Disenfranchised

August 6, 2006 at 6:53 am (Uncategorized)

scooter.jpghandicap-sign.jpgAs you all know, I recently had some work done on my knee, leaving me on crutches for a couple of days. On the third day, I was up and walking around without them, but not going too far or too fast. I decided to get out of the house and head to Walmart. The greeter suggested I use a go cart like contraption to get around the store with. She offered to hang onto my crutches while I shopped. I agreed and sped away into the store. Within 5 minutes, I was back, begging to carry my crutches with me. People treat you like shit when you are riding around in one of those things. I was looked down on, like I was just being a lazy bastard or something. I couldn’t fuggin walk!!! People would hit the basket with their carts and not say excuse me, instead they would sigh or outright complain I was in the way. Kids would run in front of me as I was going along, like I could stop on a dime. But what surprised me the most was a French woman talking to her husband. In French, she said, “look at her, too lazy to walk while we walk around with our canes. The kids today, they are lazy.” That’s when I went back and got my crutches. Once I had them on the go cart with me, the nasty looks and trash talk stopped.

Needless to say, I stayed home until I could get around on my own. I have a new found respect for people who use those carts. It’s a tough world out there.

28 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    That is tough! but aside from the rude looks and comments, was it fun driving the cart?

  2. Mainetarr said,

    yeah, but I was way too busy avoiding kids to have fun. Little shits, they were running everywhere!!

  3. AO said,

    MT, it’s just the Wally World mentality. Too bad I wasn’t with you. I would have carried your crutches and used them to whack anyone that gave you a hard time or a nasty look.

  4. Bobbie said,

    Too bad about your experience with the handicap cart, MT. Here, people have been known to run over you if you’re in their way or are too slow. I don’t look down on anyone who has to use a cart because one day, I might have to use it. It does get aggravating tho to see someone using a cart in the morning and then out dancing later that evening without a problem.

    The little kids are out of control here as well. You get run over by them just as much as you do by the people in the handicap carts. I always tried to keep my kids under control while I was shopping. All it takes is one time of running to end up in the ER because your kid slammed into a full grocery cart.

  5. Bobbie said,

    That would have been fun to see-MT egging AO on because someone looked at her cross-eyed. I would have gladly paid to see something like that!

  6. Bobbie said,

    Seen on a bottle opener this morning:

    I had a handle on things, but it broke.

  7. Priscilla said,

    It is always nice when the handi-able get a taste of what being disabled is like. Unfortunately in every case, once they regain their mobility, they treat disabled people just as shabbily. Learn from your experience and don’t park in handicap spots ever again.

  8. Mainetarr said,

    I NEVER park in handicapped spots, EVER!! That is just WRONG. People that park in those spots should be shot. My dad had a handicapped placard he used when I took him shopping (he was 89 and very ill-but loved to get out once in a while). I can’t tell you how many times people told me to use it when I was alone, but I NEVER did. It sucks being handicapped for a week, never mind for your life or for years. I was just really surprised at how shitty people treat you. I am really tall (5’10”) and I am always asking people if the need stuff on higher shelves. I hope I never treated a handicapped person with disrespect. Having elderly parents, I knew what they went through. But if I ever did, I got my payback two weeks ago.

  9. Mainetarr said,

    AO, that would have been hysterical. I can just see you whacking people around in Wally World. I can’t wait for Kohls to open. I hope they have better trained managers than Walmart. I can’t believe how much Wally world sucks now. Ever since they went into the new store, thier customer service went in the toilet. The one in Oxford is so much better. When you ask someone there for assistance, they take you to what you are looking for, no bullshit. At the Auburn store, it’s like no one wants to work. I hate that store.

  10. AO said,

    I would have done it, too!! I NEVER park in hanicapped spots. EVER. I’d walk a mile before I did that.

  11. Linda said,

    Me either. I sometimes have my mother’s placard in my car, but I’d never use it except when I have her with me. You’re right, it stinks when people do that.

  12. Mainetarr said,

    you know, I may be a shit about some things, but that is not one of them.

    How did the Blueberry Festival go, Linda? You have blueberry crepes for breakfast? I did!

  13. Mainetarr said,

    I just re-read Priscilla’s post, what do you mean in EVERY case? Little harsh, ain’t it Dan?

  14. AO said,

    I’m glad that I’m not the only one who thought “Priscilla” sounded familiar. Welcome to the Lost Sole, Dan!

  15. someone else said,

    so dan’s the only person who ever makes sweeping generalities?

  16. Mainetarr said,

    Yeah, I was tossing it around all morning. I hope it is him. I miss him. Fat bastard.

  17. Mainetarr said,

    No, but he is usually cocky in all responses. I like that though. Keeps me on my toes.

  18. AO said,

    Brenda, I read your “Guest Editorial” today. Good job!

  19. Linda said,

    Yes, MT, I have a freezer full of blueberries. I usually have blueberry pancakes on Sunday but today not so much.

    I thought that was our Brenda on the op-ed page today. I agree, it was excellent.

    So — is Dan dipping his toe back in the water over here? Bring it on!

  20. AO said,

    I think so. He’s now going by the name of “Priscilla”. Go figure!

  21. AO said,

    But, then again, only Dan would come up with a name like that.

  22. Linda said,

    My brain is fried from an afternoon at the lake. I may have seared my retinas, there is a halo around everything still. Another family thing with lots of little kids, big kids, and dogs. And of course lots of adults too, and the old folks sitting in the shade. One of the August traditions in my family. Nice.

  23. AO said,

    Sounds…lovely. Well, except for your seared retinas. You okay?

  24. Linda said,

    I guess so. Really did sunburn my eyes a bit I think, but the halo is fading. Maybe an early night — that’s the hard thing for me, I stay up too late and then suddenly it’s 5:30 Monday morning. Sunday night should be longer than the other nights of the week, maybe then I’d have a hope of getting enough rest on the weekend.

  25. AO said,

    Rest?? What the hell is that? Rest is a foreign word to me! If I can get six hours a night then, wow, I feel that I’ve rested.

  26. LaFlamme said,

    I knew a guy who used a relative’s placard to park in handicapped spots. Loooo-hooo-seerrrr. What’s up with that? Most of the people who do that shit could use the extra 30 foot walk to the storefront.

  27. Crystal said,

    You know, My fiance has cerebal palsy, uses crutches and we go to Wal-Mart and he has to use the carts, even though he doesn’t want to. Yet it seems that at times we go and see many large obese people (who really could use the walking) using these carts and therefore he gets stuck without one. Yes I may be generalizing a bit, I do understand that some obese large people may need these because of health issues, although some of those health issues (swollen/sore ankles, asthma, etc…) would be cured by losing some of that weight.
    It does seem to be mostly Wal-Mart that this happens at though.

  28. Mainetarr said,

    I noticed that too, Crystal. Mostly at Wal-Mart and always being used by obese people. I was at Shaws and saw someone in one of those carts and she was elderly. She obviously would not have been aboe to walk all around the store to get everything she needed. Wal-Mart, on the other hand, lets EVERYONE use the carts. When I was in one, a teenager asked me if he could take it for a spin when I was done. Unreal!

Leave a Reply

