Avatar

October 9, 2006 at 11:26 pm (Uncategorized)

fabjpicture-1-23.jpgOkay, here’s what we need: Avatars. Ten years online and I never had one. I could be a raven, a killer clown or Edgar Poe himself. Why haven’t I assumed an online persona? I have no idea. I could have breasts. Yeah, breasts. Something I could really have fun with in those sweaty, late nights when no bloggers are around for banter. But I’ve said too much. Choose your own avatar. I have things to do.

Fabjectory makes 3-D figurines of your Second Life avatar. A 7-inch model costs $99.

Q: How are the figures made?A: The figures are built on a Z-Corp rapid prototyping machine. One 4000th of an inch at a time, the machine lays down a plaster powder that it covers with a type of colored glue.

Q: How do the colors get applied?

A: Color is applied as the figures are built, this has a couple advantages over paint:

1. Very fine texture details can be reproduced: words, tattoos and subtle things like fingernails and eyebrows all show up great
2. Color actually extends slightly into the figure (like a candy shell), reducing the visibility of small scratches and bumps.

13 Comments

  1. Gil said,

    Oh yeah, there’s what you need.
    For less than $30, you could have a doll that is not only good looking, but talks too.
    http://tinyurl.com/rr8x
    Safe for work
    Don’t forget to listen to the phrases.

    What’s that? Why yes, I did write a new blog, thanks for asking. What does that have to do with avatars? Absolutely nothing. Where can I find it you ask?
    http://churchofpainfultruth.blogspot.com/
    Since you asked.

  2. Linda said,

    Hey, what a great idea — a virtual world where we can assume carefully crafted identities that reflect and perfect our daily lives. Something like that?

    Or, we could just hang out … ūüôā

    It’s a little scary to think of choosing an avatar and paying 100 bucks for a Second LIfe figurine of it. What if I want to be someone else tomorrow? Would I be, like, locked in?

    BTW I’ve been wondering where Daniel is. You OK out there, Daniel?

  3. LaFlamme said,

    There are a lot of MIA’s, now that you mention it. They’re mad because we don’t offer avatars or emoticons. Oh, wait. I see an emoticon above. Shows what I know.

  4. Mainetarr said,

    Hee hee, Ann Coulter. Does it come with a bunch of college kids throwing a pie at her? Bunch of asshats….

    Avatar…suonds like a distant planet or something. Hm, I was circling Uranus in search of Avatar.

  5. Mainetarr said,

    Or bottled water, it sounds like bottled water….

  6. LaFlamme said,

    Has anyone tried that search function yet? Search for dirty words. Chances are, it’s in here somewhere.

  7. Mainetarr said,

    Potty Mouth blog comes up. Too freakin funny.

  8. Derek said,

    I have been searching for Thiafood Teena, is she MIA? My cell is cold and lonely.

  9. Thaifood Teena said,

    I am here for you baby.

  10. LaFlamme said,

    Let’s all chant: DooooBIE! DooooBIE!

  11. Mainetarr said,

    I bet K2 is in his jammies chanting that very thing right now. Only there’s a “pass the” in front of doobie.

  12. Linda said,

    I suppose he’s holding THAT for a friend, too!

  13. K2 said,

    Poke smot, I say.

Leave a Reply

