Waking the beast

December 7, 2006 at 4:40 am (Uncategorized)

93_3.jpgThe loosened shaker top, sending a cascade of salt down onto the victim’s French fries. Few things rival the hilarity of the shock and anguish of a person who has just had his fast food dinner ruined through one of the oldest gags in recorded history.

The shaving cream in the sleeping man’s hand. Oh, the joy of watching someone smear himself after you give his nose a little tickle. The dollops hanging from his face only add to the hysteria when the dumbass rouses from sleep and realizes he’s been had.

The elusive delight of a sleeping friend peeing his pants after you dunk the hand in warm water. Allegedly, this is one gut busting prank. Unfortunately, my few attempts at this failed miserably, although I did get somewhat pop a blood vessel just thinking about the possible results.

The thumbtack in the chair, the bucket of water over the door, the black ink on binocular eye pieces. There are countless ways to rile, embarass or amuse an unwitting friend. But dude, if someone is eight feel tall, covered in hair and wipes his butt with small forest critters, don’t do it.

Less subliminal and artsy than the Geico cavemen, the “Messing with Sasquatch” ad campaign deserves an honorable mention just for sheer sophomoric delight. As entertainment, it’s great. As a marketing tool, well… who among you can name the company old Bigfoot represents?

I thought so. Here are some videos.

24 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    Ha!!! don’t watch the last one with breakfast in your mouth, mates!

  2. Mainetarr said,

    Hahahahaha, those are funny. When our physician’s assistant first started in our office, he used to drink tons of Mountain Dew. We rubbed a green dry erase marker around the rim of the bottle so when he took a drink, he had a green circle around his mouth. I almost peed in my pants laughing.

    I still like the Caveman commercials best. “Sounds like someone woke up on the wrong side of the rock this morning.”

  3. Nadine said,

    Nice steal MT — I mentioned that particluar commercial in the “caveman” blog, but I’m sure you were at a Maineiacs game at the time…har har! ūüôā

    Let us not forget covering the toilet seat with saran wrap (and this one is for the guys), so when a chick sits down and starts pee’in,…well, it’s a mess. Hasn’t happened to me yet, but have witnessed the aftermath of a victim (“party’s OVER!!!!”). Yikes, lol!

  4. LaFlamme said,

    Ah, the saran wrap. Hysterical! And short sheeting a bed. I did that to my brother on his wedding night. I’m a real bastard.

  5. LaFlamme said,

    You guys always bolt when I enter the room. I smell, don’t I.

  6. AO said,

    Oh, it’s you?

  7. AO said,

    Okay. A poll. How many of you are done your Christmas shopping? Or, at least started it? And, MT, I know you’re done. When did you finish it? July? ūüôā

  8. Mainetarr said,

    I finished in April, Annie Oakley, you smartass. But seriously, I just finished the little things and still have one more gift to get. I know what it is, just have to go get it. You done?

  9. LaFlamme said,

    I’ve got one item from eBay. But I have ideas. Ideas, people. That’s a big start.

  10. LaFlamme said,

    I once began my holiday shopping on Christmas Eve in classic, last minute desperation. While I was in the store, I got a nosebleed that wouldn’t stop. But since this was my last chance, I had to press on. I nearly fainted a few times before I was done.

  11. AO said,

    Let me put it this way: Flammer’s one gift ahead of me.

  12. AO said,

    Ideas..hmmm? What are you getting me? I’ll submit my list a.s.a.p.

  13. Mainetarr said,

    This was the first time in years I avoided Black Friday. That’s usually a big highlight for me, but I couldn’t bring myself to fight the crowds this year. Just couldn’t get into it at all. From what I heard, I didn’t miss much.

  14. AO said,

    I’ve NEVER done a Black Friday. But, then again, I’m not a shopper. Just the thought makes me shiver with fright. NOW, there’s a story line for you, Mark. You could write a horror story about shopping on Black Friday. Also, that item you bought from EBay? Was it the haunted clump of dirt?

  15. Mainetarr said,

    It was a badonkadonk.

  16. Martha said,

    I need to get one more thing for one grandson and a few things for the my kids..
    I am going to make all 3 grandsons very happy this year.. they are all getting new bikes. I went and got them today. I can’t wait for them to see them.
    I have an advantage over most of you. My family will be in Maine for Christmas, so I have till sometime in January to finish my shopping. Can we say.. after christmas sales?

  17. Nadine said,

    Well, I HAVE to shop the week of Christmas cuz I cannot handle waiting to give a gift. I once bought my mom, who was a super Coca-Cola collector (we still have it all…probably worth a mint!), a Coke calendar in February FOR THE FOLLOWING YEAR and gave it to her right away even though I new it would be great in time for X-mas. Seriously, her birthday was Feb 9th and I couldn’t even wait until then!!!

    Alas, I MUST last minute shop!

  18. Martha said,

    Oh.. I still have to get a few baking items and stocking stuffers … This is the first year in a very long time, I’ve felt anywhere near ready at this stage of the game, it is a very good feeling

  19. LaFlamme said,

    You’re all getting nude photos of Treehugger. And you’ll like it.

  20. Linda said,

    Hey! what’s happening? I just got home —

    I started my Christmas shopping. No use to finish early because my Christmas spirit kicks in a bit late. One year I was done my shopping by the beginning of December, and in the middle of the month I suddenly got the frenzy and did it all again. I was disgusted with how many presents were under the tree, real buyers remorse, not to mention paying for it all.

    And besides, if you wait, you get great ideas from other people. I mean, I NEVER would have thought of giving nude photos of Treehugger, and now I’m reworking my list.

  21. Treehugger said,

    Heyyyyyy!
    I’m feeling exploited.
    Is KY going to get one?

  22. Linda said,

    You probably love it.

  23. Mainetarr said,

    Awww, come on. I got a nude photo of Treehugger last year. I feel disenfranchised.

  24. Jardini said,

    I love the cavemen commerical, it doesn’t matter how many times I watch it, it always make me laugh

Leave a Reply

