Where do you want to go today?

October 20, 2006 at 1:45 am (Uncategorized)

Now, I know we’ve been down this path before. But my friends, this has been a dream of mine since I was a boy gazing lustily at the girls locker room door back in high school gym class. Oh, the sky’s the limit with the awesome power of invisibility. What to do and where to go? And I ask these questions purely out of journalistic curiosity. I mean to use these powers for good rather than for the sake of pure libido. For the most part.

By RANDOLPH E. SCHMID, AP Science Writer

invisible.jpgWASHINGTON – Scientists are boldly going where only fiction has gone before — to develop a Cloak of Invisibility. It isn’t quite ready to hide a Romulan space ship from Capt. James T. Kirk or to disguise Harry Potter, but it is a significant start and could show the way to more sophisticated designs.

In this first successful experiment, researchers from the United States and England were able to cloak a copper cylinder. It’s like a mirage, where heat causes the bending of light rays and cloaks the road ahead behind an image of the sky. “We have built an artificial mirage that can hide something from would-be observers in any direction,” said cloak designer David Schurig, a research associate in Duke University’s electrical and computer engineering department.

For their first attempt, the researchers designed a cloak that prevents microwaves from detecting objects. Like light and radar waves, microwaves usually bounce off objects, making them visible to instruments and creating a shadow that can be detected. Cloaking used special materials to deflect radar or light or other waves around an object, like water flowing around a smooth rock in a stream. It differs from stealth technology, which does not make an aircraft invisible but reduces the cross-section available to radar, making it hard to track. In an ideal situation, the cloak and the item it is hiding would be invisible. An observer would see whatever is beyond them, with no evidence the cloaked item exists.

58 Comments

  1. K2 said,

    How about when Kirk stole the Kilgon’s cloaking device and jerry rigged it on the Enterprise, and then they snuck up on the other Klingon’s, and . . .

    Oh, sorry. I don’t want to ruin it for you.

  2. jarheaddoc said,

    And didn’t Kirk use the device to satisfy his raging libido and fuck Spock in the ass? Are you talking about that episode? Never saw it

  3. Linda said,

    But would your clothes and accessories be invisible too, or would you have to go naked and hope the invisibility didn’t wear off all of a sudden? Where would you keep your cell phone (oops sorry) and credit card?

    Oh I know, I’m just being trite, asking the questions that have been asked a million gazillion times before. All i am saying is that we’d better settle these issues SOON or else invisibility could be more trouble than it’s worth — “a sordid boon”. If you don’t mind a little Irish poetry.

  4. Linda said,

    I doubt that any of you care, but now that I think of it, that poem’s not Irish — it’s british.

  5. Herb said,

    You’re right~~we don’t care.

  6. Vanessa really does have a penis said,

    Herb! Something else about which we don’t care! The rainy season drive you out of Thailand? You fly back with Karr and just now feel comfortable rearing your ugly head? fill us in!

  7. LaFlamme said,

    The real Herb would never use these ~~
    Plus, he’s dead. Committed suicide. Haven’t you heard? Yeesh. Keep up.

  8. jarheaddoc said,

    Fake poster alert!

  9. LaFlamme said,

    No, no! It’s really me! Treehugger! And I want everyone to know that I’m gay!

  10. Treehuggette said,

    You’re gay? I’m devastated. Just devastated. What about all of those sweet nothings you whispered in my ear? You bastard!

    by the way, this is Mainetarr. I’ll fess up.

  11. Mainetarr said,

    Wow, Vanessa, I haven’t heard of her in a long long time. She was hawt.

  12. LaFlamme said,

    Nope. Gay. I was trying to get to your friend Mark. He’s hawt.

  13. Mainetarr said,

    Speaking of hawt, where’s Nadine? That’s her catch phrase. Hawt. Hawt. Hawt. LOL!!!

    Herb, you grumpy old bastard, how have you been?

  14. Mainetarr said,

    Treehugger, I never would have guessed you were gay. If Mark had known that, he never would have got you those (Clinton) cigars. I bet they tasted like shit, no?

  15. jarheaddoc said,

    Are the voices getting to you again?

  16. LaFlamme said,

    They are. They really are.

  17. AO said,

    Treehugger’s gay? Does his new wife have any idea?

  18. Anonymous said,

    Not that theres anything wrong with that …

  19. Linda said,

    Yes that was me

    http://ww2.howmanyofme.com/

    This is kind of fun in a sickeningly SFW way. There are 18 of me. What about you all?

  20. K2 said,

    Thank god: According to that link, there are 0 Kris Kuceras in the U.S.

    Actually, Google says there’s at least two others, and one’s a girl. *curtsy*

  21. K2 said,

  22. LaFlamme said,

    Cheap. Underhanded. Downright Orwellian. I don’t care. Wal-Mart is still there for me when I need peanut butter and a drill bit at 4 a.m.

  23. K2 said,

    Creamy or chunky, 3/8″ or 1/2″?

