Dancing around the law

December 3, 2006 at 12:13 am (Uncategorized)

alcoholic.jpgWe’ve all seen the guy outside the bar who will do a little dance for a shot of booze or some pocket change. A source of amusement for some, these dancing rummies have reached a stage of alcoholism where the liver can no longer produce pride and self-respect. Now and then a good hearted soul will come along and hand the tired sot a sawbuck and get him out of two-stepping for the night.

The following is a tale of two men asked to perform tricks to get out of a financial inconvenience. People make deals every day, but it’s not every day that police are on the demanding side of the bargaining table. Whether this is a gross case of racism or just discretionary policing is up for debate. Something to consider: if the litter bugs in question had been accountants from uptown, would they have been asked to prepare tax forms in exchange for leniency?

Deep thoughts. And on a weekend, yet.

Arizona Cops Tell Two Black Drivers They Can Rap Their Way Out of a Ticket

TEMPE, Ariz — City leaders have apologized after a program on Tempe’s cable channel showed a white police officer telling two black men they could get out of a littering ticket by performing a rap. Tempe Mayor Hugh Hallman and Police Chief Tom Ryff apologized for the show Thursday and suspended its future production after black community leaders voiced outrage and disappointment.

“I accept responsibility for the actions of my staff and apologize to any members of our community who have been offended,” Ryff said during a news conference Friday.

150_3971.jpgThe segment appeared on “Tempe StreetBeat,” a program produced by police in the Phoenix suburb that followed several officers on patrol. It shows Sgt. Chuck Schoville pulling over two men in August in a mall parking lot.

He first asks for a name and ID from the driver and then asks the two men if they know how much the fine is for littering. The officer then tells the men that they can avoid getting a littering ticket “if the two of you just do a little rap about — what do you want to do a rap about? Littering? About the dangers of littering.”

The two men agree, and each performs a short rap, laughing afterward. One says, “The dangers of littering, you will get a ticket. If you ain’t wit’ it, you better be experienced.”

The second man raps, “Yo, I just got pulled over ’cause I threw my trash out the window when they rolled over. They got behind me and pulled me over.”

Schoville then says, “You know why you say I’m right? Because I got a gun and badge. I’m always right. That’s the way it works, right?” The three laugh and the two men get in their car.

Leaders of chapters of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People and the National Action Network expressed outrage and demanded that the city act.

The Rev. Jarrett Maupin of the National Action Network, who was at Friday’s news conference, said he had accepted Hallman’s and Ryff’s apologies and intends to make sure the police department makes good on a proposal for an African American advisory board and increased diversity training.

“It’s important for police officers to realize that black people do not speak hip hop,” Maupin said. “We’re not all rappers and thugs and gangbangers. We speak the English language and we’re entitled to the same amount of respect.”

Click here to see the arrest and the rap.

32 Comments

  1. Dave said,

    Mr. Bojangles revisited?

  2. Malloy said,

    Notice that no where were the two police officers fired. They should have been, but there has always been different laws for the police. South Portland cops want a paid vacation before Christmas, easy, kill a guy. We all know that the state will rule it “justified.” Voila, paid vacation while parents are forced to bury their son.

  3. hedonisticpleasureseeker said,

    That’s really disturbing.

  4. Treehugger said,

    Disturbing? Fired?
    You guys are nuts? Did the two guys look like they were under distress?
    They were even laughing with the cops.
    And why is this coming out now, it occured in August.
    Diversity training for the cops? Phew..better they should have more firearms training so they don’t have to expend so many rounds.
    Maupin may be right on one thing, that ALL young blacks don’t speak HIP HOP, the others speak Eubonics.

  5. Sally Jesse Raphael said,

    Bring all parties involved in this to my show and we will sort it out rationally.

  6. Linda (maybe) said,

    I have nothing to say today, and I am saying it.

  7. Nadine said,

    Damn! I’d do a rap to avoid a ticket anyday!! Boom-ba-cha-boom, wickey wickey wickey…

    “my name is nadine, but you can call me The Queen,
    but not when I litter, guess I’m not a trash-can hitter.
    Sorry copper for the infraction, and thanks for not leaving me in traction!
    Next time I’m out I’ll be sure to think twice, before I throw out my junk I’ll heed this advice:
    It’s not cool to make the earth so unclean, now let me go now for I swear I am clean!”

  8. Nadine said,

    Well, I’d either shout that out, or, just make up a haiku:

    to litter is bad
    I’ve learned my lesson now sir
    trash belongs in cans

  9. Linda (maybe) said,

    Nadine! you rock!

    AO had some cool funky photos, I told her to send them to you but she doesn’t have your email address.

  10. Mainetarr said,

    Nadine, you are too funny.

  11. The Friendly Buddhist said,

    Cops having some fun
    Brothers rapping hurt no one
    Yet the Asshats whine

  12. Linda said,

    I wonder if those “rappers” are pleased with the whole thing, or if they realize and resent the fact that they were dissed.

