The Day After

December 12, 2006 at 12:15 am (Uncategorized)

Most of you know I’ve been working on migrating the blog to my own hosted site. Some of you know how much I hate moving.

During the blog move over the past few days, I’ve been figuratively throwing boxes off the truck and kicking them until they land where they’re supposed to. To carry the moving metaphor a little further, the new blog still has blankets over the windows and you can’t find anything you need because it’s still back at the other place. Goddamit.

The last time I blog moved, it was because we got blown up back at the Sun Journal site. Those were fun times. Dan was constantly drawing our wrath and then running to the webmaster ever time things go hot. Herb was still alive in those days, though he was on his third reincarnation. Bulldog was around a lot more but of course, that was three rehabs and a prison sentence ago.

While I’m trying to get the new joint in order, I’m reminded of the early days of The Screaming Room. It began with a mushroom cloud and the dust of previous battles still hung in the air. You could smell the anger and most of us still had open wounds, bruises or crabs. Good times, man.

Just for the hell of it, here is a post from March 25, the day after the fallout. Those were different times. My, how you all have grown.

Day three. Earlier, I left the relative safety of the shelter to wander out into this new world of night. Out there, where oily black clouds block out the sun and the stench of ruin is thick, I wandered to the remains of The Lost ApocalypseSole. There are no remains. All is lost. Not a single wall stands. No bones poke from the rubble to indicate a form of humanity once existed there. The hellish pit that was Street Talk has been blasted to oblivion.

Still, in the smoldering landscape of the world that remains, wanderers pass through this unhappy valley like a legion of walking dead. They bear the dazed expressions of those who believe they are dreaming. There are jagged wounds and missing parts. There are hands that tremble with rage and hands that tremble with fear. There is shock and sadness. Mostly, there is a will to battle forth.

So, I’ve always wanted to write an apocalyptic tale. Scattered survivors shuffling through a damned world, without sunlight or hope. Frightening, dismal crap like that. The Stand, maybe. Or Escape from New York. But I’ll refrain so we can get back to talking about animal sex, outhouse mishaps and stupid criminals.

bombshelterPub.jpgBut first, a head count. So far today, a number of survivors have stumbled in to the shelter. Fred, Bobbie, AO, Mainetarr, Gil, K2, Flamette… There’s enough food here to last us a few weeks and a good supply of booze. We’re building up our cache of weapons too, because you just never know when the next scavenger will come by. You never know when vermin from the old world will come by.

snake-plissken.jpgWe’re keeping our eyes out for the rest of you. All are welcome here. My name is Pliskin. But you can call me Snake.


29 Comments

  1. Nadine said,

    No wonder I was starting to feel like the last person left on Earth!

    So, here I am, the first to peek out and see if the survivors are friendly or hostile. Don’t worry, no open sores or glowing eyes here. (Remember the girl named “Nadine” in The Stand who ended up turning to the dark side, screwing the devil, and then jumping to her death?? Well, that’s not me…but I could be if y’all don’t lead me in the right direction when the time comes. Heh!).

    Hope things are going well Mark, and if I can help in any way, well, I’m here…just don’t bring me to the dark side…I’ve heard the devil has a small penis.

    • Bobbi said,

      Ma è proprio vero? C'è gente che concentra certe attività nel periodo estivo e trascura le altre stagioni? Lo trovo ingiusto e illogico. Per poter sollevare magliette da ottobre a maggio senza problemi, basta prima assicurarsi di aver raggiunto ung;a9#3de&uata temperatura, esterna o interna che sia. I modi sono vari e in genere molto piacevoli. 😉

  2. AO said,

    We’re moving, again? Where are we going? And, more importantly, is there going to be a bar there?

    • Beyonce said,

      I can’t hear annhyitg over the sound of how awesome this article is.

    • immobilienkredit rechner said,

      より:This is the right blog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

  3. Linda said,

    OK Mark, looks like you were reporting imaginary stuff when you said “most of you know” at the start of this piece. Can you tell us what’s happening or is it a secret? You aren’t just moving the blog, are you? will it be something different? We’re just a little bit invested, can you tell?

  4. Bobbie said,

    Ah, the good old days. I had no idea what was/is going on here until someone vaguely mentioned that you were working on a new site. Since this new site is going to be hosted by yourself, hopefully Flamette either sprang for the really good components or let you do it (I know that it doesn’t take very long for her to cave to your demands once you bring out the sad face). Keep me posted on where we’re moving to next because otherwise, I’m a day late and a dollar short.

