perfomring all those other sins that I am somehow not empowered to do myself. I can’t help it, I’m just a victim! WHINE!!”

Guilt-If you do something, you shouldn’t feel guilty about it. Guilt can drive you to do a lot of things, mostly bad. Everybody is a sinner and everyone is guilty of SOMETHING!!

Self-Rightousness-As in “I am pro-choice but you better not choose to eat animals.”

Indecision-It’s what holds up the line at Baskin Robbins; a triple scoop of vanilla on a waffle cone, or a double chocolate cocoa-mocha fudge sundae? It makes it so hard to pick a movie, Leonardo di Caprio or Keanu Reeves? Geeze, what to wear to go out, I look so good in everything?

Sins, maybe, but deadly? I’m not sure. Let’s hear from the experts. What are the modern deadly sins and suitable punishments?showletter.jpg

42 Comments

  1. AO said,

    Better head over to “Our View” and ask Dan.

  2. Linda said,

    Is he back? what name this time, I haven’t been for a while

  3. jarheaddoc said,

    The absolute worst sin one can commit these days is to not have enough money to get a good lawyer.

  4. AO said,

    He’s now posting as “Pat”. Ya can’t miss him, Linda.

  5. Linda said,

    God, I see what you mean. Good luck to Christine and Nick!

  6. Bobbie said,

    Apparently Russ Dillingham (photographer for the SJ) has gotten tired of the reaction that Pat seems to generate, so he wished that everyone would find a new blog to “kvetch” in instead of the Man, I’m in Maine one. My question is: what happened to Nick? He didn’t seem to last very long in blog land. From his post, it would seem that Russ has taken over that blog now and it is now devoted to the Mystery photo in the b section.

    An updated deadly sin? Probably procrastination, but I’m not sure. Check with me next week and I may just have an answer for you. If not then, maybe the week after that.

  7. Linda said,

    Ha! that’s good Bobbie.

    You’re right, sounds like it’s Russ’ blog now but the header still says Nick. Will all be revealed?

  8. AO said,

    Ha…funny, Bobby.

    Russ is a nice guy. I’ve known him for years. So, if it is his blog now, I promise I won’t “kvetch” in it!!

  9. Linda said,

    Ah, you wouldn’t kvetch over there anyhow I bet. You hardly kvetch over here, you are very polite! But kvetch away if you want to, we can take it.

  10. Dave said,

    Nick apparently has a thinner skin than those who dared respond to his idiocies.

    He seemed to be the most provocative of the Sun Urinal bloggers. Too bad he couldn’t take the heat.

  11. jarheaddoc said,

    Okay, you guys need to fill me in on which blogs are going on. As usual, I am blithely ignorant of the goings on over at the sun Urinal.

  12. AO said,

    We’re talking about the Man I’m in Maine, blog, JD.

  13. LaFlamme said,

    Freaks, the lot of you.

  14. AO said,

    Welcome back, Mark. You’ve been missed! MT did a wonderful job filling in for you! Better watch out!!

  15. Linda said,

    Mark, are you back already!! Er, what I meant was, kids, Mark’s home, quick, tidy up!

  16. AO said,

    I know!! What a short vacation!! What?? Five days? That’s it? Jay-su, think we would have gotten more than that!

  17. Linda said,

    If you want another vacation soon, Mark, we’ll have MT any time.

  18. LaFlamme said,

    Well, I was going to stay until late September, but then I started worrying about what you knuckleheads might be up to in here. And where the hell is all the liquor I left in the cabinet?

  19. AO said,

    I drank it!

  20. LaFlamme said,

    You had friends over, didn’t you! You kids and your loud music and makeout parties…

  21. LaFlamme said,

    Man, do I need a shower. No, really.

  22. Linda said,

    Not a very convincing “heavy” act, Mark. You are just jealous ’cause you couldn’t be two places at once.

  23. AO said,

    Makeout parties? What the hell is that?

  24. LaFlamme said,

    Ya got me. I’ve been in northern Maine. Ain’t no making out up there.

  25. Linda said,

    Back to the scene of the crime, were you?

  26. LaFlamme said,

    Exactly. And talk about weird. I dropped off books at a store up there and sold three before I got out of the place. The suckers kept selling all week at that store and another one in St. Agatha. The locals want to know what the dorky Lewiston guy wrote about them. Of course, I probably won’t be allowed back next year.

  27. Linda said,

    Ah that must have been fun for you. By next year they’ll all be ready for more, you’ll see.

  28. Linda said,

    I’m watching fireworks. I can only see the high ones from here and couldn’t get it together to go down to the lake, but I love fireworks. Three cheers for the Wilton Blueberry Festival.

  29. AO said,

    So, Linda, are you drinking any “Blueberry” brew?

  30. Linda said,

    I drank all my blueberry wine last weekend. And they say you should drink no wine before its time — ha, a pox on that theory!

    Tonight it’s Jamesons. Had to lay off that stuff during the heat wave, I like it straight on ice and I couldn’t drink it fast enough to keep the cubes from melting. Yuck, luke warm watered down Irish whisky. But tonight is perfect for Jamesons on ice.

  31. LaFlamme said,

    Hey, what’s up with the Russ Dillingham thing on the SJ blog? Freakin’ funny. I gotta give him shit about that. He tried calling me Thursday but I couldn’t get a singal.

  32. AO said,

    Linda, I’m Irish..through and, through but, yuck!!! I hate Jamesons! I’ve never liked it! Hmm…I DO have a few bottles of blueberry wine in my basement! Maybe I’ll break them out tommorrow in tribute of the Blueberry festival!!! And, it’s wine made in Casco Maine.

  33. AO said,

    Hey!! Mark, give him shit for me, too!

  34. Linda said,

    Mark, can we get the inside scoop with that blog? Is Nick still in charge of it, or Russ?

  35. AO said,

    I’ve known Russ since…high school. And, I also know that he’s a good tennis partner of my old friend “Uncle Andy”.

  36. LaFlamme said,

    Whoa, whoa! You’re friends with Uncle Andy? I owe the man a favor. And I love that rag.

  37. LaFlamme said,

    I’m not sure what the scoop is with the SJ blog. I think nobody has the time or energy to blog more than once a week so they tend to get stale. It looks like various people are trying to jump in and help out. Including Russ, with his screeching tantrum. Fuggin funny.

  38. LaFlamme said,

    Hey, Linda. Remind me to give you my thoughts on the Seven Deadly Sins. I’ve got thoughts.

  39. Linda said,

    OK. I bet you do.

  40. LaFlamme said,

    I’ve broken eight of the ten commandments and strongly considered breaking the other two.

  41. Linda said,

    Quote:
    “Only 68 of 200 Anglican priests polled could name all Ten Commandments, but half said they believed in space aliens.”

    http://www.religioustolerance.org/chr_10co.htm

  42. AO said,

    Well, I’m breaking one of the ten deadly sins to say: Yes, I’ve know Uncle Andy since i was a wee lass. SHEESHH. I can’t Flucking belive that he’s 52 years old!

Leave a Reply

