Where do you want to go today?

November 10, 2006 at 2:00 am (Uncategorized)

iamhere.jpg

So, imagine you have a magic carpet to whisk your around the planet with unimaginable speed. You could be soaring among the pyramids of Giza one moment, buzzing Las Vegas hookers the next. Very cool. And while you’ll probably lie and tell me you’d like to see the Eiffel Tower or Stonehenge, I imagine you’ll snap out of it soon enough. Because the cool thing about such technology is that you can revisit those secret places from your personal past.

I have such a wonderous carpet. And the first thing I did — after I got over mundane ideas about the Grand Canyon and Yellowstone — was to buzz over the wooded area where I lost my virginity. Yep. I got a bird’s eye view of that magical spot and then zoomed in to more closley inspect that sacred place behind the Waterville Armory. I can’t believe nobody has put up a shrine there.

I also checked out Area 51. A few seconds later, I soared over the house in which I now reside. I spied on a few of you after that and my gawd, people! You should be ashamed of what you do in the semi-privacy of your own homes!

Okay. I swear I’m not raving. I’ve been using a program called Google Earth and I haven’t done it any justice by ranting. It’s a great program involving aerial photographs and satellite images of the entire planet. Go anywhere, see anything from any angle or altitude that you choose. You don’t have to download it. Just think for awhile about what places you’d like to visit if had some capabilities. And if you really want to see the LaFlamme Cherry Pop site, email me for directions. On second thought, I’ll post it below. Don’t forget to bow. It’s a very special place.

ithappenedhere2.jpg

Google Earth

23 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    Google Earth is fabulous, isn’t it? You could fall into that software and never come back (kind of like Nadine with MySpace — jeez, shake yourself loose, girl!) However many places you cruise, you can always think of one more place you just have to take a look at. It feels like magic to me.

  2. Linda said,

    I have to add: some of you know that I can’t find my way anywhere, it’s just a big blind spot for me with geography. On Google Earth I am always amazed to see where things really are — but then maps do that to me too.

  3. K2 said,

    The missiles are on their way.

  4. LaFlamme said,

    Oh, look! Just as we start to enjoy the technology, the war machine takes over. Typical!

  5. LaFlamme said,

    Check out Area 51. That guy running for the fence? Me.

  6. K2 said,

    Pretty cool, this ‘the Google Earth.’ Never tried it till today. The photo of my house is right after we bought it in ’99. My old GTI and our first Subaru are in the driveway. Pretty freaky shit.

    Oh, 18 seconds to impact, LaFlamme. But it’s a Daisy Cutter, so don’t think running a block or two away will do you any good.

  7. AO said,

    The photo of my house is an old one too. My pool is actually clean. No dead squirrels floating around in it.

  8. K2 said,

  9. LaFlamme said,

    How do we feel about that, anyway? Is G&R a bunch of whiney ass slackers for cancelling? Or is it unreasonable for them to be expected to perform without suds and Jagermeister?

  10. K2 said,

    Both. They suck AND the law is fucking stupid as shit. Musicians can’t drink on stage? I thought this was America, but I guess not.

    Maine has a Puritanical streak that I’d like to put in the shredder.

  11. LaFlamme said,

    That was my instinctive reaction. I’m no Roses fan, but jaysus. Since when do rock stars have to abstain on stage? I’m still pissed at Axl for showing up at the location of my deflowering. (see above)

  12. AO said,

    K2, check your email.

  13. K2 said,

    Don’t boss me, AO. And stop YELLING!

  14. LaFlamme said,

    Damn fish wives.

  15. K2 said,

    Anyone else need a couple weeks in the tropics, where the only concerns are island cocktails and rolling reefers in a hammock by the Carribean? Oh, Sandals, why do you foresake me? . . .

  16. AO said,

    But, I LIKE bossing you, K2.

  17. Mainetarr said,

    Hold on one second, back off on Nadine and myspace. I am another myspace addict and I’ll admit, I love it. I have connected with some old friends on there, my God children are on there and I get messages from them almost daily. I have not been bugged by any creeps, no one is rude to you and it’s a ton of fun. I have not had this much contact with my God children in a long time. Oh, I hear from them via phone and go to their games, but now I get a DAILY message. Makes my day!! There are a lot of adults on there, it’s not what I thought it was at all.

    There is a google earth website that is live feed. I watched my husband pull out of the driveway one day. It’s incredible.

  18. AO said,

    Where do you go to get the live feed, MT?

  19. Martha said,

    A former co-worker introduced me to google earth.. at least I think that’s the one I was on.. I thoroughly inspected the property out in Vassalboro where I grew up.. it was amazing. Now I’m going to have to go check it out in person when I get up there next summer. I also looked at several relatives homes in Mechanic Falls and Albion.I tried to look at my house here, but it wouldn’t zoom in enough.
    I’d REALLY like to know the site for the live feed too. That would be really cool.

  20. LaFlamme said,

    Martha, I’m sure we’ve been through this before. I used to stay at a big old farmhouse on Taber Hill Road in Vassalboro. Are you familiar with that area? I found it with GE the other night.

  21. Martha said,

    Mark… The name is familiar, but I’d have to hunt it up on the map.. I grew up on the Brann Ridge Rd. which is off the Vassalboro, China Rd. The house we lived in isn’t even there anymore. Lots and lots of memories..

  22. Mainetarr said,

    I will look for that live feed for you guys. We stumbled on it one day at work, just fooling around and we looked at all of our houses. It was too funny.

  23. Nadine said,

    MT, thanks so much for the defense…but in my own, I have been out of touch with the WHOLE net (not just MySpace), for months now. I tend to do that, every so often…I just get sick of it and abandon it for a while — so chill please.

    ‘Course, if you indeed had a MySpace page, you’d already know all this as it shows the last date you visitied, which would prove my existence there, but not any need to “shake myself loose from it” — I was absent there as much as I have been here.

    Ok?

Leave a Reply