  13. brenda said,

    dear hedonisticpleasure seeker, enjoyed our site. Took the Dante’s Inferno test, and landed in Level 1: Limbo. There was only one question I might have answered differently & I don’t know if that’s enough to change anything.

  14. brenda said,

    Speaking of dancing feet- Happy Feet is an excellent movie for all ages! I absolutely loved it ! I want to watch it everyday! Definitely deserves to be $1 in the box office.
    I read that Nativity has mixed reviews, but it is very nice, perfect for kids & families that are into Bible stuff, and the Christian Jesus birthday story. M y son is fanatical about Jesus ever since he was 4 & saw a crucifix in an antique store in a mall, so he really enjoyed this movie also.

    But I think Happy Feet is the best family movie in the world, absolute genius!

  15. brenda said,

    I meant #1 not $1
    oops

  16. LaFlamme said,

    Wow, Nadine. You should feel free to go out and commit some sort of offense. I think you earned a freebie with that rap. It’s kickin.

  17. Mainetarr said,

    I am still waiting for LaFlamme to get off his ass and come to the movies with me to see Touristas…looks like a different version of Hostel.

  18. LaFlamme said,

    Yeah, I’m betting it’s gonna be a prettier, less visceral version, though. I got a bad feeling. But of course, I wanna see it. Say when.

  19. Nadine said,

    Thanks for all the rap props y’all! So, since this place is just…well, DEAD! I’m gonna throw out this contest (this particular blog relevant) — I’ll give 5 bucks (or a 5 dollar x-mas gift — OR for K2, 5 bucks worth of whatever you choose!! I miss ya buddy!!!). Anyway, to anyone who can name the artist of the song in my next post, or better yet, 10 bucks if you can name both artist and title, I’ll personally drop off the money to Mark!

    Give me a minute….

  20. Linda said,

    I thought I was the last person left alive in the Lost Sole!

  21. Nadine said,

    Ok, so here’s the lyrics — wish I wrote ’em, but didn’t…ya got 24hrs to answer (or guess) for your 5 or 10 bucks…

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    …In my rear view mirror is the mother fuckin’ law
    I got 2 choices y’all
    pull over the car
    or bounce on the devil and put the pedal to the floor.
    Now I ain’t tryin’ to see no holy chase brigade,
    plus i got a few dollars, I can fight the case.

    So I pull over to the side of the road
    I hear, “son, do you know why I’m stoppin’ you for?”
    Cuz I’m young and black and my hat’s real low.
    Do I look like a mind reader sir, I don’t know.
    Am I under arrest? Or should I get someone?
    “Well, you was doin’ 55 in a 54
    license and registration, step outta tha car.
    You carryin’ a weapon? I know a lot of you all are.”

    I ain’t steppin’ outta shit, all my paper’s legit
    “Do you mind if I look around the car a little bit?”
    My glove compartments locked, so is the trunk in the back,
    and I know my rights, so you gonna need a warrant for that.

    “Aren’t you sharp as a tack? You should try the law or somethin’,
    somethin’ important or somethin’ tight.”
    I ain’t pass the bar, but I know a little bit,
    enough for if you wanna legally search my shit!
    “We’ll see how smart you are when the K-9 comes”…..
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    So, guess they would never get outta da ticket yo, right? Anyway, anyone?? Just bored and tryin’ ta have fun! Don’t bother to google it cuz I left out da chorus! Rick Rubin rocks though (hint).

  22. Nadine said,

    Hey Linda! Anyone at anytime….I’d love to see your pics AO!!

    Turtlegem35@aol.com

  23. Linda said,

    I think i heard that song once on some wacky show, maybe Pants Off Dance Off. Don’t know the title. Jay-Z, right?

  24. Nadine said,

    WOOT!!! Go Linda!!! You are in first place! Jay-Z is spot-on! I’m impressed! And so fast!

    Title anyone?

  25. Nadine said,

    Who my kiddin’? You win girl…send me an email or give the ok to give $ or gift to Mark — seriously. Let me know what ya want…

  26. Nadine said,

    Ok, gotta go, fave vid is on. Just let me know Linda!!! YOU rock!! 🙂

  27. Nadine said,

    Damn!!! Where is everyone???

  28. Gil said,

    Next challenge
    The lyrics in their entirety:

    Kill all the white people
    Then we will all be free

    That’s it
    Band?

    • Caroline said,

      Yes all my tests were done with the “Super Hybrid Engine” indalltes. I have read about other models achieving the claimed battery life, however I’m yet to see anybody get it with this model.

  29. Gil said,

    10 bonus points for the album

  30. Linda said,

    Kind of “negative” sounding lyrics, aren’t they, Gil?

    I googled, so I’m redacting myself from answering.

  31. Robert said,

    Kill….From Type O Negative The album was Bloody Kisses, 1993…yes I have a nephew who luvs this music…

    Listen to the lyrics, you can make up any on several interpretations of what they are saying, most feel its saying blacks always kill whites in the movies as a way to get even for past transgressions…

Leave a Reply