    I’m with Mark about moving-I really don’t like to do it at all. The most aggravating move that I ever made was when we moved across the street from the old house to the new house. I usually end up doing the packing/unpacking thing, which usually isn’t too bad. Then on moving day, hubby usually flucks things up and gets it all backwards-and leaves me to sort out the mess. Then he wonders why I’m frustrated and want to whack him upside the head with the vacuum attachments. Wait a minute, I want to do that to him every day….LOL.

    I remember Nadine from The Stand. The movie was good, but the uncut version of the book was better, IMHO. Does anyone remember whether they had the part in the movie where Harold is running all over the yard in swimming trunks while he mows the lawn? This would be right after people started dying from Captain Tripps(?). For some strange reason, I have this picture of a younger version of Dan in my head during that scene. I shudder when I think about that and will now get back to my vacuuming so that I can clean that image out of my head before I go crazy.

  5. Bobbie said,

    There better be a bar there, Mark, or half of us won’t survive the move. Sorta like Neopets when yo don’t feed them for a week or so. If you thought that this bunch was bad now, see us when there is no bar in the place.

  6. "The Weasel" said,

    WTF!

  7. LaFlamme said,

    Nadine to Randall Flagg: “Your seed is cold!”

  8. LaFlamme said,

    Yeah, I finally installed the deluxe version of WordPress on my website. Php, SQL… friggin heavy duty geek shit. I’ve been trying to import everything from here to there and it’s turned out to be a bitch. Small steps. And man, I’ve invented a slew of new swear words.

  9. Linda said,

    Well — swear words — there’s your first post for the new site then!

  10. LaFlamme said,

    Perhaps.
    You know? I thought we’ve been in here longer. It was only March that we were booted from the SJ site?

  11. AO said,

    Seems like eons ago. Must have something to do with being underground. 🙂 New swear words? Bring them on!

  12. Linda said,

    That’s how long I’ve been here — since March. Seems much longer, and i mean that in a good way.

  13. Nadine said,

    I hear ya Mark, *ahem*, slow steps in creating/moving web shit can be a LONG process with little results to show for it! Keep on truckin’ — I know I will!! 🙂

  14. Martha said,

    If I can remember,, when I get home, I’ll post pics of the family I had taken on Sat.

    Mark, don’t you dare move without leaving a forwarding address so we can track you down.

  15. Linda said,

    Now here’s a total change of topic, if you don’t mind. I just read an astounding article that I want to share with you.

    Men, if you value your masculinity, don’t miss this warning. You are at risk of “a decrease in the size of the penis, sexual confusion and homosexuality” — and we’d all hate for that to happen!. Want to know more? Read this!

    http://www.wnd.com/news/article.asp?ARTICLE_ID=53327

  16. Nadine said,

    Well Linda,

    As Weasel would say: “WTF?? That guy is “cuckoo cuckoo!!””

  17. Treehugger said,

    So, if I eat Soy, I can go fuck myself?
    Flammer, what kind of weapons do you want.
    I think between Ritchie and I , we can comeup with something.

  18. Mainetarr said,

    Treehugger, what are you doing home?

  19. LaFlamme said,

    Treehugger! I heard you have a bunker in your basement. Any truth to this? Any chicks chained up down there?

  20. LaFlamme said,

    Hello–o-o-o… Echo-o-o-o…
    Today-ay-ay-ay… I consider myself-elf-elf-elf… the luckiest man-an-an-an… on earth-erth-erth-erth…

  21. AO said,

    Hello-o-o Lou!!

  22. Linda said,

    Elf again Mark? you consider yourself an elf — again?

  23. Nadine said,

    Here I am again, feeling like the last person on Earth.

    Wait!…I think I hear an Ech-o-o-o…!!

    Randall, is that you??

    PS: who’s Lou?

  24. AO said,

    Lou Gehrig. He was a baseball player who died in 1941.

  25. Nadine said,

    Oh, ok, thanks, I know who he is…but I still don’t get it, LOL

    AO = Apple Orchard????!!!! Just popped in my mind, am I right?? What do I win? 🙂

  26. AO said,

    Nope, sorry Nadine. Not Apple Orchard. 🙂

    When Lou Gerhig retired from baseball, he made a memorable speech that echoed through out the stadium.

Leave a Reply