    Today is a day for drive-thru liqour stores. (Bless you, state of Florida.) I had to get wet to buy my beer. That ain’t right. Time to write my congresspervert.

  24. AO said,

    Hey, I entered my husbands name into their database. There are ZERO people in the U.S. with that name. Ha. Guess he’s just a figment of my imagination.

  25. Mainetarr said,

    There are 5 Gail Tarr’s and 8 Chris Tarr’s. But there is no listing for a Gail Scipione (my maiden name) Ha!

  26. K2 said,

    Scipione . . . that’s Jewish, right?

  27. jarheaddoc said,

    No, it’s Frog-Wop for kick you in the ass, fucktard. That’s what she always told me, anyways

  28. Mainetarr said,

    that’s right and don’t you forget it.

  29. Mainetarr said,

    It’s actually Italian, but as Jackassdoc pointed out, my mom was French.

  30. Mainetarr said,

    It’s actually Italian, but as Jackassdoc pointed out, my mom was French.

    OK, I’m off to make some money at Off Track Betting. Wish me luck.

  31. Mainetarr said,

    Ooooopps, sorry about that

  32. jarheaddoc said,

    You gonna bet twice, just like you double post? I’ll only take half the money, if that’s the case

  33. LaFlamme said,

    I’m told there are 38 Mark LaFlammes in the country. And they all suck.

  34. AO said,

    Suck what?

  35. AO said,

  36. Bobbie said,

    are you really sure that you want to know that, ao?

  37. AO said,

    Umm…about Harrison Ford or about what Mark sucks? Hey, I’m an open minded person. What he sucks is his own business but, if he wants to talk about it …I’m all ears.

  38. jarheaddoc said,

    Maybe it would be a two way conversation and you could tell us what AO stands for.

  39. Linda said,

    Indiana Jones is coming back? Yay!

  40. Bobbie said,

    That Mark sucks.

  41. Linda said,

    Yeah Mark sucks, he won’t tell us the details of his Halloween costume. What’s everyone else wearing? Not sure whether you can get this whole link up —

    http://www.nytimes.com/2006/10/19/fashion/19costume.html?_r=3&8dpc=&adxnnl=1&oref=slogin&adxnnlx=1161276598-sruIf09d6OG3hC0pVrfsrA&oref=slogin&oref=slogin

  42. AO said,

    JD, are you buying? If you are, THEN you may be able to get me drunk enough to tell you what AO means. Until then, my lips are sealed!

  43. AO said,

    The best scary movie ever is on right now. Sixth Sense.

  44. Linda said,

    Damn I love that movie. But my husband is up late tonight and he has the remote control.

  45. LaFlamme said,

    Hey! Why do I suck all of a sudden? What the hell did I… Oh, yeah. That. Okay, I suck.

  46. Mainetarr said,

    ok, I am $174 richer. Good night at the track. Getting all geared up for a big feast tomorrow.

  47. brenda said,

    there’s 75 of me & my son’s dad doesn’t exist in the US.
    Well, I know it’s wrong because there’s a (very well known in CA) whole family with a certain last name that the stat’s says there’s 0 of in the US. Unless San Manuel Indian Bingo & reservation is not US? oh, yeah…. they kept mentioning “sovereign nation” when we were voting about their slot machines…..

    anyway, it was fun. I didn’t realise I gave my kids names that they share with about 300 other people in the US.

  48. Bobbie said,

    There are 268 of “me” in the US. Some of them actually live within a 3 hour drive of me. The really freaky thing is that at one point in time, we had the same insurance company.

    With my maiden name, there are only 12 of “me” in the US.

    With my daughter’s married name, there are 3 people. There are 18 people with her maiden name.

    With my son’s name, there are 842 people.

  49. jarheaddoc said,

    One of me is enough. Please feel free to agree

  50. K2 said,

    Actually, one is far too many.

  51. jarheaddoc said,

    I am not going to get into a lover’s spat about this, Kris, as we both agree that one of each of us is far too many, so fuck you twice, and the goddam support check for the dog bounced, you bitch.

  52. K2 said,

    I’m not the one feeding Cupcake Fancy Feast, you bastard.

    Both the dog and you are late on your shots, to boot.

  53. AO said,

    Come on boy’s, kiss and make up.

  54. K2 said,

    I’ll make up with Cupcake, but not jd. No way.

  55. Linda said,

    Wasn’t it about 28 days ago that we had to witness the LAST lovers spat between you two? what’s up with that? Clearly there’s still a lot of feelings unresolved. Counseling, maybe?

  56. jarheaddoc said,

    Smoldering….whatever you want to call it, isn’t regulated by a biological clock, Linda. And he can have the dog back.

  57. jarheaddoc said,

    Matter of fact, K-zero,why don’t you stand outside and I’ll punt that puppy back to you? Little bastard ate all my Hostess Ho-Ho’s and shit everywhere.

  58. Linda said,

    This thing’s dragged on so long, that “puppy” must be the size of a Harley by now.

Leave a Reply

