Splinter part II

October 21, 2006 at 1:43 am (Uncategorized)

This is me in a few years. I’m telling you people, mannequins are hot.

bad-mannequin.jpegFERNDALE, Mich. (AP) — A Detroit man with a history of smashing store windows to grab female mannequins has been accused of indulging his fetish again. Ronald A. Dotson, 39, was arrested and jailed Oct. 9 after breaking a window at a cleaning-supply company to get at a mannequin in a black and white French maid’s uniform, police said.
A judge Thursday ordered him to undergo a psychiatric examination to determine whether he is competent to stand trial on charges of attempted breaking and entering. “Mr. Dotson went to prison and they haven’t helped him,” said
his lawyer, Edward Cohn. “He got out of prison and he was right back out there. It’s pretty bizarre.”
Dotson had been out of prison for less than a week when he was caught. His erotic pursuit of mannequins over the past 13 years has led to at least six convictions for breaking and entering and a stint in prison, police said. “He told his parole officer he was going to buy a mannequin so he didn’t have to do these break-ins anymore,” said Detective Brendan Moore said. “Apparently that didn’t work out.”

19 Comments

  1. K2 said,

    Bald is beautiful.

  2. K2 said,

    And do male mannequins have full packages? Wood is good.

  3. jarheaddoc said,

    That’s the paradox of male mannequins, K2: they’re equipped with a codpiece suggestive of quite a bit of manhood. Mark could probably explain that one, as I just look but don’t really question it: I’m confused enough as it is

  4. K2 said,

    Wasn’t the whole premise of ‘Mannequin’ rather twisted. I mean, Andrew MCCarthy was basically banging a wooden doll that came to life. Like Geppetto hadn’t already thought of that one. There’s a reason Pinocchio’s nose grows when he lies. Geppetto would sit on Pinocchio’s face and have him tell lie, after lie, after lie . . .

  5. Linda said,

  6. Mainetarr said,

    maybe we can all pitch in and get Mark a mannequin and a couple of costumes for it for Christmas from the Lost Sole?!? I’d hate to see him have to write a crime story on himself after breaking a couple of windows on Lisbon Street.

  7. jarheaddoc said,

    Let’s see, I did some thinking and drawing and came up with two facts: I have a wood shop, and I can draw stick people pretty good, so…..

    I got nuthin’! Shit.

  8. Linda said,

    Mark’s probably better off going with the fantasy.

  9. jarheaddoc said,

    The project never got past the idea phase anyways

  10. Linda said,

    A lot of projects are better that way.

  11. jarheaddoc said,

    Speaking of which, there was the-uh, shit, still in therapy over that one.

  12. Linda said,

    You can tell us anything, I’m sure it would be good for your therapy. We’d love to help in any way we can.

  13. AO said,

    I think this guy needs his own supply of mannequins with lots of different outfits to dress them in. Then, he can live out whatever sick fantasy he wants.

  14. K2 said,

    Mandy the Obit Writer, a big favor here, please: Can you tell me anything and everything about Roland Gulliver’s passing a month or so ago? He was probably the oldest black man in L/A, and he played bass in the old-school jazz band with Paul and Rick at Graziano’s on Fridays. (Roland actually used to play clarinet till his teeth fell out in his 70s.) I hadn’t talked to him in a while (or been to Graziano’s), and I just found out tonight that he passed away recently. He was like 92, and what a sweet man he was. One of my favorite numbers was him singing “Best Man,” by Nat King Cole, I think. He was one of the last members of The World of Mirth, a traveling ‘negro circus’ that used to come to L/A in the ’50s and ’60s to show us Whiteys some rhythm and blues and shit.

    Rest in peace, Roland.

  15. AO said,

    Ah, K2, so sorry to hear of Roland’s passing. And, so sorry I never got to witness his magic. But, Nat King Cole hmmm…Have you ever heard “Pretend”? One of my favorites.

    I’m so upset that such a legend came to Maine and I never got to see him. It’s all about the music. Thanks for the update, K2.

  16. K2 said,

    Thanks, AO. I love Nat King Cole, but I can’t place that tune.

    Anyway, Roland was 82, not 92. Oops.

    I wrote an article about his jazz band, The Heart & Soul, in the Lisbon Ledger four years ago. I wrote it to give the old fellas the attention I felt they deserved, and they really appreciated the piece, even if it did run in the hopelessly awful LL.

    Roland lived a few houses down from the Denny’s in Auburn. (The big blue house right on the main drag there.) I helped him evict a tenant awhile back, who was an insane pack rat from the depths of hell. I essentially impersonated a lawyer to get the woman to finally move out — I threatened in a letter to sell all her junk, which no one would’ve bought, but she thought it was all priceless. Yeah, right.

    Of course, once I had my kids and all that, I didn’t see Roland as much anymore, and now I’ve missed my last chance. Just a real downer this weekend, I tell you. I hoped he passed peacefully in his sleep.

  17. Mainetarr said,

    That’s too bad about Roland. We used to go to the “black room” at Graziano’s just to hear those guys play. They were nice to listen to. I told my husband about his passing and he was very saddened too. He loves those guys. I hope he had a peaceful passing too, K2, and thanks for the info on him. He was a sweet man.

  18. K2 said,

    Yeah, I used to like to sit by the shot of Ali on the right side of the room, near the stage. Thanks, MT.

    I guess Paul and Rick are still playing. Maybe this Friday I’ll pop in and see. Paul’s been ill for years, but he’s a tough old bastard.

  19. Mainetarr said,

    Us too!!! That’s is where we would try to sit! I wonder how many times we sat next to each other and never even knew it! Small world.

Leave a Reply

